We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels we have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WaterColor Inn and Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“One of the best hotels we have stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We loved the hotel. It has a boutique feeling with main stream amenities. This is one of the cleanest hotels we've stayed in. Room is light and airy. Turn down service with light house keeping is an extra perk. Staff was excellent and very accommodating. Library downstairs with free dvds was great. Pool area was extremely clean. Location was excellent with a short bike ride to Seaside where all the restaurants and shops are. Many amenities provided (free internet, free parking, hour free kayaking, free adult bikes - ) thus when you compare to a less expensive hotel where all of these amenities would have been extra - there is not that much of a difference.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience at WaterColor! We appreciate you noting that this was one of the cleanest hotels you have stayed in; our housekeeping team works hard to provide excellent service to all of our guests. We are so glad you were able to enjoy so many of our complimentary amenities during your trip.

We hope you come back to visit us soon!

Best regards,
Katie Lauricella
Director of Lodging and Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    95
    39
    28
    16
See reviews for
164
187
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Every employee was friendly and helpful. Comfy ,Clean rooms , fabulous food, beautiful property, and magnificent view of the gulf . Perfect is how we describe this vacation. Looking forward to returning in the spring.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your Perfect Vacation at WaterColor! We appreciate you noting how friendly and helpful the staff were during your trip as they consistently strive to provide memorable experiences for all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring!

Best regards,
Katie Lauricella
Director of Lodging and Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This was a new experience for our family. We have been all over Florida, but this was our first time in the panhandle.
We rented a very nice house that slept 10 easily. All of the properties in Watercolors and Seaside looked great. Your main choices are probably how close to the ocean you are willing to pay for. None are too far.
The whole community is pretty self contained if you don't want to venture far. There are nice restaurants in and near the town.
We went to the beach nearly every day for the week. The watercolors resort beach is nice but crowded. It is completely lined with two rows of beach cabana chairs for rent. These lines are solid for nearly a mile. It was nice but just to the west, the beaches were pristine and much emptier.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and definitely would go again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Seth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for sharing feedback about your Fun Family Beach Vacation! I'm glad you were able to enjoy our restaurants on site as well as in the surrounding area. The WaterColor Beaches are a very popular spot and we try to accommodate as many guests as possible in our space. A great alternative to consider for your next trip is visiting The BeachClub at WaterSound, which provides complimentary beach chairs and a great zero-entry pool. This is a new amenity and only available to registered guests of St. Joe Club and Resorts this is a very relaxing environment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another fun and relaxing vacation!

Best regards,
Katie Lauricella
Director of Lodging and Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Ideal luxury resort for families and couples who are looking for a quieter vacation/holiday weekend experience. Gorgeous property overlooking the gulf of Mexico. Beautiful room on the fourth floor overlooking the water. Room was nicely laid out and well appointed. Excellent restaurant in service. The property can sometimes be noisy with loud music and high volume of family guests. The neighboring communities are easy to walk or bicycle to. And the restaurants all around Santa Rosa Beach are really good. I've stayed at Watercolor Resort twice, and like it's proximity to the town of Seaside, for its value.

Room Tip: Request a room on the third or fourth floor to get a better view of the water, and the first or seco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dborlando2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to let everyone know about your positive experience with WaterColor Inn & Resort. It looks like you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities that makes WaterColor special.

We appreciate your business and hope that we will be able to host your next vacation again at WaterColor!

Best regards,
Katie Lauricella
Director of Lodging and Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

The sleeper sofa was missing springs and sagged to the floor. While the management immediately sent someone to attempt to resolve the issue, the sleeper sofa remained useless. It was as hard as a rock and sagged to the ground. At over $400 a night, I expect to not have to sleep 3 to a bed.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the challenges you incurred with the sofa sleeper in your room and that a suitable solution was not determined during your stay. We do have larger accommodations in our condos and homes and would love to offer you a credit towards a future stay if you will be back in this area. Please contact me via email Katie.lauricella@stjoeclub.com or my direct line 850-534-5006 if this is something you would like to discuss further.

We hope you return to give us an opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Best regards,
Katie Lauricella
Director of Lodging and Guest Experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just returned last week and stayed at the resort from August 5-11. We have two teenage boys who are so grumpy to travel with (LOL). The beach was exquisite and completely blew away my expectations. I heard this area was great but the water was perfectly turqouise clear and the sand was white like snow almost. We reserved the beach chair umbrella set up each day (in advance) and loved having a nice place in the front row set up for us each days. The young men that work the beach were great - even telling us to clear out when a storm came and promised to dry off our seats for our return. The breakfast buffet was over the top and the grumpy teens would bolt out of bed not to miss the praline french toast. We spent every day at the beach throwing footballs or kayaking out for sand dollar treasure or chilling under the umbrellas. At night we walked around the Village area and shopped and enjoyed the little wine and deli shop! We ate at some fun places up and down 30a in Seaside and Grayton. We planned to deep sea fish and golf, but the beach experience was so off the chart perfect that we were all happy there everyday. The room was set up so cottage-like cute with a giant balcony with great view (we were 409) any room on 4th floor is worth the upcharge for that view! The shower was huge and the hooks around the area for wet suits and robes ect. was a great touch. I have already recommended Watercolor to two other couples and happy it was recommended to us. Perfect for romance and even better for grumpy tens!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the 4th floor. We were 409 and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Always4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L, Manager at WaterColor Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are so glad your experiences at WaterColor exceeded your family's expectations. It sounds like your entire family enjoyed themselves with the delicious French Toast at Fish Out of Water, kayaking and all the other beach activities.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with your friends. We hope you come back to visit very soon!

Best regards,
Katie Lauricella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

There are many pool options here including one for adults only--which was our favorite--right outside of the hotel main lobby. The hotel supplied unique shampoo, conditioner, soaps and such products all in tubes resembling paint to go along with the Watercolor theme. We especially appreciated being spoiled with the turn down service every night. The only negative comment is they never brought the champagne glasses we called about two or three times. Bikes for rent on site! It was overall a great experience and service was the friendliest.

Helpful?
Thank Akvenable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Rosa Beach
8.2 mi away
The Pearl
The Pearl
#1 of 1 in Rosemary Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
7.7 mi away
30A Suites
30A Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Rosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
13.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Residence Inn Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
1.6 mi away
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
Hibiscus Coffee and Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Grayton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Sandestin Beach, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WaterColor Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WaterColor Inn and Resort

Property: WaterColor Inn and Resort
Address: 34 Goldenrod Circle, Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Santa Rosa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — WaterColor Inn and Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a pristine white-sand beach overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, the Forbes Four-Star & AAA Four-Diamond WaterColor Inn provides chic accommodations and acclaimed amenities in idyllic surroundings. From dining on award-winning gourmet cuisine to great golfing and complimentary kayaking, canoeing and tennis, activities abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your WaterColor Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watercolor Hotel Santa Rosa Beach
Water Color Hotel
WaterColor Inn And Resort Florida/Santa Rosa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing