We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Periwinkle Cottages of Sanibel
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in the Bird's Nest Cottage Apr.'14 for 4 nights. We were greeted by Mark, the proprietor, who was pleasant and guided us into our parking site. Bird's nest is the smallest of their accommodations, it was available for the dates that my daughter and I were available. We were happy with the location & the lending bikes which made it easy to travel and enjoy the Ding Darling Wildlife refuge nearby. Beach chairs which could be carried like a back pack and an umbrella were available as well as a parking pass. Towels were fluffy and substantial, nicer than some higher end hotels I've stayed in. I was informed on booking that no facility for in door cooking was available in this unit, but a nice refrig /w small freezer & microwave were provided. The only sink was in a very compact bathroom, it was a challenge to clean any dishware we used for coffee or food. We saw birds right outside our window and had an enclosed yard /w a charcoal grill which we did not use, but might have if we stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 840BJB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for Periwinkle Cottages of Sanibel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

We recently stayed at Periwinkle Cottages and we were extremely pleased with our experience! The cottage was clean, comfortable and had everything that we could possibly need. While the cottage is up-to-date with furnishings, we still had the feeling of staying in "old Florida" rather than in a cookie-cutter condo. The location is perfect--just a short walk to the beach (or you can drive and park with a permit supplied by the cottage owner) and once on the beach just a short walk to Bowman's Beach--one of the best spots for shelling on the Island. The location is great--it is a short drive to Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge and the shops and restaurants on both Sanibel and Captiva. The owners, Mark and Kathy, are wonderful--always anxious to make your stay wonderful. We've already made our reservation for next winter!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I love this place! I've stayed in Egret and now in Ibis and both cottages are clean and nice. The place is small (only 4 cottages) so the guests sometimes get to know each other, which can be fun. Many return year after year. Lots of shell enthusiasts. Only 3 blocks to the gorgeous beach and just a bit down the road to restaurants and other things to do. Owners Mark and Kathy are wonderful.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Shellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at the Ibis Jan 12-19th and had a great time even thought the weather didn't want to cooperate. Our cottage was ready and the key and welcome book were on the table just as the letter we had received told us it would be. The cottage was just perfect. Clean, roomy, well supplied with everything we needed for the week. Mark is a great guy and was around to answer questions and give advice but was never invasive. The cottages are nestled into a residential area in the quiet end of the island. It was also great having the screened in porch for relaxing after a busy day and a place to leave sandy shoes. The folks in the other three cottages were all very nice. The beach is just a 2 minute walk down the road, or if you care to drive you get a parking pass and you can drive right up to the beach path. The beach is beautiful and great for long walks and beautiful sunsets. You also get supplied with really nice beach chairs, an umbrella and a shelling net. There are also bikes to use and the bike path is just across the street. It's an easy ride to Ding Darling and a little farther, but a nice ride to town. We actually biked all over the island and up to Captiva. The bike path makes it safe and easy. These cottages are quiet and you feel very safe staying there. We'll stay there again if we choose Sanibel for our next vacation, it felt like a home away from home. Thanks for everything Mark.

John and Cindy

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxy277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in Ibis cottage, very spacious, clean, provided with all that you need, beach chairs & umbrella, beach towels, parking pass & paradise is down at the end of the road! Mike was on hand to answer any questions & point you in the right direction. Shame we had to back home into winter.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank baddbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My family and I stayed in the Heron Cottage. Besides being large and roomy, it was beautiful and homey. The kitchen was fantastic, and my family really enjoyed the pond view. We saw Green Heron chicks hatch right outside our window! The beach was fabulous and restful, with beautifully turquoise water! Had the perfect vacation and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Noelle_Gorka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

this is by far one of the best places to stay in sanibel.. you are in the perfect spot for everything and your stay will be a very relaxing one.. no need to rent a bike to get around the island on because they have brand new bikes there. a wonderful private beach and close to ding darling... i love this little refuge... you guys are awesome...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank stacra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanibel Island hotels
6.0 mi away
Anchor Inn & Cottages
Anchor Inn & Cottages
#18 of 20 in Sanibel Island
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
#9 of 44 in Sanibel Island
257 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
Ocean's Reach Condominiums
#2 of 44 in Sanibel Island
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Tarpon Tale Inn
Tarpon Tale Inn
#6 of 44 in Sanibel Island
261 reviews
5.5 mi away
Kona Kai Motel
Kona Kai Motel
#7 of 44 in Sanibel Island
391 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#8 of 20 in Sanibel Island
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Cottages of Sanibel

Address: 1431 Jamaica Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2609
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range: £70 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable island comfort with Old Florida charm on the quiet, nature-lover's end of Sanibel, adjacent to Ding Darling Wildlife Sanctuary. Designed for adults & children 12 years and older. Each cottage is non-smoking & pets are not allowed. All are equipped with kitchen, A/C, heat,ceiling fans,flat screen cable TV, DVD/CD, on-demand movies, linens, beach chairs, towels, umbrella & charcoal grill, adult bikes & trikes, high-speed Internet access & lending library with hundreds of books at no additional charge. Shell-cleaning tables & laundry on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Cottages Of Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Periwinkle Cottages Of Sanibel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing