We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Certificate of Excellence
East Canton, Ohio
1 review
“Great Place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

As a teenager my family would vacation at the Sarasota Surf and Racquet club every year. Now that I am older and have teenagers myself, I vacation at the Sarasota Surf and Racquet club. The rooms are great. They include a living room, and a full kitchen. I love staying in the D building because they have grills in front of the condos, but it sells out fast. I have decided to move up to the tower this year and will stay there for the first time July 6th, 2014. The staff is always nice, and the beach is incredible. The resort is gated so only guest can enter the property. The beach is never crowded and seems, somewhat, secluded, but you are only minutes from stores, restaurants and the Marina. I have traveled the world, been to many, many places, but this is where I have chosen to vacation with my family.

Room Tip: D building is quiet and has a grilling area in front of the condo, but is the farthest walk to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastfrank12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review, Frank. It is so nice to hear that you are bringing the next generation to the Surf & Racquet for your family vacations. We look forward to seeing you in July.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    44
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
128
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Having wanted to visit Siesta Key for years and to finish off our 2 week holiday in Florida after the full-on adventure in Orlando, after research I opted for staying at the Sarasota Surf & Racquet Club. This was for a couple of reasons - great reviews, the fact that we could have a 3-night break which many places in Siesta Key dont allow and that it was by the most gorgeous beach for total chillaxing!

We opted for unit D101 - right by the tennis courts. It was perfect for us as our two boys wanted to play tennis - we did it as a family for one session and another time, they bounced out of bed and as the court was free, they went straight out and had an hour playing first thing in the morning - perfect. The unit was lovely - clean and quite quirky with a beach theme which suited us down to the ground. And a couple of minute stroll to the beach through lovely grounds - perfect.

8 - 10 minute drive to Siesta Key Village but our both sets of parents who were also holidaying with us, arranged for one of the free buggy taxis (just tipping required) to take them into the Village so all could have a drink. We opted for the beach, a beer and the magnificient sunset whilst the boys had a run about at sundowner time. Now that's a holiday for us!

Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer at the Sarasota Surf & Racquet Club but I'm sure we'll return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoHill03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for choosing Sarasota Surf & Racquet for your first visit to Siesta Key. We are glad to hear that D101 was the perfect unit and location for your family, and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you can chillax on our beach the next time you cross the pond.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

One of the best places to stay at one of the best beaches in the world. You have access to a private beach that is already set up with access to free beach chair usage. The site has two beautiful pools, fitness center and an awesome place to watch the sunset! I would recommend to everyone

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
It is nice to hear that you love the amenities and always enjoy your stay at The Surf & Racquet. We have to agree with you Rade, the sunsets are awesome and the beach is the best. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at this resort for one week in May 2014. This was our second visit to Siesta Key beach and I should mention that the place we stayed at previously was amazing (see my previous review) so I went into this resort expecting it to be nice, but not as nice as my previous condo on Siesta Key.

That said, we had a very pleasant stay. I will say that the resort itself is stunning - the property, pools, grounds, and beach are very well kept up. I did find that a couple common areas need a bit of TLC. Specifically, the elevators in the Tower (T) building needs upgrading. The carpet is a bit old in the elevators and what is with that blue canvas cloth covering the walls inside the elevator. Other than that, the grounds and facilities were top notch.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit in the Tower Building (T506). I specifically booked that unit based on the photos on the website and pretty much got what I was expecting. The highlights of the unit included the upgraded kitchen and bathrooms. However, this unit still needs work. It is clear the owner has invested in key upgrades, but simple upgrades have been overlooked. For example, closest doors, trim work, etc. There was a closet door in the front entrance that didn't open/close properly. Something that small and simple to fix should be addressed. The unit also needs a good paint job. The furnishings were comfortable within the unit.

Overall, a great stay. Good value for what I paid as I booked during the "Buy 2 Get 1 Free" special. I'd stay here again for the rate I paid this year, but otherwise would go back to my previous spot further down the beach (Crescent Siesta Key). If I were to stay again, I would probably look for another unit.

Pros: private beach, pools, grounds, facilities.
Cons: BBQs (charcoal instead of gas) and the enclosed balconies.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We are glad to hear that you had a very pleasant stay with us and found the facility to be top notch. We appreciate your feedback about the property. The new flooring in the Tower elevators should be installed next week. We hang the blue canvas cloth covering to protect the walls of the elevator when a unit is having renovations done. We will also pass along your suggestions to the owner of the unit that you stayed in. We hope that you will visit us again.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loveland ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My family has been going to Sarasota Surf & Raquel Club for years! We go every July and normally stay in the Y building. My husband and I went in May for just a couples week. We stayed in C 305 . We loved that condo. We loved the beach theme . We will definitely stay in that condo again. Best beach!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank mellLovelandOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We appreciate your loyalty to the Surf & Racquet Club. We are glad that you and your husband were pleased with condo C305 when you were here in May. We look forward to seeing you and your family in July.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upatate NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the second year we have stayed in this condo. We were there in May 2013 and May 2014 a week each time. The view here is amazing! The beach is perfect! Staying here can avoid the hassle of parking at the public beach just a step away from the beautiful white sand! Close to the village! Very clean spacious beautiful condos! Will stay there every year that we come back would not want to be anywhere else. Very accommodating staff always able to check in early if needed and use facilities day of check in before check in time.

Room Tip: the web page does have extensive pictures available to help to choose the right room for you. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleFromUpstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your visits with us so much that you even wouldn't consider staying anywhere else, Danielle. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit!!
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Nice complex overall pool near beach front. Stayed in Tower front unit, Unfortunately they are having work done on exterior of bldg (sawing out concete window sills) which they don't mention when you book or check in! Was told it was unplanned & hopefully won't be to loud. ITS LOUD! So if you need to be in room for any reason during the day, make sure work is completed! No offer of compensation is given. Otherwise a great place to stay with lots of beach chairs and space.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DM_Realtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry W, Guest Services at Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are glad to hear that you found the Surf & Racquet a great place to stay in spite of the unexpected maintenance repairs. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused by this project during your stay and hope that you will consider visiting our property again in the future.
Sincerely,
Kerry Wanglund, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.1 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Siesta Key Beach Resort, A Hyatt Residence Club
1.6 mi away
Tropical Breeze Resort
Tropical Breeze Resort
#5 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
Siesta Beach Resort & Suites
#12 of 12 in Siesta Key
3.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
1.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club

Property: Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club
Address: 5900 Midnight Pass Rd, Sarasota, FL 34242-8708
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club delivers the best of all worlds: The newly renovated, privately owned vacation condominiums have full amenities and include resort-like accommodations. Our customer service & satisfaction tops the charts and differentiates us from the many other choices you have when deciding on a vacation rental. Conveniently located close to fine dining and shopping and within minutes of area attractions, this is a perfect year-round island destination for travelers, active seniors, couples, families, or honeymooners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sarasota Surf and Racquet Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Surf And Racquet Club Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing