We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condos in a great location”
Review of Gulf Place

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gulf Place
Certificate of Excellence
Arnold, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very nice condos in a great location”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Condos are right across the street from the beach. Cute little condos with shops under them. Shops are pricey pools looked a little dated. Security was out every night checking the property I felt very safe.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank messmer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    23
    4
    6
    1
See reviews for
35
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Love GulfPlace and the Cabanas (308 ResortQuest). Perfect size and layout for our family of three. Everything you want can be found on property and the 30A bike path can take you everywhere else. With the difference in rent between Gulfplace and Seaside you can eat out every night at any of the nearby great restaurants every and still save $$.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_POrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Just returned from a vacation in Santa Rosa Beach, Fl. We stayed in one of the townhouses in the Gulf Place resort and loved it! The place was called Almost Eden and we found it on VRBO. We were hesitant at first since they seemed a little further from the beach but it was perfect. They sit at the back of the complex so it's really quiet at night. The townhouse is spacious and well stocked...lots of beach toys. The pool is really close by and never crowded. Tennis court is less than a block away. The place is really nicely decorated and there is a nice screened in porch off the living room. Stay here! It's close to Destin, Seaside, and Watercolor but much less crowded on the beaches. Publix is close too if you don't want to eat out.

Room Tip: Look at the townhouses on VRBO. There are lots of pictures so you can choose from which one you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachgalxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I've been renting condos at Gulf Place since 2000 so I have a bit of experience. It was practically new when I started staying there and it has aged well. A few of the stores have changed and they've added some new things over time. The town has definitely grown since 2000 as more people learn about it. But it still has a nice unhurried feel about it. Unlike Seaside down the road, it is not swarming with people during the high summer season.

As a single person, I rented the one-bedroom condos through VRBO with few issues. One time the owner's husband wrote down the wrong checkout date and the maid showed up to clean the unit a day early. But after a quick phone call, she moved us into her other unit a floor below with a profuse apology. I have not rented through Resort Quest as it seems their rates are higher than what you can find through VRBO.

The units above the stores (Miss Lucille's, etc.) are one-bedroom units with high ceilings and nice private balconies. Very open and nice for couples. We stayed in one on our honeymoon. The one-bedroom units in the other buildings are rather long and narrow but have plenty of space. How they are furnished and maintained depends on the owner, and the same goes for the prices. Some charge more than others depending on the season, etc. One of the best times to go is September when the rates go down, the kids are back in school but the weather is awesome.

For the last few years, we have rented the same ground-floor two-bedroom unit with great results. It is a clean, well-appointed unit with two bedrooms, two full bathrooms, large living/dining area, small kitchen and patio. The nicest thing is our unit back up to the pool so our son has quick access to it. The pool is always very clean, as is the hot tub on the edge of it. The unit also had bunk beds built into the wall for kids but we've not used them.

Beach access is directly across the street with a private walkway just for Gulf Place guess. There's also a shower to rinse off sand, grit, etc. The only time the beach was in rough shape was after a hurricane and the steps to the shore had been literally torn off. So you had to enter the beach from the public access, which was only a few steps down from the private walkway.
It had been rebuilt by the next summer. The beach is very clean and I've never had to deal with seaweed/red tide when we've been there.

The restaurant in Gulf Place, the Smiling Fish Cafe, is very nice. We've only eaten there for lunch but they are quite kid friendly and affordable. Dinner is more expensive and they have outdoor tables. Goatfeathers, a seafood place down the road, is definitely casual but the seafood is great. You can even buy fresh seafood in their market and take it home to cook yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Peachyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Gulf Place is a quiet and well kept charming place. I love the area! 30A is the coolest place to vacation with all of the diifferent communities that have their own personality. There is walking/biking trails all along 30A and there is something to do for the whole family. You are still very close to Destin with all of the commercial activity and attractions but 30A is a place to get away from it all. Gulf Place has fun and funky shops as well as nice dining options and a cool wine bar. It also has a cool town center with a big lawn that usually has family friendly events that take place on the weekends. We stayed with ResortQuest and everything was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed at Gulf Place Cabanas last week, a condo property managed by ResortQuest. We had booked our condo through VRBO but unfortunately ended up next to a room full of Ole Miss spring breakers who had fraudulently gotten their room by having an adult sign for the room and then hand them the keys (desk agent told me that). ResortQuest was aware that there were three rooms which had been signed for against their rules, but they made no move in taking care of that. The unit next to us had already been given a written warning about throwing cigarette butts off their 2nd floor balcony when I went to complain about noise during the night . Management was way more concerned about the cigarette butts, but said that they would "look into the matter." Later that day, we went back and got a phone number to call if it happened again after their office had closed. Sure enough, the guys started going inbetween the three rooms and lots of friends showed up. People knocking loudly on doors and slamming doors went on until 2:30 am when I finally called the ResortQuest afterhours number and they called the Ft. Walton Sheriff's dept. They showed up and spoke with them and things quieted down. I again went to the office the next morning and the desk agents assured me that they would probably be evicted, but Amy, the Resident Manager, didn't see it that way. This continued to happen the entire week. We spoke with the college students several times, but it was always "yes ma'am, yes sir", etc. I called the agency that managed the condo for the owner, but they said that they were in competition with ResortQuest and them calling wouldn't do any good. They did call the condo owner, though, and let her know how this would affect us ever returning to Gulf Place Cabanas since ResortQuest is the one who really manages the property. I, too, spoke with the owner and let her know how the property was being managed. Security was not around at night after 1am, but they did speak with the college kids several times before they would leave at night. Unfortunately, when no security is around at 2am, 3am, 4am, the partying continued. When the Ole Miss coeds finally checked out the day before we did, the cleaning person showed us their unit and apparently all 3 units they had stayed in had sustained significant damage. She said that the office had charged each unit an additional $200 in damages. The one next to us had burn marks on the carpet, they had been "throwing knives" from wall to wall in the living room and marks were all over the walls. The TV had been damaged, a patio table top was damaged, as was a patio chair with cut marks in the webbing. The unit smelled of cigarette smoke, even though it was a non-smoking unit, and a 4' piece of charred wood was found on the patio which they apparently had been burning for fun. I can only imagine that Resident Manager Amy wishes now that she had taken my complaints more seriously and evicted them earlier in the week. I let the owner of our condo know about the damages since she said she was calling the owner of that unit and let them know how ResortQuest was managing their condo. I think if we had booked with ResortQuest that they would have been more responsive to our complaints, but since they didn't make any money off of us last week, we were the ones who got to suffer a week of sleepless nights on our vacation! One of the Ole Miss boys said loudly as he left, "I'm never coming back here again cause it's no fun." I can only hope that he holds true to that, but we will never go back as well since no one seemed to care that our week was ruined. We've even stayed previously with Resort Quest at Isle of Palms and Park City, but we won't be booking with them again based on their poor customer relations on this trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank TNtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just returned from Thanksgiving at Santa Rosa Beach. We stayed in room 316, The Inn at Gulf Place.

The room was clean, nicely decorated, sufficient but cozy for 4. The beach is located very nearby, and it's a beautiful beach with great facilities (bathrooms, picnic shelter) right there at the public access. The condo is very close to boutique shopping & restaurants but far from supermarket etc..

We had a number of issues:

1. Although the main Resortquest page for the Inn at Gulf Place clearly states that all 1 bedroom condos have a dishwasher this one didn't. I don't mind washing up - but we had very limited cutlery & dishes. We actually only had 2 coffee mugs - one of which had an enormous chip at the rim. Since it was Thanksgiving and the office was closed we were stuck. We had NO teaspoons and only 4 of everything else. So we washed dishes A LOT!! We complained on Friday and received some teaspoons and a couple more coffee mugs.

2. The main Resortquest pages clearly states that all units have free Wi-fi. This unit DOES NOT HAVE FREE WIFI. We were able to pick up something (probably the restaurant downstairs) but only from the bedroom - which isn't great when you have to work on vacation and there's someone else in the bedroom!

3. The furniture was what you would expect except for the dining chairs. They looked like they had been picked up in a secondhand store - they were very thin wood with wicker seats and were very unstable! I was not comfortable sitting on them.

4. The area is noisy. Right across from the room was the artists marketplace. This meant that by 8am we had already been treated to considerable hustle & bustle and notably the clang of the poles being used to construct an awning. We had this on Friday, Saturday & Sunday mornings. I quite like to sleep in on vacation - but if you don't mind an early start this may not bother you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lcsnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa Beach
2.3 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
81 reviews
5.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
7.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
355 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
5.5 mi away
WaterColor Inn
WaterColor Inn
#2 of 3 in Santa Rosa Beach
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Place

Property: Gulf Place
Address: 145 Spires Ln, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459-8718
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Place 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A location that is a perfect destination for family vacations or a weekend retreat, Gulf Place is a vibrant community nestled in the heart of peaceful Santa Rosa Beach. Splashing fountains, park benches, tree-lined streets, footpaths, an amphitheater and parks compliment the town center's location directly across from the Gulf. And from these stunning accommodations, you're just a short stroll away from community pools, golf, shops and eateries. From Gulf Place, visitors can experience the the 26-mile stretch of the Scenic Highway 30-A area and its eclectic shops and artist colonies along the pristine coastal area. Enjoy breathtaking views and sunsets over the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico while sinking your toes into the sugar-white sands. Relaxation rules the day here, while at night visitors can enjoy the eclectic shopping and dining options of nearby Destin and Panama City Beach-both just a short drive. Nature preserves offer hiking, biking and wildlife watching, while the Gulf and surrounding bays provide an open invitation for deep-sea fishing and water-sports such as parasailing, snorkeling and kayaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Gulf Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Place Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
Gulf Place Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing