We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Attraction!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sarasota Jungle Gardens

Sarasota Jungle Gardens
Ranked #18 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An Old Florida attraction since 1939, Sarasota Jungle Gardens allows visitors to experience things you won't find anywhere else. Feed free-roaming flamingos, watch parrots ride bicycles, catch lemurs at play, stare down a vulture, or pet a skunk. Be sure to visit the Flamingo Cafe for a refreshing lunch or snack. Enjoy one or more of our acclaimed animal shows. Annual events include Holiday Lights, select nights in December, and Jungle Trails and Bunny Tails, every year on Good Friday.
Reidsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting Attraction!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The grounds are well-maintained and the animals are interesting to look at. If you go during the summer, beware that it's hot (high humidity) and this is an outdoor attraction. My kids (12, 14, 15) enjoyed viewing the reptiles and parrots as well as feeding the flamingos. Be sure to buy flamingo food at register and save some for the petting zoo. I liked how many of the critters had a story on how they arrived at Jungle Gardens. It's about $80 for 5 (under 18 is little less than adult).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    314
    95
    42
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Sarasota Jungle Gardens was recommended by a friend so we decided to check it out.
The Reptile Encounter and Jungle Bird Shows were both well done. The narrators (for lack of a better word) knew the wildlife and taught the audience things we wouldn't have known otherwise. Most of the flamingos were sleeping while we were there but there were a few who let us feed them. One was very aggressive and nibbled my arm but didn't puncture the skin. Very nice gift shop with a cooler with beverages and ice cream. A necessity on hot humid days like today.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
We plan to return but think November until April might be a better time to visit where we can enjoy the grounds more when we aren't so ht, we can hardly wait to get into air conditioning,

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss this attraction!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice reptile and bird display. They have an educational reptile show with live aligators, snakes, lizards. You can feed the flamingoes which are very friendly. Recommended for the whole family!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RitaMariaCastillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly & HONEST! (Rare in Sarasota!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

What can I tell you about Downtown Sarasota? They treat their dogs better than their people. HOWEVER, a stark exception(s) are The Hyatt Regency Sarasota and Sarasota Jungle Gardens. Honest manager, caring employees, friendly; great businesses! The gardens are beautiful. It really is like walking thorugh a jungle. You can basically walk around the park and be in the shade most of the time. LOVED the flamingos! They walk right by you as if they were other people; VERY fun!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank HeatherEliciaCombs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

So this has some poor reviews. But if you are looking for a relaxing afternoon with some shaded walkways. This is the place. AND you can HAND FEED FLAMINGOS!! Where else are you gonna get to do that?? They have also added a few new animals, since we visited in 2012. We walked up to the new turtle habit area and they swam right up to the wall wanting to be fed. There was a food (gum ball) machine right next to it. So we popped in a few quarters and fed them. They also have exotic birds that you can hold. Oh and like 85% of the animals came from people who couldn't care for them any longer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cbboggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sarasota Jungle Gardens also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sarasota Jungle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing