We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“superior”

Currents Restaurant
Ranked #345 of 1,027 Restaurants in Sarasota
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
185 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“superior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Currents in the Hyatt offers superior meals at prices found a far less sophisticated restaurants. The menu is health conscious with many organic and locally sourced ingredients. Portions are comparable to European standards so it is not for those looking to take leftovers. My gnocchi were flavorful, as was the trout, and the bibb lettuce salad. The recipes are inventive and inviting but the clear focus is on quality ingredients. Service was friendly and unpretentious. The table had a view of the pool and the room was minimalist contemporary with enough tropical color to fit in its Florida setting. This restaurant is a 10 minute walk to Van Wezel Hall.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PascoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    28
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Decent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The food was decent, though on the pricey side. I had a burger, which was cooked to order. However, the bun was disgusting with the grease soaking through. We ordered from the bar and took it to go. I doubt if I would eat hear again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

The servers were very nice and the food tasted good. The portions are not good for the price of the food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Back home again in Sarasota”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

My family and I lived in Sarasota from 1965 to 1992 and operated a business there. Kids grew up and left home and I moved to Titusville and Bradenton, FL. My oldest daughter and I attended a convention in July at Hyall Regency and their restaurant is Currents. We ate lunch there the day we arrived and in the course of our week's stay we also had breakfast and dinners. They have an interesting menu and no matter what you order, you receive food that is absolutely wonderful. The service at the restaurant was also excellent.The restaurant overlooks the marina so no matter where you sat, you had a beautiful view. I highly recommend Currents!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edie481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We received a coupon for a BOGO appetizer from the front desk and the anchiote chicken quesadilla and caprese flatbread were very good. My son had the reuben and said it was the best one he ever had.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GSWade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Currents Restaurant also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Currents Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing