We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Customer Service!!! Thank you! :-)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sanibel Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Periwinkle Cottages of Sanibel
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Customer Service!!! Thank you! :-)”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Reasonably priced, well equipped clean quiet cottages, conveniently located to beaches and attractions (FREE Bikes too!!!!) Mark and Kathy (owners) were VERY personable and knowledgeable about what the area had to offer! Coming from a Hospitality background SERVICE is very important to me; they did not only meet, but exceeded my expectations. Thank you for a memorable trip, we look forward to doing it again soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TriniTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    6
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Our vacation as first timers to Sanibel was outstanding. Our stay at Periwinkle Cottages exceeded our expectations. All questions answered by owner quickly prior to booking. Rental agreement, deposit receipt with directions and helpful hints arrived by mail several days later. Upon arrival our parking space was clearly marked and our immaculate cottage was exactly as described. Excellent quality beach chairs, towels and umbrella as well as parking pass to gorgeous white sand private beach and warm Gulf waters 10 houses away. Bonus selection of well maintained bikes for use on island of bike trails. Minutes to Ding darling nature preserve. Recommended retreat for quiet relaxation surrounded by natural beauty.

  • Liked — Bikes and beach chairs
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Great stay with Mark and Kathy.Had everything we needed for a week long stay.Good bikes and parking pass to private beach a big plus on this private island.Like the cottage style-connected to the land.Plenty to do and if you have any questions about the island Mark knows -retired postmaster .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank martinandsonhvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband, sister-in-law and I stayed in the Heron cottage for too brief a holiday. We loved the view of the pond with its young resident alligator and two nesting pairs of Yellow Crowned Night Heron. Thank you, Mark, for the introduction to the local wildlife and always cheerful responses to our questions.
It was a pleasure to sleep in comfortable beds, have easy access to the unpopulated beach, comfortable air conditioning and ceiling fans galore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBKbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Booked through the owner of the cottages. Paid her by credit card over the phone. A month later she sent me a email saying that she missed us. I booked in March for our May 15th travel. So I called her right away. Very rude and defensive on the phone. Saying I booked the wrong dates. When in fact I booked flights, car rental, and took time from work the same day I booked with her. Truth is she got our dates wrong, and then went on to say that it was my fault... She was very rude and would not refund any money. I would stay away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in the Bird's Nest Cottage Apr.'14 for 4 nights. We were greeted by Mark, the proprietor, who was pleasant and guided us into our parking site. Bird's nest is the smallest of their accommodations, it was available for the dates that my daughter and I were available. We were happy with the location & the lending bikes which made it easy to travel and enjoy the Ding Darling Wildlife refuge nearby. Beach chairs which could be carried like a back pack and an umbrella were available as well as a parking pass. Towels were fluffy and substantial, nicer than some higher end hotels I've stayed in. I was informed on booking that no facility for in door cooking was available in this unit, but a nice refrig /w small freezer & microwave were provided. The only sink was in a very compact bathroom, it was a challenge to clean any dishware we used for coffee or food. We saw birds right outside our window and had an enclosed yard /w a charcoal grill which we did not use, but might have if we stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 840BJB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We recently stayed at Periwinkle Cottages and we were extremely pleased with our experience! The cottage was clean, comfortable and had everything that we could possibly need. While the cottage is up-to-date with furnishings, we still had the feeling of staying in "old Florida" rather than in a cookie-cutter condo. The location is perfect--just a short walk to the beach (or you can drive and park with a permit supplied by the cottage owner) and once on the beach just a short walk to Bowman's Beach--one of the best spots for shelling on the Island. The location is great--it is a short drive to Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge and the shops and restaurants on both Sanibel and Captiva. The owners, Mark and Kathy, are wonderful--always anxious to make your stay wonderful. We've already made our reservation for next winter!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanibel Island
0.3 mi away
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
Tropical Winds Motel & Cottages
#13 of 42 in Sanibel Island
249 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
Castaways Cottages of Sanibel
#10 of 19 in Sanibel Island
505 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tarpon Tale Inn
Tarpon Tale Inn
#6 of 42 in Sanibel Island
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Gulf Breeze Cottages
Gulf Breeze Cottages
#8 of 42 in Sanibel Island
153 reviews
5.6 mi away
No photo provided
Spanish Cay
#41 of 42 in Sanibel Island
1 reviews
5.5 mi away
Captiva Island Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periwinkle Cottages of Sanibel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periwinkle Cottages of Sanibel

Property: Periwinkle Cottages of Sanibel
Address: 1431 Jamaica Dr, Sanibel Island, FL 33957-2609
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sanibel Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Sanibel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable island comfort with Old Florida charm on the quiet, nature-lover's end of Sanibel, adjacent to Ding Darling Wildlife Sanctuary. Designed for adults & children 12 years and older. Each cottage is non-smoking & pets are not allowed. All are equipped with kitchen, A/C, heat,ceiling fans,flat screen cable TV, DVD/CD, on-demand movies, linens, beach chairs, towels, umbrella & charcoal grill, adult bikes & trikes, high-speed Internet access & lending library with hundreds of books at no additional charge. Shell-cleaning tables & laundry on site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Periwinkle Cottages Of Sanibel Hotel Sanibel Island
Periwinkle Cottages Of Sanibel Sanibel Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing