We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Floridian atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandpiper Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandpiper Inn
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Floridian atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Great place to stay, lovely Floridian atmosphere and very helpful owners. Very clean. Provision of good beach chairs and umbrella was a bonus. Not the newest of apartments but nicer atmosphere and homely feel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    20
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
29
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Pros:
The layout in Unit 2 (ground floor, in the back) provided the equivalent of two bedrooms (one with a somewhat lumpy sofa bed rendered OK with a blanket spread over the lumps), each with a bath and its own outside door. The lighting was bright enough for reading. The inn was on a quiet street with a bike path, about 2 blocks from a nice beach with great sunset views. Four one-speed cruiser bikes in good condition with baskets, coaster brakes, helmets, and a lock, were available free. The price was reasonable for Sanibel.

Cons:
The room heater was too noisy to be left on overnight (it was cold in January) so we obtained extra blankets, which solved the problem. There was no salt, pepper, can opener, or coffee filters. On the information page we were given, the inn phone number to call in case of emergency was incorrect, and the outdoor phone we were shown to use in such a case did not work. The picture on the TV for the channel we wanted was too dim and somewhat compressed from top to bottom. The office was only open 10 AM - 5 PM, when we were out and about, so it was not possible to drop by with questions.

Room Tip: Unit 2 was quiet (ground floor, in back), as long as people upstairs were quiet (which they were)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CindiYoung, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed most of your stay at The Sandpiper Inn.
We do supply a full kitchen with all utensils, so if you prefer to eat at home it is quite convenient. I did go over to your unit to bring a new can opener, but there already was one, so maybe we need to place it in easier view. We did check the television, as they were both working fine, there may have been some cable issue on the island, and I apologize for that. The sofa bed and the ac/heater unit were bought early last year, so I am disappointed to see you had a problem with both of them.
We are a moderately priced, clean, beachy motel with complimentary bikes, wireless internet, flat screen TVs with a complimentary DVD library available. As I stated with do supply all the utensils in your kitchen. Also umbrellas, beach chairs, and beach towels. We do not supply food items, so I am sorry for that confusion.
I know you did reach our Manager the first night of your stay regarding salt and pepper, and coffee filters. We brought some by the next day, although normally we do not supply them.
I also know you reached me when you locked yourself out, so I am confused about the wrong telephone number, and I am sorry if that was written down somewhere. But I am happy you were able to reach us, and we could respond quickly.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review, and we hope to see you in the future.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

My first time to Sanibel and the Sandpiper Inn could not have been more perfect!! Islandy décor with the feel, as someone mentioned "1950's charm", that is it! Clean, private and quiet!! Everything we needed for our stay was made available! New release movie was even offered at no cost. Bicycles, beach gear, coffee maker, dishes, shell washing area, hammock, etc. Make yourself right at home in this perfect little Inn. What you see in its internet pictures is exactly what you get! Did I mention at a very reasonable price?! I will return to the Sandpiper Inn!!! Did I say PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Sandpiper Inn was a great choice. We stayed on the upper floor, having a little veranda with chairs. The interior was very modern and beachy. All in all exceptionally clean and bright. Big kitchen and fridge, tv and every room is equipped with full beach utensils (chairs, umbrella, towels).
We rode with bicycles to the beach, which took us 3 minutes. There is also a little backyard with hammock and chairs under the palm trees.

We would definitely stay there again but choosing a room facing the backyard because the street can get noisy during the night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankyFrankson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I was searching the internet and calling around for prices and locations and Sandpiper Inn turned out to be a very sweet, very small, kind of a 1950's charming island inn. It was very quiet and private, and had everything we needed for a reasonably priced trip to the island. Complete kitchen, with full-size refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, dishes, silverware, so we were able to go to the grocery and eat most of our meals and snacks in our room, if you like that sort of thing! Free cable and wifi, and we also used the beach chairs, beach towels, and umbrella. Sandpiper is walking distance to the beach, although most of the time we drove to other beaches. We did not use the washer, dryer, or bicycles, but they are all included, too. There is no maid service, nor room service but this is not the Waldorf-Astoria! It's a beach/island vacation~

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SparkySparks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

Great little efficiency apartments, very clean. Lovely front porch area (had cocktails with the neighbors) and backyard area with hammock. Loved the outdoor sink for rinsing shells and suits. PERFECT location for a short bike ride to the beach or town, bikes provided by the Inn! I will definitely go back again, great place for a family reunion or group looking for their own rooms. High season traffic can be rough, bikes are the only way to get around Periwinkle. We drove the Inn-provided chairs and umbrella down to the private south beach (no restroom or lifeguard) and then returned on bike, it's that close!

Room Tip: Upstairs you have the sitting porch, downstairs you would go to the yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SiobhanSt_Petersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

I can only echo other positive reviews. Clean and comfortable. The kitchen had all we needed for simple cooking. Free cruiser bikes were a great amenity. Free use of washer/dryer came in handy. Short walk to the south side beach (shelling at low tide).

Room Tip: Unit #4 is upstairs on the end away from the road and the stairs, so very quiet. Also more breezy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xcski37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
Sanibel Island Beach Resort
#16 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#3 of 5 in Sanibel Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
3.6 mi away
West Wind Inn
West Wind Inn
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
3.2 mi away
Waterside Inn on the Beach
Waterside Inn on the Beach
#5 of 19 in Sanibel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Property: Sandpiper Inn
Address: 720 Donax St, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-6708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sanibel Island
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Sanibel Island
Sandpiper Inn Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing