We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
West Hyattsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good deal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed on the 3rd floor. The room was large and spacious, there was no noise in the hallway as we were near the back, the king bed was very plush and comfortable and the A/C unit was quiet. There is only the shower stall, no tub which I thought surprising. The room was a suite that including a pullout bed. The 'free' breakfast was standard but the two types of biscuit/egg/bacon combo were terrible. Tasteless and dry. Otherwise, it was a good stay, also the staff was courteous and pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomad018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamalaRussell, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Nomad018,

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We are happy that your enjoyed our oversized guest rooms. All of our king bedded guest rooms are equipped with modern glass showers and we offer tub/shower combo in our two queen bedded rooms.
We sincerely apologize that our freshly prepared sandwiches did not live up to your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our management and team.

In the meantime, we remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back at the Hyatt Place Sarasota.

Kindest Regards,
Tamala Russell-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    197
    47
    26
    13
See reviews for
218
166
22
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

Room was dirty and still filled with clothes and other items from the previous guest. The carpet was so filthy your feet actually stuck to it when you walked. There were old soap fragments in the bathtub and on the sink. We found out later that the front desk staff and the housekeeping staff had not communicated accurately regarding the status of this room, and that clearly, the room had not been properly cleaned for new occupants. The sheets on the beds had not even been changed!! Although we did receive a written apology from the hotel management, we were not offered any kind of discount. Re the layout of the room....tiny bathroom, even more tiny and extremely inconveniently placed closet, but a large area at the entrance of totally wasted space. Room was dark and depressing.....horrible décor, thin walls. We could hear everything our neighbours did on both sides of us and also above us. Breakfast was good but it was total chaos the morning we were there because there were several breakfast rooms and the flow between them was terrible. It was impossible to try to manage plates and coffee with no trays, while trying to navigate your way through double doors. I would never go back to this hotel and would advise others to stay away too. We had booked for 5 nights and checked out after 1. It was also one of the more expensive hotels in Sarasota......not good value for your money, in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamalaRussell, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Linda D,

It is disappointing to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. All of us here at Hyatt Place take your comments very seriously, and we are eager to correct any failures on our part.

We also understand that our hotel is very unique in regards to the design and the size of our rooms and that the structure of the rooms may not be for everyone. However, from the rave reviews we have received so far from other travelers, we are confident that we are providing a unique and fresh experience for our guests.

We have already been in contact with you regarding your recent stay. Please know that this was an isolated incident and can assure you this will not happen again. We are confident that we can restore your faith in us. In the meantime, we remain fully at your service and look forward to the chance of welcoming you back at the Hyatt Place Sarasota.

Kindest Regards,
Tamala Russell-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This Hyatt Place is across the street from the Sarasota Airport. The building is not new, but it is well maintained. We prefer the walk in shower to the outdated bathtub/shower. The staff is very friendly and professional. We enjoyed the included breakfast and would have liked it even better if they would have provided trays, because the absurdly small plates and bowls require multiple trips to the buffet. There is an outdoor pool and whirlpool open from 6:00 AM to 10:00 PM. Be careful because the pool deck is made of dark brick and during the day is unbearably hot on the feet. The motel is three blocks from the spectacular Ringling Estate and Museum, about six miles from the beach and an hour and fifteen minutes from the Tampa airport. Information about the motel is displayed on the large flat in screen television. We probably would have ordered from the "Gallery Menu" if the promotional printed menu in the room had an option to order ahead over the phone and pick up the order in the lobby. Wi-fi is included. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: All roooms appear to be the same. Some have pool views. We did not hear any airport sounds at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKPOWELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamalaRussell, General Manager at Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Paul H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of the Hyatt Place Sarasota. I am glad to hear that we could meet your needs with our facilities and location. Thank you again for choosing our property, we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Best,
Tamala Russell-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Stayed at the hotel for several nights. Good location, close to the local airport, restaurants, stores and I-75. I liked the room, which was spacious and divided in two useful spaces. The WiFi connection worked well from the room. The room was very clean and had everything necessary for a nice vacation. We didn't use the pool but it looked nice and not crowded. The breakfast selection was good, the only problem is that it was the same selection every day. However, it had a good choice of fruit, morning starches and protein. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hyatt Place. We arrived rather late in the evening, and hadn't had dinner. We got a lovely dinner from downstairs to bring up to our room to enjoy. The room itself was gorgeous, and had every possible amenity you could want. Enjoyed a delicious breakfast the next morning. As we were getting ready to leave at check out, we asked to have two coffees to go from their coffee bar. The woman at the desk said, "Yes, for a cost." Fine, we bought something less expensive down the street. Not a way to leave your guests with a good impression. We wrote a letter to Hyatt management, which was left unanswered. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Beware of this place...lest you like random acts of skimming your wallet by the management.

This has to be one of the greatest scams ever run by a hotel. I was reviewing my credit card statement and this hotel decided to say that two grown adults (that were barely in the room except to sleep) somehow put a hole in a wall and charged us $250. REALLY?!?!?!??!?!

We are two boring professional, responsible, and ethical adults that are nearly 50 years old, we were there two nights, and hardly in the room except to sleep. We spent most of our time outside of the room visiting the beach, restaurants, museums, and my elderly parents. We never saw any hole in any wall NOR did we create any hole in any wall. If we had seen it upon our arrival, we would have certainly pointed it out to the management immediately and we would have pointed it out to the management if we had in fact created a hole, which we did not. We travel often for business and pleasure, and this is a first ever for either of us.

The management made no phone call or email to discuss the matter at the time. After learning about it, I left two messages for the management and NOT one return courtesy call was ever made to discuss. Absolutely no proof was given except for a letter to my credit card company from the manager to say it did happen. BAM!!! a $250 charge can just happen " 'cuz she said so."

My suspicion as to why a random $250 charge for damage was allotted to our room could be one of the following:
1. It shows up 3 days AFTER we checked out; perhaps this damage is attributable to another guest that stayed in that room after we did. Certainly, no one called us from the hotel to discuss nor was any proof made available.
2. They made a mistake and it was reported as our room number when it was another (perhaps it was one of the rooms that housed some of the countless teenagers there that weekend for a soccer tournement).
3. Perhaps the supposed hole was already there, but in their attempt to quickly clean the room since it wasn’t ready when we arrived, they missed this supposed hole that we did not see.
4. There was no hole (because there is no proof of such) and this was a clerical error.

Regardless, the manager's " 'cuz I said so" letter to the credit card company is apparently all they feel they need to rest on.

If this manager, the property owner, or the Hyatt corporation doesn't take care of this, Hyatt will have lost me as a future customer that will cost them well over $250 over time, but likely other people I've told including my friends, family, Tripadvisor users, and Yelp users.

After reading the other reviews on here and on yelp, I'm seeing a trend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank tlnchico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
358 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Spent the Saturday night before Easter so we could go to the Ringling. Clean, well kept hotel. The staff was professional and helpful. Breakfast was good but the area was very busy and seating was a bit of a challenge. Parking can be far from the room but all in all this was a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. The lobby offers a bar that has standards like wine, beer an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
9.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
5.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
8.7 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
Address: 950 University Pkwy, Sarasota, FL 34234-2848
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place is a new hotel located near Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport and downtown Sarasota. Complimentary amenities include continental breakfast, Wi-Fi internet, parking, and shuttle service to/from airport and within 3 miles. Spacious guestrooms feature a King or two Queen Beds with an additional sleeper sofa, 42" flat-panel HDTV, free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, and more. Other amenities include 24 hour food service, full bar, 24 hour fitness and outdoor heated pool. Hyatt Place is smoke-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport Hotel Sarasota
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing