We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking in ADA Compliant Rooms” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Sarasota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Sarasota
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Port Saint Lucie
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lacking in ADA Compliant Rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband is in a scooter and when I called to see if they had an ADA compliant room they said they could only accommodate wheelchairs. We were supposed to attend a JCI Senate event there in October however we will not be going because they cannot accommodate my husband. If you have someone who is disabled do no book this hotel. They cannot accommodate you at all - the rooms are to tight for any movement of any device.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRamadaSarasota, Owner at Ramada Sarasota, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Yvonne,

Thank you for your review. As we discussed over the phone this was a big misunderstanding on our part. We do have 3 fully compliant ADA rooms which is actually 1 more then we are required by law. These ADA rooms can fit both a scooter or wheel chair as long as they were built to ADA specifications.

After discussing with Yvonne over the phone we were able to get he into a room that would fully accommodate all of her ADA needs for her upcoming event.

Sincerely,

Navid Kichi
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    224
    220
    163
    177
See reviews for
301
276
74
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was quite the experience. We got to the hotel and the staff was very nice at the front desk. Quickly gave us our card and we went to the back of the property towards the south side. Initially, we were given room 502 (if I recall the number right - second floor on the back). We walked in and immediately noticed a musty/moldy smell. We also saw several areas on the wall that were patched over and not painted. The bathroom was very unclean with hairs in and on the tub, toilet, and sink. The tub was also PAINTED and it was peeling off. Definitely not good for our two year old daughter.

My wife was not at all happy with the hotel and went down to the front desk. The manager was extremely helpful and said that all of the "standard" rooms were already booked out - but would go ahead and upgrade us to an executive suite at no extra cost since they did have the rooms available. The cost for one of these rooms is $110+ a night, which is well overpriced compared to other 2.5 star hotels that are around $87 - $95 for the same quality. She was shown two rooms - one on the bottom floor and one on the second floor of the building just north of the lobby building facing towards the main US 41/Tamiami Trl.

She chose the second floor room - Room 200. This room did have carpeting but the room was very clean and looked like a proper 2.5 star hotel room with a microwave and fridge. However, the tub was still painted and had some scratches in the paint. Once we got this room, we were happy with the arrangements and the hotel did live up to the 2.5 star rating.

The pool area was very nice and the breakfast was great as well. The guy in the breakfast area also made a HUGE difference on our experience at the hotel. He was very friendly and did impressions of some actors that our daughter giggled about.

So, a word to the warning about this hotel - make sure you get one of the better upgraded rooms. DO NOT USE EXPRESS DEALS on Priceline for Bradenton, FL! Otherwise you will get one of these "standard rooms" that is more like a one-star hotel and don't have the same level of cleanliness or upkeep. If the hotel would change out the carpeting in those rooms, it may fix the smell at least - but the cleaning staff needs higher standards.

Room Tip: You do NOT want one of their standard double bed rooms that is in the building to the south of the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel really needs an upgrade. Bathrooms are worn, hallway carpet threadbare. However, if you get a sea view room, it is great to sit on the balcony. Meanwhile, watched the World Cup at the outdoor bar - many nice people and good food.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hkdad3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is a dump for a Ramada. Very worn out and dated (80's) surrounding neighborhood is also a dump. Rooms were ok and clean, but hall way stunk. Pool is average hotel pool. The best part is the restaurant/bar..actually very good food!
I would not stay here again. I only stayed for 1-night mainly because of proximity to airport and for the tikki bar.

Room Tip: ask for a new renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.1 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#25 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#23 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
6.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota
#31 of 49 in Sarasota
3.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
12.4 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota - Siesta Key
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Sarasota

Property: Ramada Sarasota
Address: 7150 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34243-1405 (Formerly Sarasota Hotel & Marina)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Sarasota 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the splendor of warm tropical breezes, sparkling waters and dazzling sunsets of the Ramada Waterfront located on Sarasota Bay in Sarasota, Florida. The hotel, banquet rooms, restaurant, Tiki Bar and heated outdoor swimming pool all have spectacular views of the marina. The Ramada Waterfront Sarasota is convenient to Florida's gulf coast beautiful white sand beaches including Siesta Key Beach, Lido Key and Anna Maria Island. The full service Ramada Waterfront has 85 comfortable and well-appointed guest rooms and suites. Amenities include free WiFi throughout the hotel and free parking. With over 9,000 square feet of flexible function space, the hotel is ideal for meetings, banquets weddings and other special events for up to 700 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ramada Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Ramada Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing