We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another summer memory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is our favorite vacation spot. Been coming here since the late 70's and it never gets old. The gulf water is very warm, the beach is still nice as always. Since we were last here in 2011, there has been a few changes, one being that the minimum stay is 3 nights instead of 7. We stay seven out of habit. The week goes so fast. This year we stayed in the tower building to be different. Our trip dates were July 6-13, so it was a very busy place. Condo rooms are always top notch, the pools are nice, and there is plenty to do. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relaxedAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful facility. Beautiful beach. Well maintained grounds. Great pools. We love this place!!! Our friend owns the condo we stayed in so of course it was especially lovely. Grill reserve was easy. There was a wedding on the beach tonight and that was very pretty to see too!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I and many members of my family have stayed at Sarasota Surf and Racquet numerous times over the past 30+ years and we have almost always had a good time. When we first started staying here in the early 1980's the place was not very old and I was much younger. In those days we teens ran rampant on the beach all day and night and caused many headaches for the management. While we had fun and I have great memories of those days, this beach is much more subdued and much safer than it was in those days. The Surf and Racquet is still, in many ways, one of the best places to stay. With its sea wall and the beachside pool and grills, it is hard to pass up.

This recent trip was a special one as my parents were clebrating their 50th wedding anniversary and we had several family members and friends staying at this complex. It was great to see Tom (the security gaurd) again as he has been there since we first stayed there. My wife and I had a nice unit on the 3rd floor of the Y building with a beautiful view and easy access to the beach. This was the first time I have stayed in the Y building and it is much quicker access to the beach than even the W building. The condo was larger and well apportioned.

This may not be the premier complex on the beach, but in terms of convenience, price and the overall quality of the property, it may be the best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cincytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Our main priority was to spend time at the most beautiful beach in the US and relax at a pool with an ocean front view. We did just that, it was lovely! The resort is family friendly and the grounds are well kept. However, we did have to sleep,eat and needed shelter during Tropical Storm Andrea so we had to spend time in our room which was average and creeped us out immediately. Upon entry into our ground level room in the tower we notice giant dead roaches. We notified management but didn't ever receive any service about it. In the evenings we would see them creeping under the door way or scurrying on the ground and would stomp on them as fast as possible. If we stay again, it will not be in the same room or on the ground floor, the thought of the big bugs just makes my skin crawl.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacksj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Our family has stayed here many times and have always enjoyed the family friendly atmosphere. We stayed in the Tower building this trip. It's a little bit of a longer walk to the beach vs the Y building but prefer the layout. We did have a few issues this trip: our AC stopped working for a few hours due to a broken thermostat and for two six hour periods on different days between 5pm and 10pm they had to shut our water off because landscapers broke a pipe. Not very convenient when everyone included two littles are getting cleaned up from the beach. Otherwise a good visit! We will return!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank swilling512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed in the tower (T3907) With a partial gulf view... The location was wonderful just a short drive to the village and a step to the most beautiful beach in America. Our room was clean and perfect for our stay. It was not dated at all actually we could have pictured ourselves living there :) it was very cozy. We did check in after hours at 6pm and were greeted my maintenance and were able to sign all the necessary papers for our stay and receive our room key. Check out was at 10 am ( on a Sunday for us ) and we cleaned up and were out by 9am went to the office and it was locked... we had to leave the key in the box.... and never once saw someone from management or at the office, that was strange. There are 2 pools, one oceanfront and heated, we did not use them because of the private beach with crystal clear waters only steps away there was no need for a pool. We will make Siesta Key a yearly destination and of course will stay at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club...... The private beach alone was worth it and in my opinion better than the public beach....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielleFromUpstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed in a tower suite (T1103) which had a partial view of the beach with easy access to the elevator. Our condo was clean, everything was in working order but the decor was dated and the bathrooms were in poor condition - peeling paint, loose cabinet doors, rust on the fixtures and cracks in the floor. The mattress in the master bedroom was lumpy and should be replaced. The amenities at Sarasota Surf and Racquet are great - 2 pools, one beach side, plenty of beach chairs, grills (we didn't use, but they were in use every night by other guests), covered parking right by our building, great central location on Siesta Key. The grounds are well manicured and after hours its a gated complex. We would definitely go back, but would not rent this particular condo again. Also, be advised that hair dryers and beach towels are not included and there is not a laundry room in the condo - its down the hall by the elevaors.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gowhilewecanohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,513 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Palm Bay Club
The Palm Bay Club
#8 of 29 in Siesta Key
436 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Sarasota
1,547 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Inn on Siesta Key
The Inn on Siesta Key
#3 of 29 in Siesta Key
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

Address: 5900 Midnight Pass Rd, Sarasota, FL 34242-8708
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range: £74 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club delivers the best of all worlds: The newly renovated, privately owned vacation condominiums have full amenities and include resort-like accommodations. Our customer service & satisfaction tops the charts and differentiates us from the many other choices you have when deciding on a vacation rental. Conveniently located close to fine dining and shopping and within minutes of area attractions, this is a perfect year-round island destination for travelers, active seniors, couples, families, or honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing