We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely overpriced, miserable service, poor breakfast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast
Chur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Completely overpriced, miserable service, poor breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had to get a room around Seaside on short notice, and therefore hadn't had that much choice. We booked a room at the Highlands House via telephone, and the lady at the phone was very friendly. Still, we were a bit shocked when she told us a room for two would be 250$ incl. breakfast. Again - we were running out of time and booked the room.

When we arrived in the afternoon, nobody was there - another guest showed us the keys to our room and handed us a note with a telephone number. It was from the lady on the phone, saying that if we need anything we should call that number.

Our room was nice enough, but there were hairs on the towels, which by the way were so worn that you could look almost through.

But the worst was breakfast the next morning. Served in a dark basement, it was a joke. A spoonful of scrambled eggs, bacon and a piece of toast.

This was by far the most expensive night we had on our 3 week roadtrip from Tampa/FL to Houston/TX, and by far the most disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kanne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    3
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
31
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our Valentine’s wedding at the Highlands House turned out to be a complete success! The house itself is a bed and breakfast and has a very charming, vintage, old Florida feel. The owner of the house, the planner Sherry Graziani, as well as all of the staff, were friendly, helpful and couldn’t do enough to make sure our stay and wedding were perfect! We felt very well taken care of. Chef Ryan McNay, the head chef of the house, and Chef Tommy Nocito prepared fabulous breakfasts for guests of the house each morning of our stay, and truly exceeded expectations on the wedding night dinner with hot, beautifully prepared plates for each guest; all the food came out quickly and tasted great. The wait staff was very attentive and kind, it was great to see the same smiling faces taking care of us from breakfast until the very last drink was served; everyone was kind and caring and seemed eager to take care of us – kudos to bartender and waiter Grady Lynn. The grounds have a spacious grassy area and a vine-covered gazebo in front of which we chose to have our ceremony, a wedding arch was set up and covered with flowers making the ceremony very romantic and intimate. The beach is just a boardwalk away from the house, after the ceremony the wedding party went down to take our photos as the sun was just setting, which made for some beautiful shots. We loved the house’s large balcony of the house which looks out onto the Gulf - before the wedding the guests enjoyed lounging on this balcony and soaking up the sun, and for the wedding we had our dinner reception on this balcony. It easily seated 5 tables of 8 people. The living area inside of the house accommodated a full bar, a cake table, and 35 guests, dancing and mingling. Each of the guest rooms was clean, spacious and very charmingly decorated, the vintage décor made for some really great photographs. We are very grateful that we decided to choose the Highlands House on 30A as our wedding venue; this gorgeous house and its wonderful staff were integral to making sure that our wedding went smoothly and beautifully, and we are sure to remember this special event with joy forever!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexbasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

An idyllic home away from home. A very welcoming hostess ~ Sherry was terrific. The 3-course full American breakfast by Chef Ryan McNay, delish. A mixture of down home and casual gourmet meal.

The house's interior & exterior was lit in Christmas delight. A scenic seaside cottage that reminded me of Nantucket right here by the Emerald Coast of the GULF OF MEXICO in Florida. Shabby chic décor made this B&B cozy and stylish. The all-white living room upholstery was impeccably clean AND I HOPE THEY REMAIN KEEPING IT ULTRA WHITE!

SEASHELL was our room with a lovely view of the Gulf in the distance. Simple. Well-appointed. Relaxing.

Don't expect anything fancy about the bathroom. Very basic. It could use a little more extras with toiletries.

I think the only bigger negative was lack of wi fi capability upstairs in any part of the room and living area. THIS IS SO IMPORTANT TO HAVE WORKING AT ALL TIMES WITH EXCELLENT SIGNAL.

Overall, this was the true definition of the American Bed & Breakfast that's been lost in many newer B&Bs around the USA. Well done, HIGHLANDS HOUSE!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LazyDimple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

House: Quaint, older home on this stretch of 30A (many newer homes surround the property) but we liked that it had "personality". We rented the entire house for 3 days over Memorial Day weekend for our wedding. About 100 yards away from beach with big backyard where we had our reception (photos attached). There was a private boardwalk leading to the beach which was perfect for the wedding procession. Rooms were standard size and clean with private bathroom in each room (much better than B&B's with community bathroom). The 2nd floor balcony has a great view and outside furniture was brand new. We had full access to the kitchen and were able to use beach umbrella w/ chairs and bicycles at our convenience.

Beach: Private beach was great especially on Memorial Day weekend. Sand was white and water was crystal clear. We honeymooned in the Dominican the week after and agreed that the beach at A Highlands House was better and the water was more clear. Great environment for families.

Location: The house is off 30A about a 40 minute drive from Ft. Walton airport, 15 minutes East of Destin and 10 minutes West of Seaside. We liked being away from the typical tourist places that were PACKED with people but close enough that we could drive into town and eat at one of the restaurants. Seaside was one of our favorite places to visit, with Bud & Allies, gelato ice cream, and sidewalk food trucks with just about anything you can think of (ie: fried grilled cheese).

Service: This was the best part about our experience at A Highlands House. Sherry and her team did a FANTASTIC job making sure that all of our requests were met. Leading up to the wedding Sherry was extremely helpful in making sure all of the vendors (caterer, DJ, tent company, Pastor, etc) were coordinated and ready to go. She was very involved in helping setup for the rehearsal dinner we had at the house and during the day of the wedding. The owner was also there for the wedding to make sure everything went smoothly and he helped out wherever he was needed. We provided our own alcohol but the bartender they provided stayed late since the party was still going. If you choose to eat breakfast they will accommodate anything you need on the menu which was nice for me because I’m allergic to eggs. It was fun drinking coffee and talking w/ Sherry and her daughter early in the mornings. There was one gentlemen (can’t remember his name) that went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we wanted. He was there early in the mornings to clean up and setup the beach umbrella and chairs without us ever asking him to. He also setup the bicycles each day making sure they were clean and ready to go if we chose to use them. I really can’t say enough about how pleased we were with the 5 star service they provided.

Overall we couldn’t have asked for a better experience and truly feel lucky that our wedding was perfect in our eyes. If you’re looking for a relaxing getaway from the craziness you find at many beach resorts you should definitely check out A Highlands House. We will be returning sometime in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor have better ocean view. We stayed in Starfish room on 1st floor for our wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTirish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Friends got married there and occupied the whole place. Staff was very helpful on numerous occasions. Short walk to the beach and a great view from the second story porch. We had a large cookout for the rehearsal dinner and the staff let me use everything in the kitchen (they also had a large gas grill). Great location and great beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Kentucky
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at Highlands House B & B from April 7 to 11 and we were the only ones there until Wednesday evening (4/10). Sherry and her staff (family) were very helpful and friendly. Our room was very nice, except we noticed the toilet kept running and then we noticed (and reported) a slight leak on the tiles. We were moved to another room and the toilet was repaired within 24 hours.
At first glance the entire B & B is beautiful and well kept. When you look a bit closer, there are signs of wear that need attention, like rusty door locks, splintered boards on the outside stairs, lights that don't work, and TV remotes that don't work. There was no one around between 5 PM and 8 AM, except us. When the other guests arrived on Wednesday night at 8:30 PM, my wife let them in the building and helped them find there rooms. Also, note that some of the amenities don't exist. Bicycles - there is only one. Beach chairs and umbrellas - there are only a few chairs and one very small umbrella.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We spent our honeymoon here, and had to come back again! Love the ambiance and the charm. If you want a serene and laid back environment with direct access to a beautiful and uncrowde beach on the Gulf, this is the place for you. The amenities are complete, and Sherry and the staff go above and beyond to ensure all your needs are taken care of. The breakfast part of this Bed & Breakfast is wonderful: Sherry will customize your order just for you, they have just about anything you could want, and if they don't, they can usually get it. The service is great, and I loved being able to sit down and dine "family style" at our own table, and still meet and chat with other guests if desired. Would highly recommend this little getaway!

Room Tip: Recommend a second floor room on the Gulfside - the view from the balcony is great. We spent a lot o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa Beach
2.5 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
6.1 mi away
Courtyard Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
3.6 mi away
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Grayton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
5.2 mi away
WaterColor Inn and Resort
WaterColor Inn and Resort
#1 of 5 in Santa Rosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 4193 West Scenic Highway 30A, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Highlands House is an antebellum style home, traditional and cozy, yet sophisticated Bed & Breakfast, nestled on a seaside patch of paradise in South Walton in an exclusive area on Hwy 30-A. Get lost in yourself while you relax on the veranda with a most picturesque and breathtaking view of the white sands and emerald green waters of Dune Allen Beach, then enjoy a fabulous full breakfast sure to please any pallet or appetite. A Highlands House specializes in Weddings, Corporate Events and Reunions, as well as your romantic weekend or vacation get away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your A Highlands House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Highlands House b&b
a Highlands House Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
A Highlands House Bed And Breakfast Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing