We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Sarasota surf and racquet club was amazing! The check-in was easy and friendly. You get a covered parking spot. The grounds are pretty. They have regular tennis courts as well as 2 clay tennis courts (which we did not use). The place is separated into a 12 story tower on the left and 2 or 3, 5 story buildings on the right. We were on the top floor of the tower and our view was spectacular. We were able to see the sunset every night. We also walked the beach at sunset and threw a football. There is plenty of beach space. The beach is beautiful. The sand is like powdered sugar. The water was warm and the waves were just enough to play in. We went to the beach everyday. We rented a covered cabana for $20/day, just one day and wished we had done it for a few more days. The sun can be quite brutal even at just 83 degrees. There are 2 pools which we did not visit. Our only complaint was there there were children everywhere, albeit well behaved. However, if you have kids then this may be a plus for you as they all played together. The hotel is about 1 mile from the Village where all the nightlife and restaurants are. Quick tips: the Daiquiri Deck is fun but the drinks are filling. Don't go on a full stomach. The Hub had amazing ribs and a great atmosphere. The Lobster Pot had great crab legs. SKOB is a fun for drinks, dinner and live music but gets busy quickly. The Broken Egg for breakfast is a must. Get the cheesy potato casserole or any of the skillets. Enjoy! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kayakingfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    47
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
133
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Where do we start? Heated pools next the ocean (even on cold days). Clay tennis courts. Beautiful views from the rooms. Outdoor, shelted grills with picnic tables. Well-manicured grounds. Clean. Management is always helpful and every room we've stayed at in the past 10 years is always great. Most we've stayed at have granite counter tops, flat-screen TVs, well-stocked cabinets - everything from stone crab crackers to wine openers. It's perfectly located in the middle of Siesta Key Beach, walking distance from one end to the other.

Room Tip: Check photos online. Not all have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delafield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

I feel compelled to write about this unit because someone had previously reviewed it. After seeing that review, we were very skeptical! Imagine our surprise when we saw how great the place is.
Pros- beautiful beach, very comfortable furniture!, no stairs, it's quick to get outside, it's quick to get inside( bathroom! Lunch or drinks- no need for a cooler), fantastic view from sun porch, dishwasher, kitchen was stocked sufficiently, laundry facilities, grilling area
Cons- master bathroom shower doesn't have a door so the floor gets wet everytime you use the shower, loud (outside you hear all the action- inside you have the halls) because we were here for spring break- the chairs had to have towels on them by 8:30 ish or you were out of luck for a chair.
We rented a cabana for the week- I'd do that again. We all rotated in and out of the shade.
We will be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and had a great holiday. Our condo was W0404 and we were most pleased. It was large enough for ourselves, our daughter and son in law and their two children (two and four years old). The unit was very comfortably furnished, had new TVs, lots of clean bedding and a very well equipped kitchen. It faced the gulf and was very bright throughout the day. It was tastefully decorated but we took all the breakables down and put them away with our active grandchildren in the unit. The room was very quiet save for the sound of footsteps from the room above which was not carpeted. Our room was carpeted and that was a bonus. There are two salt water pools although the one closest to the beach was most definitely the favourite of everyone in the resort. The grounds are very well maintained and it is a short and pleasant walk each day to the beach. There are barbeques located by the pool and we used these to prepare a couple of dinners which we enjoyed on the bench seats by the water (you need to book ahead of time but that was never a problem). The beach on Siesta Key is outstanding!!!!!! There is a small exercise room for use by guests and on both Tuesday nights we were there the reort provided entertainment by the beach ... a nice touch. Everyone at the resort, from gardeners to the people at the front desk, were very pleasant and most helpful. The wireless available at the resort was extremely slow and on our departure we were told it was to be upgraded and I have every confidence it will be. Our thanks again to the great staff at the Surf and Racquet Club and we have booked again for next year and that could not be a better compliment.

Room Tip: Check the reviews and look those which identify the condo by number. The pictures on the website can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenOntarioCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Have stayed here a few times with mixed results. However, this was our first visit in two years. Our unit was recently renovated and very nice. The grounds have been enhanced with paver walkways. The complex is now managed by the owners and the change in management shows. Carrie and Jenn in the office were very helpful and pleasant. Only thing I'd like is an elliptical in the fitness center. The one that is there is older and there is no arm movement. But the beach continues to be outstanding. The deck with grills is great and sunsets are a daily event. More shade would be nice as you can only sit in the sun so long, but it's great to sit by the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IllinoisSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Beutifull place,close to water,white sand beech,BBQ, 2 pools,quate,good stuff,Tennis courts ,a lot of good restaurants,close to Lido key,Lonboat Key etc.Traveling with family stay here and enjoy.Stayed here in 2009,2011.Book in advanced if planing trip for holiday.

Room Tip: Any rooms good stayed in Tower building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaidas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

After 3 weeks of debating--it's so hard to choose!--we ended up renting Y308 for a week. This unit's pros: clean, attractive furnishings, great A/V equipment, good internet, granite in kitchen, large comfortable kitchen table, fairly comfy king-size bed, master walk-in closet, location close to beach & we could easily take the stairs, fantastic sunset views. The cons: a little cold because it doesn't get sun until late afternoon, bedrooms are next to each other (unlike T-bldg, where they are separated), master bath shower had major flow restrictor, kitchen pantry door didn't work properly, and night lights on the walkway of the adjacent resort were too bright. We had two maintenance issues and they were resolved very quickly. We looked at 5 other units, for possible future visits, and they all had pros and cons, so if we return it will be another difficult choice. It's too bad there aren't washers/dryers in the unit and that pool towels aren't included, as well as dish soap, a sponge, paper towels and facial tissue. We did get plenty of white towels and toilet paper!

The grounds and beach were beautiful, other than dead fish from the red tide (not their fault). My husband enjoyed a tennis mixer (the clay courts were a big reason we chose this resort) and found a few of the better players to play another day. Unfortunately they don't hold the mixer on weekends. The weight room was sufficient, with bikes, treadmills, a universal gym and some free weights. The business center had good computers and printers. The resort is close to some excellent restaurants (loved the Veg and Cottage) and it's easy to get to Sarasota and Long Boat Key. I hope we can return next winter!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Y308 (on shady side, in winter) but there are many other nice units. Depends on what'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alive2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.0 mi away
Sea Spray Resort on Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
689 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
1.8 mi away
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
Siesta Key Beach Side Villas
#2 of 29 in Siesta Key
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

Property: Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Address: 5900 Midnight Pass Rd, Sarasota, FL 34242-8708
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club delivers the best of all worlds: The newly renovated, privately owned vacation condominiums have full amenities and include resort-like accommodations. Our customer service & satisfaction tops the charts and differentiates us from the many other choices you have when deciding on a vacation rental. Conveniently located close to fine dining and shopping and within minutes of area attractions, this is a perfect year-round island destination for travelers, active seniors, couples, families, or honeymooners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing