We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A high point of our visit to Sarasota - a must!”
Review of The Ringling

The Ringling
Ranked #1 of 141 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ringling is located in Sarasota, Florida and preserves the legacy of John and Mable Ringling. It is home to a Museum of Art, the historic Ca' d'Zan Mansion, Bayfront Gardens, an Art Library, the Circus Museums and the Historic Asolo Theater.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“A high point of our visit to Sarasota - a must!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The grounds are simply beautiful. We spoke to one of the gardener's who was tending to the tress and plants. He was an expert in all things botanical and he was delighted to talk to us during our walk through the beautiful grounds. The estate is fabulous and well worth a visit. The walk the grounds is free and that is exactly what we did. You are only required to pay if you venture into the museums. Do go!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FriendlyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,069
    946
    151
    29
    65
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
119 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Up's and Down's, Over-Priced”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The art museum has some very beautiful pieces. The rose garden is a major disappointment, seems like about 25% of the rose bushes are knock-out roses. The Bayfront gardens are pretty but very small area. The house is pretty but definitely not out of this world. Go on the Mondays when the grounds and the art museum are free. Otherwise, over-priced

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Corusc80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Diverse Museum Content”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

An amazing estate with such a variety of exhibits that is well worth a visit if you are in this area. The art galleries have an extensive collection of Reuben's as well as many other items of interest. Be sure to take the quick fire guided tours which really give you a flavour behind the paintings and why they were bought by the Ringlings. The exhibition of Circus memorabilia is a good insight into the circus world and how it dominated live entertainment for many americans .

The estate is set in a pretty parkland location with a waterfront that hosted the private yacht which berthed outside the Ca d'Zan Mansion.

A great alternative to the beach.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Unusual”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Ca'd'Zan and the Ringling Brothers museum could be accidentally overlooked as a place to spend a day on the west coast of Florida. But I encourage all to make the effort and put this marvelous, funny and unique property on your list. The extensive grounds alone are impressive. And the Ringling house a fascination. The circus museum delights and educates. All of the staff are super, friendly, well informed. The only frustration is the ticket purchasing, made overly complex and difficult with options touted as choices. Geez. Just sell me a ticket and let me wander around and see the place. If you are a winter visitor then the weather will make your visit a truly memorable day. We will return because I am not sure you ever quite see it all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tmm32776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Here come the Elephants”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Greatest Show on Earth. This is something every family should do as a family. Make sure you get there as soon as the doors open to participate in the pre-show activities. Be prepared for a fun day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ringling also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to The Ringling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing