We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreaded the morning coffee”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dreaded the morning coffee”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This hotel supposedly brews Starbucks coffee, but I drink Starbucks coffee often and have never tasted any this bad. Several times we complained about it, and the second day a manager brewed us an ok cup at our insistence, apparently brewing the coffee much stronger, but the staff still didn't seem interested until the morning we were checking out, when the manager brewed another fairly decent pot of coffee and gave us a complimentary cup (big deal-- after having to drive to McDonald's all week for decent coffee).
The room was large but uncomfortably laid out for most travelers; it looked like it should have been used for business meetings, since half the space was fairly open with a large couch against the wall, a desk for a computer, and a small bar area. The beds were tucked behind a light divider, with the sink right in front of the beds, a tiny bathroom and probably a 2 foot closet, where about 1 foot was visible. The room was fairly clean, beds were comfortable, the a/c worked ok, but the complimentary breakfast was unremarkable at best, no eggs, just cereal, toast, mixed fruit, warm milk, and that lousy coffee. Eggs and other foods were available at extra cost however.
We also had a laughable (or frustrating, depending on your mood) mix-up with the billing of our room. Since we had gone to Sarasota for a wedding, we received 3 days discount for the wedding rate and then were to be charged a slightly higher price for the next 2 days. Hotels often have differing rates depending on days of the week, so we didn't think anything about it. However, on the day that we were to be charged the higher amount, we were called by the front desk no fewer than 3 times to physically go to the front desk to validate this change and affirm that we were staying there for the extra 2 days at the higher price.
The day we left the manager did seem to care that we may have had some concerns, but the attitude of some of the other staff during our stay could best be described as "disinterested". In other words, I felt that this hotel is not one that "pampers" their guests, but it was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historyz-fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    205
    52
    27
    13
See reviews for
227
171
24
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The hotel overall was great considering the price but I would not recommend staying here if you are a light sleeper. We were awakened at 3:00 am to some loud guys partying in the next room over. Then, later that am, we were awakened again by some very loud children. Prob a good place for business travelers, but not for leisure. Also, the hotel should really consider putting tile around the sinks instead of the carpet that is there now.....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuba002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
agiasone, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel! We sincerely apologize for the noise disturbance you received from other guests. It is not fun to be awaken in the middle of the night by unwanted noise and you deserve every right to get a great night's sleep when staying with us! We would suggest in the future, if you had not done so already, that you immediately notify staff of such an experience so that we may resolve the situation.

We hope to welcome you back as our guest in the future and please consider staying at other Hyatt Place hotels when traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Stayed 2 nights for a family wedding- party of 15. staff was always pleasant and accomodating. motel was very clean, attention to detail. complimentary breakfast was pleasing to all - nice dishes - unlike some chains where you are gicen styroforam plates, cups, plastic utensils. always a variety of food to purchase if one so chooses. in walking distance of the airport. close driving distance to st armands circle and lido beach. could not have asked for a nicer place to stay for such a happy occasion. thank you hyatt place for contributing to an awesome family celebration

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guamgirl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Had 2 king rooms at this hotel for 3 nights, with my parents in the neighboring room. Large and spacious room with a comfortable corner sofa - with plenty of room for all 4 of us to lounge around. Quiet hotel, with very friendly staff, great breakfast and good facilities.
The Good: Spacious room, loved the lounge area, and the room facilities were great, big TV, mini fridge, nice tea/coffee maker. Breakfast was good, large selection or cereals, fruit, yogurts, juice and bread/bagels/pastries and the dining area was nice, plenty of tables etc. Also hot choices for a charge, which is a good option to have. Very good wifi, with a strong connection around the hotel.
The Average: Pool/hot tub - pretty standard for this sort of hotel . . . but a decent number of loungers and they did provide towels.
The Bad: Noisy A/C - not too bad in March as we were able to turn of the unit to sleep, without the room getting too hot during the night, but I wouldn't like to try that in August! Also the shower/toilet area was small (you had to squeeze in beside the toilet to be able to close the door), and dark (more lights/brighter lights please!).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank planthenexttrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting New College of Florida with my 17-yr-old daughter. I really wouldn't change a thing. Service was topnotch - every person we encountered was pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed - the joys of a new hotel. We arrived late and had a snack at the bar. I have to assume the pizza was frozen because it came out so quickly, but it was delicious. Would stay here again in a heartbeat and, based on this experience, I'll seek out Hyatt Places in other cities

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutofOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Bell, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

New hotel as of this writing. Right at the road entrance to Sarasota Airport (you can walk from the airport terminal to the hotel). Driving distance to the beach; less than 10 minutes to downtown Sarasota. Plenty of shopping and very good restaurants within driving distance. In an area where there are a lot of airport hotels. Nice location for the business travelers or vacationers who don't mind driving to the waterfront. All rooms have separate living and sleeping areas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwtech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
214 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

First time at a Hyatt Place. Recommended for our business group due to proximity to the Ringling Museum we were visiting for 3 days. Was concerned due to location directly across the street from the Sarasota airport.

Check-in was quick and efficient. Was provided with my request for a top-floor room near the elevator. Room was spotless and large with a couch/lounging area, desk, mini-fridge kitchen counter, 2 large beds & a huge flat-screen TV.

Never heard any planes but the A/C unit clicked on and off all night preventing a decent night's sleep. Even though the unit had an auto, low or high feature, it did not work. Called the front desk and advised of my dilemma and before I hung up the phone the Engineer was at my door addressing my problem. He indicated he would contact the company and would have the fan control programmed before I returned. By mid-afternoon, problem solved. Was able to set the fan to low, avoid the clicking on and off and slept like a baby. Oh, those beds they have are like sleeping on a cloud. Fabulous!

Speaking to my business associates, several commented on the clicking A/C and I shared my solution. Hopefully the management will address this simple matter in all the rooms and proactively get them all programmed to work properly.

Closet was extremely small & storage space limited. Fortunately I was in the room alone but if I had to share the space it would not have worked. I was able to hang 3 coats and 3 business suits. There were 3 drawers available which I immediatey filled with my non-work clothes & work-out attire.

Actual glassware was provided; however not wrapped in paper. I was hesitant to drink out of the glasses not knowing how long they may have been exposed on an open shelf. Was able to get paper cups at the breakfast buffet so not a big deal The water in Sarasota is not the most pleasant to drink but you can go in to the 1st floor gym where they have a water cooler and get cold/drinkable water if you don't have the opportunity to get to a grocery store to purchase bottled water.

The continental breakfast buffet was high-carb but very pleasantly presented with dishes and silverware in lieu of paper and plastic. Bagels, bread, mini-muffins was provided with cream cheese or peanut butter and an assortment of 5 different cereals with milk. There was also yogurt and cut fruit. Bananas for the cereal would have been a major plus. For a charge they will prepare a fully-cooked breakfast. The other plus is food is available 24/7, hot or cold so you don't have to hop in the car if the sudden urge to eat overcomes you.

I would definitely return to this hotel due to its proximity to the airport and the Ringling Museum; the extremely comfortable room (I will overcome the shortage of storage space) and the very responsive staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,025 reviews
9.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 49 in Sarasota
676 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
Address: 950 University Pkwy, Sarasota, FL 34234-2848
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place is a new hotel located near Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport and downtown Sarasota. Complimentary amenities include continental breakfast, Wi-Fi internet, parking, and shuttle service to/from airport and within 3 miles. Spacious guestrooms feature a King or two Queen Beds with an additional sleeper sofa, 42" flat-panel HDTV, free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, and more. Other amenities include 24 hour food service, full bar, 24 hour fitness and outdoor heated pool. Hyatt Place is smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport Hotel Sarasota
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing