We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just got back from an amazing first time visit at Sarasota Surf, everything was beautiful and relaxing. The only thing we could see maybe could be added was a hot tub!!! It would be a wonderful addition to an already outstanding resort!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acox17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are thrilled that your first visit to Sarasota Surf was a relaxing one. Thank you for suggesting the addition of a hot tub, we always appreciate suggestions for any improvements to our facility.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

No finer beach to run on, walk on, play on or party on! The people that run the Surf and Racquet Club do a fine job keeping this place looking and running well! The location is easy to get to and there are many excellent restaurants and shoppes close by. We have been coming here on and off for 20 + years and always leave HAPPY!!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank nanc4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We have to agree with you Nanc, there isn't a better beach!!! We are so glad that you have chosen to come back to Sarasota Surf & Racquet over the years. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are in love with this place except for one disappointment, which we actually feel is very important. Here we are paying thousands of dollars to stay here, and we are shooed off the beautiful patio at 10pm while quietly having a glass of wine with another couple. Security was rude to us, and stated that the President of the Home Owners Association was on the third floor overlooking the patio (pointing to the unit) and he wanted everyone off the patio by 10pm. TEN PM! Are we 12 years old!! Mature, responsible adults being told to either go to their rooms or go way down by the water at 10pm. At the time security came over, WE WERENT EVEN TALKING, but enjoying the evening peacefully. He basically treated us like criminals, pulling out his paperwork with the highlighted clause about 10 PM stating we had agreed to this in our contract when we booked. Here's the kicker....so we go up to our room like good little girls and boys and at 1am huge ruckus waking us up from the patio! Well security leaves at 12:30 so anything goes after that!!!! The next night we were cleaning up from dinner at 10pm bc our grill slot was 8-9pm so they expect you to gobble your dinner and fly upstairs by 10 I guess. We were again accosted by security to get off the patio but told again we could go on the beach. So we go on beach, again sitting quietly- 6 grown adults at 10:15pm and about 15 minutes later security tells us we aren't far enough down on beach and please move. It was actually hysterical. There's other people on patio hanging out and there's two guards running around like they are breaking up a frat party that has gone out of control. I mention to the security that the previous night we were awaken at 1am by patio guests but yet we were shooed off at 10pm. He stated oh well we leave at 12:30 so we have no control over what happens after that. His solution was that we should've called the police. All the other patio guests were appalled as well, disappointed and annoyed. Their older kids on the beach and they wanted to keep a watchful eye on them until their curfew at 11. Apparently they too were told to go upstairs to wait for their kids. I think 11pm although still early is more reasonable and would feel more accommodating than 10. Not to mention every morning they blow leaves at 7:45 am and wake my whole condo up!!!! I think they really need to come up with a different solution to address whatever they are trying to address (a President of HOA who wants to go to bed at 10?) bc for paying guests who support the establishment, wed like a few more privileges.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Peahreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

We are glad to hear that you loved the property. We try to set some guidelines when the property is booked to capacity, as it is during Spring Break. We are sorry that you found security restrictive and we appreciate your feedback. We will consider adjusting some of our guidelines, as long as we can maintain a safe and enjoyable environment for our guests.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We vacation in Siesta Key annually and have stayed at a few different resorts. We stayed in W0203 and had a good view of the pool and distant beach view. The condo was roomy and being by the elevator and washer / dryer was great. The pools are nice, as are the tennis courts. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. It was nice that the pool and beach were policed regularly by having staff check wristbands. The check in was smooth and friendly. Parking was adequate and key cards were nice. The beach was nice and there were plenty of beach / lounge chairs to use.
Now the reasons why this isn't a 5 star. All of the reasons have to do with the condo itself. The condo was moderately updated but the mattresses are outdated. The master bedroom mattress needs replaced, it's hard. The hot water tank is too small and not able to keep up. A good sweeper/vacuum in the condo would be nice to help with the upkeep during your stay. Get rid of the coffee pot and put in a Keurig, much easier on tenants to bring favorite K cups. A few more updated pans for cooking would be helpful too.
I would recommend the Sarasota Surf and Raquet Club but do your condo research before booking. I don't mind to pay the price but give me what I pay you for. Staff couldn't be any friendlier or more helpful, kudos to them and the grounds crews. Make the noted changes to the condo we rented and I would have booked already for next year. I will do more in depth research and read condo reviews before I commit to another $3000 for a weeks stay.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank RobbieO70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Robbie. We are so glad that you enjoyed all of our amenities during your stay, and very pleased to hear that you found our staff to be so friendly and helpful. We also appreciate your feedback about the condo and will share it with the owner. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had a very relaxing stay while we were at The Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The facility itself was well maintained and in a wonderful location right on the beach. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. We were a little hesitant to go during Spring Break, but the presence of security on the property made us feel safe. Too many times we have seen children and teens allowed to run wild without parental supervision. It was nice to see rules being enforced, so that everyone could have an enjoyable stay. We will recommend this property to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

We are so glad that you were able to relax with us here at the Sarasota Surf & Racquet, Roxy. It's great to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly, and that you appreciated our security staff. Thank you for recommended us to your family and friends.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Do not come here for spring break unless you want to have security question you every time you come and go to your room. Rude and think they are actually doing a service. All they do is give an overpriced condo association a bad name. Try Jamaica Royal or anywhere else. Tony the head security guard is the worst of the bunch but they are all a bunch of bully's.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnmy303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We are sorry that you were disappointed with security and felt they weren't doing the property a service. We have security on site for the safety and well being of our guests and owners. Most of our guests respect the property and the spring break guidelines, but occasionally we get a few guests or outsiders that do not. Security has dealt with numerous issues this week ranging from trash on the beach, vandalism of beach signs, and more seriously an intoxicated minor that needed to be transported to the hospital. We have checked with other properties on the Key including Jamaica Royale, and they have 24 hour security during spring break with an eviction policy in place for guests that do not follow guidelines. Our property is booked to capacity and we are just trying to make it a peaceful, relaxing, safe place for our guests to enjoy their vacation.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club had the perfect key to relaxation. We had a direct view of the ocean from our kitchen table, and the rest of the rooms were just as well decorated. Though the resort lacked any sign of a restaurant or snack bar, there were plenty of restaurants to choose from in Siesta Village.

Room Tip: My family and I specifically asked for a room with a view of the beach, so it would probably help if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

We think a direct ocean view is the perfect key to relaxation and we are glad that you found it at The Surf & Racquet Club, Natalie. We agree that there are plenty of restaurant choices conveniently located in the Siesta Key Village. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,555 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Palm Bay Club
The Palm Bay Club
#8 of 29 in Siesta Key
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Island House Beach Resort
Island House Beach Resort
#2 of 21 in Sarasota
100 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#12 of 50 in Sarasota
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

Address: 5900 Midnight Pass Rd, Sarasota, FL 34242-8708
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range: £76 - £319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club delivers the best of all worlds: The newly renovated, privately owned vacation condominiums have full amenities and include resort-like accommodations. Our customer service & satisfaction tops the charts and differentiates us from the many other choices you have when deciding on a vacation rental. Conveniently located close to fine dining and shopping and within minutes of area attractions, this is a perfect year-round island destination for travelers, active seniors, couples, families, or honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing