We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not accommodating for the price!!!!”
Review of WaterColor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WaterColor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My 2 girlfriends and I decided to venture over for a mini vacation. One from D.C. and 2 from Pensacola. 2 of us lived for many years in South Walton. Although the view is spectacular and the location ideal, the facility is in need of a redo. We woke early to grab a place by the pool and to order coffee and breakfast. We were told we can't have breakfast by the pool but could have lunch poolside at 11. 20 steps from the pool we could sit for breakfast but they couldn't bring it to us or we could go back to room and order room service. For $700+/night I would think they could be a little more accommodating. I will never recommend this place to friends who are looking for a relaxing time with God service. So disappointed. Next time in going to The Little Nell.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Addie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at WaterColor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you for providing the valuable feedback from your stay. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your visit and were not able to accommodate your request to have breakfast pool side, this is definitely something we should consider in the future. We have begun upgrades in the hotel rooms this month with larger TVs and furniture. We do hope you consider visiting us again, please contact me directly if this is something you may be interested in doing. My direct line is 850-534-5006 or via email Katie.lauricella@stjoeclub.com.

Best regards,
Katie Lauricella
Director of Lodging and Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My family has been coming to WC since we lost our summer homes in Mississippi after Katrina.

We absolutely love it here. . But it's a shame the secret is out on WC. Between word of mouth & all the accolades in magazines WC has received. . The secret is no longer a secret. In just the last few years alone, the crowds (during July especially) have swelled to beyond capacity it seems. I know the St. Joe company loves that. . But I just wish they hadn't built (& still building) houses almost on top of each other. You get to a point where enough is enough.

Overall though. . I wouldn't vacation anywhere else on 30A. It's magical & my family loves it. I can't wait for my next beach trip to WC.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank localyokel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel is great for the couple or family that wants to stay at the beach and have everything easy and close by. As with everything in the Destin/30a area, we like the off season. The rooms are well appointed and the staff is great. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in room 409. It was a fantastic experience. We brought along an infant and the room was big enough for all of three of us....Every night we sat on the balcony and watched the sun set with a glass of wine from a bottle that we bought from the wine store across the street. It was beautiful. Also, in the mornings we would walk down to Seaside and grab coffee. Likewise for lunch and dinner. Perfect location. The only reason I say "almost perfect" is that I thought the room service menu was lacking in the non breakfast department and there were a few times that I called down to the front desk and no one answered. However, it was like island time, you just roll with. The pool, the beach, the staff, the room were all exceptional and we will be staying there again.

Room Tip: Higher room gets you a better view. Floors 3-4 will give you ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank nevels2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I don't have anything to add about the beach--white sand, crystal blue water, attentive life guards, and friendly people. We had a great vacation, and one of the reasons was that we stayed in a house by the Camp. At night, the soccer field comes alive with kids and families playing soccer, volleyball, frisbee, and we even had a great fun game of duck duck goose. Unless you stay in the actual Inn, you are going to have to ride your bicycle to the beach, so we were happy to have the advantage of that beautiful grass field. It felt old-fashion--everyone coming out and meeting new people and kids of all ages playing massive games of soccer. So my tip--if you are looking for a house, consider one by the Kids Camp pool.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Desiree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberLetoMayer, General Manager at WaterColor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at WaterColor! We hope to host your beach vacation for many years to come. If there is anything that we can do to assist you with your future plans, please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Watercolor for several days this past April. What a beautiful property and an overall great resort experience. The staff members, from check-in to the wait staff at the pool bar/grill, were friendly and attentive. They were able to accommodate several special requests with ease.

The hotel rooms were spacious and all are beach-front. I was able to stay on the 4th floor, so I had amazing views of the sunset during my stay. The rooms and clean and well-maintained.

I also loved the coziness of the library, which is located off of the lobby. I enjoyed a glass of wine and a good book one rainy afternoon... The wine and cocktail menus were unique and offered something for everyone.

Overall, I was very pleased with my experience at Watercolor. There are a multitude of activities to participate in daily, easy access to the beach and several pools, and lots of great shops, restaurants and bars nearby. I only wish I had had more time to explore the area via bike (which are provided for each guest). I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmberLetoMayer, General Manager at WaterColor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at WaterColor Inn & Resort! We are so glad that you were able to enjoy the library and find some time to relax at the resort. If there is anything that we can do to assist you with your future beach vacation plans, please let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

It is very seldom that we leave a vacation after a full week and think to ourselves that we just want to stay longer. This place makes you never want to leave. The staff is great and the resort is the best. Stay on the 4th floor, the view is great.

Room Tip: Stay on the 4th floor if possible. More expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa Beach
8.2 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
362 reviews
7.7 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
86 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Henderson - A Salamander Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
11.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
12.0 mi away
Beachside Resort
Beachside Resort
#9 of 48 in Panama City Beach
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WaterColor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WaterColor Inn

Address: 34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range: £279 - £526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — WaterColor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WaterColor Inn, nestled on nearly 500 acres of sugar-white sand beach, is surrounded by 1,400 linear feet of beachfront and pine forests alongside Western Lake, the state’s second-largest naturally occurring coastal dune lake. The 60-room Inn offers deluxe accommodations designed by David Rockwell, each overlooking the Gulf of Mexico and donning a pair of Adirondack chairs on the patio (and on the first floor, a private outdoor cabana shower). Perfectly encapsulating the spirit of an intimate beach getaway—while providing the functionality necessary for a family vacation—the freshly redecorated beachfront rooms bring the outdoors in, mere footsteps from the sand. From the soft linens to the spa-inspired toiletries, every well-appointed room offers a relaxing and comfortable seaside oasis. Owned by St. Joe Club & Resorts, this distinctive hotel property affords guests access to a bevy of the private membership club’s amenities. These include private golf and beach club access; complimentary bicycle use; kayak, canoe, pontoon boat, and discounted YOLO board rentals; and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your WaterColor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watercolor Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
Water Color Hotel
WaterColor Inn Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing