We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to Selby” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marie Selby Botanical Gardens

Marie Selby Botanical Gardens
Ranked #2 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A sprawling botanical garden.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Visit to Selby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

A wonderful piece of Florida. Gardens from an earlier era, a great home and a quaint tea shop. Great service from the hot blond!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JChristo60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,546
    408
    81
    18
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

There is no bad time of year to go here. I love the gardens, have been a few times and it is just gorgeous.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisafromphilly80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A magical morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

When I travel to new cities I always try to visit a garden. And I am happy I did it in Sarasota. The Shelby Gardens is a beautiful place and a great way of spending a morning (or even a day). The green house with all the plants flowering is a great start a pleasant morning. It was simply magical! The gardens are very well kept and the staff couldn’t be friendlier (specially the ladies on the tea tasting house). It was a nice touch to visit the tropical plants area, with a star fruit tree heavy with fruits. During our visit I could see several people reading in the gardens and I envied them. The place is simply fantastic and a must go if you are in Sarasota Fl.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Willam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One of the best Orchid collections in the world.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Great greenhouses full of just about every type, color and size of Orchids anywhere. Lovely walk about, gardens and trails. Special holiday season displays.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank visitorfromFlorida70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Value for money, nice grounds well kept with a nice little tea room. You can easily spend an afternoon just relaxing and taking in the views.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DorsetCrowdedHouseNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marie Selby Botanical Gardens also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Marie Selby Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing