We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Outstanding Venue for Opera”
Review of Sarasota Opera

Sarasota Opera
Ranked #30 of 141 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sarasota Opera continues to distinguish itself as one of the opera opera companies in the world. Season after season, Sarasota Opera presents world-class musicians and performances in the striking 1,119 seat Mediterranean style Sarasota Opera house. The fall season consists of one opera performed in October-November followed by the four opera Winter Opera Festival that runs all of February and March. Each season brings a mixture of classic favorites and rarely heard gems. All performances have simultaneous English translations above the stage and opera goers are encouraged to dress as they feel comfortable: suits and ties mix with khaki and jeans. Tickets start at only $19!! Come and experience the magic that is Sarasota Opera!
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“An Outstanding Venue for Opera”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Sarasota is blessed with cultural attractions usually found only in much larger cities. One example is the Sarasota Opera, which offers classics. including the Verdi works, and some interesting innovations such as Of Mice and Men. As a season ticket holder since moving here two years ago, I am experiencing an excellent and varied selection. Famous singers are brought in for key roles, the supporting cast is excellent, and the orchestra is first-rate. At times, however, the costumes and scenery are not up to the rest of the performance, which I take as an indication that the money is being allocated to the most important features. Having been to performances in New York and elsewhere, I note that tickets are usually available here and at a more reasonable price. This is not a stuffy opera hall, and the audience wears anything from formal dress to smart casual. There are a number of good restaurants at all price levels in the vicinity and, at least for the time being, ample free parking. Try it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    31
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“If you are a opera aficionado YOU DO NOT WANT TO MISS SARASOTA OPERA”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have been attending Sarasota Opera since 1977 and have not missed a performance. The pleasure we get is when we listen to the Ooohs and Aaahs we hear from out of towners that attend and are amazed at how many people attend from out of the country and how amazed they are at what a fantastic and beautiful venue it is and what a great performance and it is very rare that we hear something negative...There is always someone that says it is not the Met or LaScalla but most of the time it is sour grapes because they are so embarrassed by how great the performance was and how beautiful the Opera House, plus the fact that people come from all over the last month of the season and make a vacation out of it because they can see 4 different operas of this caliber in one week. I am originally from N.Y. and attended the Met for many years. I will never say it is better because you cannot compare the performers or the amount of money they spend to put on a performance or the price of the ticket, BUT, for the prices Sarasota Opera charges there is no comparison...Sarasota Opera stands alone. Plus the fact that in all of the United States I believe there are only 13 cities with their own Opera House and Opera Company and Sarasota is one of the 13 in addition they teach opera to young Sarasota students that want to learn and they have a fantastic apprentice program that students from all over vie to participate in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray34238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small town. Big Opera.”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Sarasota Opera does an outstanding job of presenting fully staged operas at the beautiful Opera House in the center of Sarasota. Last year's production of Turandot was the biggest yet presented by the company and was received with standing ovations at every performance. If you like opera, you will love the Sarasota Opera productions

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank georgehoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
199 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Verdi would love this Opera House”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Great productions, great voices, beautiful venue.
Parking sometimes an issue but there is valet parking if you like.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank retirededward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
255 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This tiny Opera House is a great place to hear live Opera Performances professionally done. A wonderful orchestra, top notch singers and an intimate theater make this a great house. Whether you're a seasoned professional Opera goer or a beginner I'm sure the Sarasota opera will appeal to you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank qwerty103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sarasota Opera also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sarasota Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing