We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of variety of things to see and do; see the real Florida”

Myakka River State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
Sarasota Bayfront Kayaking with Optional Selby Garden Tour
Ranked #7 of 143 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the original Civilian Conservation Corps parks.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lots of variety of things to see and do; see the real Florida”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our family loves this park in every season. Don't miss the canopy walk and surrounding nature trails. We also like the bird walk for viewing birds (obviously) but also alligators, turtles, fish, etc. in the water. We've seen deer from there as well. Guides are great at helping kids identify species.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HouseMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,463
    783
    147
    33
    19
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Loved it even if it was flooded still had an amazing time. I will definitely be returning. Beautiful beautiful nature. Alligators were so close

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CheyenneLovesKosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We loved it here but the trail was very flooded with standing water in the legacy trail. We happened to have water shoes so we did the trail anyway but we would like to go back when it's not completely flooded out. The view fro, the tower was beautiful. Watch out for gators! We saw a few of them as we were leaving the park, it's crazy to see them that close up.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank greatdanegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1000 alligators? hmmh. not in rainy season”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We saw 3, only 1 close up and 2 heads. Nothing in 'alligator nursery'. Crowded airboat with limited airflow - take the 10 am cruise for any chance to see anything. summer rainy season is a bad time to see gators.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank doctorculp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Illinois
Level Contributor
209 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great staff, we took the airboat tour which was nice. We did see a lot of birds and a couple alligators. The river was flooding the area due to recent rains so not sure if that enhanced our trip or helped it. Our guide was funny and very educational. We wanted to do the canopy walk but because of the flooding could not get to that without getting "very wet" according to the lady at the gate so we didn't get to do that.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myakka River State Park also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Myakka River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing