We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Long Weekend at Sarasota Surf and Racquet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Long Weekend at Sarasota Surf and Racquet”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at the Sarasota Surf and Raquet for 3 nights in early October, and we were very happy with the resort. The beach was nice and clean and there were plenty of chairs available. The beachside pool was great, although we thought it could have been a little warmer and we would have like some umbrellas around it for shade. We never used the other pool. The ocean was clear and warm and calm, and we enjoyed the sand bar that was right in front of the resort.
As usual, the beach is great to take a walk on, and the sand is fine and soft and cool. No need for beach shoes here! Our condo was nice, and had everything we needed except for beach towels, which would have been nice but certainly no deal-breaker. Plus we got a decent discount this time of year so that was appreciated as well. We were on the 4th floor in Tower building 2, and the view was pretty good. The resort didn't seem that busy, and the beach and pool were never crowded. We had perfect weather - sunny and in the mid 80's the whole time. We have previously stayed at the Palm Bay Club and Crystal Sands, and I still prefer Crystal Sands, but I would definitely consider staying here again, especially for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsDFromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    45
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
130
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My Family LOVES Sarasota Surf & Racquet Club!! We visited in June 2012 & 2013. Beautiful beach, weather, condo's, close to stores, church, & The downtown area. We hope to visit in 2014, it's the only place my family has asked to return to!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleen8876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I absolutely loved our stay at the surf and racquet club. We stayed in Y0108 and were super happy to be on the first floor, with quick access in and out to the beach and pools with a 10 month old. The condo was exactly as pictured, clean as can be and larger than we needed. The furnishings were comfortable, cozy and stylish but we still felt like we were at the beach. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMcG726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Just wanted to rave about the Surf and Racquet Club! My family and I had such a wonderful vacation! Kerry in the office was outstanding!!! So attentive and helpful, her suggestions on local attractions helped put our trip over the top! Our room was perfect, with an awesome view! It was a great atmosphere for the kids, plenty for them to do. Beach, biking, tennis, two pools and grilling! Thank you Surf and Racquet for memories of a lifetime. Especially Kerry, we can't wait to come back and see you all next summer!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We just returned from our seven day vacation and it was wonderful as always. This was our third time staying at the resort. Every time we visit we look around the area to see if we would like to stay somewhere else on our next visit. However, we keep returning here. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and the beach is wonderful and much less crowded than the public beach, which the majority of the rentals use. The water is very shallow and normally very calm. We like that we can let our daughter play in the ocean and not have to always be within an arms reach. My only complaint is with their wifi. They do offer it but it is very slow. I was able to access it early in the morning but by the middle of the day it was pointless. Not a deal breaker for us but I know that is very important for some people.

Room Tip: Do you research and book earlier. Some of the condo's are very dated and not nearly as nice. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationIdeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta,GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is our favorite vacation spot. Been coming here since the late 70's and it never gets old. The gulf water is very warm, the beach is still nice as always. Since we were last here in 2011, there has been a few changes, one being that the minimum stay is 3 nights instead of 7. We stay seven out of habit. The week goes so fast. This year we stayed in the tower building to be different. Our trip dates were July 6-13, so it was a very busy place. Condo rooms are always top notch, the pools are nice, and there is plenty to do. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxedAtlanta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful facility. Beautiful beach. Well maintained grounds. Great pools. We love this place!!! Our friend owns the condo we stayed in so of course it was especially lovely. Grill reserve was easy. There was a wedding on the beach tonight and that was very pretty to see too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahanlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
1.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

Property: Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Address: 5900 Midnight Pass Rd, Sarasota, FL 34242-8708
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club delivers the best of all worlds: The newly renovated, privately owned vacation condominiums have full amenities and include resort-like accommodations. Our customer service & satisfaction tops the charts and differentiates us from the many other choices you have when deciding on a vacation rental. Conveniently located close to fine dining and shopping and within minutes of area attractions, this is a perfect year-round island destination for travelers, active seniors, couples, families, or honeymooners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing