We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar”
Review of Cafe Thirty A

Cafe Thirty A
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Thirty A is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Somerset Bridge Rd.
Description: Café Thirty-A is a casual fine-dining restaurant featuring grilled and fire roasted seafood, meats and poultry, wood-oven pizza, vegetarian fare and hedonistic, "architectural" desserts. The menu changes daily according to availability of ingredients. Fine wines and cocktails--including a creative menu of the best martinis in the area--complement the meal. The ambiance is open, casual, "islandy," yet sophisticated, with vaulted ceilings, upside-down market umbrellas, hand painted chairs, intimate lighting and half-wall dividers creating the atmosphere. Patrons often state, "It just makes you feel good to walk in here!" It's a fun, happening place to dine - with impeccable, yet unpretentious, service. Recent and ongoing awards are: Wine Spectator Award of Excellence, Florida Trend Golden Spoon Award, North American Restaurant Association Five-Star Award of Excellence, NW Florida Daily News “Restaurant of the Year.” Private dining for 25-80 is available upstairs in the Fishbone
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good food and great clientele. Joel is a talented barkeep! Tables in the bar are best. Don't let the snooty hostess ruin your experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CraigLAHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    144
    57
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg MS
Level Contributor
319 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“well-deserved reputation as among the best in florida”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Very attractive comfortable restaurant with wood fire oven, excellent service, extensive wine list. But let's face it, all of that means nothing if the food is so-so. Cafe 30-A's food is anything but so-so. It is on a par with our favorite restaurants in New Orleans and Dallas and Santa Fe. We split an arugula salad with pecorino cheese, pine nuts and a garlic-lemon vinaigrette, that was the 3rd such salad we had had in 3 days here and arguably the best (though Bud and Alley's was mighty good too). My wife had the diver scallops with quinoa, wild mushrooms and an artichoke butter sauce that was amazing. She gave me a VERY TINY bite of her scallops and I understood why: perfectly seared and seasoned, 4 very large scallops. I had a remarkable grouper presentation, chili dusted and then wood fire grilled atop saffron rice with chorizo, peppers, roasted grape tomatoes, and a black bean sauce; hands down the best grouper I have ever had! We had a very nice California Pinot Noir for $39, total tab with coffees after dinner was $120. Reservations are a must on weekends. As several folks have indicated, they do have a 2-for-1 early bird special from 5-6; that's too early for us and is for food only, but it is something to consider if you don't mind eating during what we prefer to be our cocktail hour. I should also add this: we frequently avoid places that get so much hype, for whatever reason, but we are very grateful we did let that stop us from going to 30-A. It is a destination restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smileyreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
195 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A Real Treat -- Excellent Service + Food”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The poke' was the best in Florida, very close to authentic Hawaiian.

The seared ahi tuna dinner was delectable as were other seafood offerings.

Excellent, friendly service. This place is a delight.

The restaurant offers 2:1 entrees during its 5 - 6 PM early bird dining special.
This is an exceptional deal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank baycityart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hutchinson,mn
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always great”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have visited here several times when we visit Florida.
We love the early bird dining special from 5-6 .buy 1 get 1...
The atmosphere is beautiful, nice white table cloths, huge White umbrellas hanging from the ceilings, a beautiful place to dine in Florida.
The wine list is fantastic, I had a great glass of cabernet... Still thinking about it.
The menu has great all around options, something for every one. I had the pork chop which was huge, came with sweet potatoes, apples and a fantastic reduction.
My husband had the steak that came with mash potatoes, Brussels sprouts and a great reduction as well.
Both meals were fantastic.
We didn't have dessert this night but have had all on the menu, all great!
Don't miss out on this place if you are in the area

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharonHutchinson_mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsville, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood... Delicious”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Delicious seafood. So fresh. Lovely atmosphere. 2 for 1 entrees between 5-6pm. Can't beat it. One of the best restaurants in SoWal. Had chocolate molten cake for dessert which was also delicious. Service was top notch

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Thirty A also viewed

Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Cafe Thirty A? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing