We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

beautiful decor, nice indoor pool, nice layout, no internet, good night sleep considering the proximity to the airport, no breakfast included which was a disappointment upon finding out, housing keeping was really bad.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juju B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. I will share your comments with our staff and management team. It is always good to receive comments so we can focus if anyone in particular is not giving 100% The fixtures, although great in design had some flaws and we are currently going through all rooms to correct the flaw. They tend to "droop" after a period of time.

Thanks again for taking the time to give your comments and input. All will be shared with the staff. I would appreciate it if you would contact me as to what room your were staying in.

Sincerely,

Dennis L. Patrick
General Manager
d.patrick@hisrq.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    154
    47
    29
    10
See reviews for
128
115
37
139
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The rooms were roomy and comfortable for the price. They were very clean. The shower's water pressure was the only problem we had with the room other than no microwave, but the bar staff warmed are food up for us with no problems. The pictutes that they advertise were true. The decor was very nice and contemporary. The lobby area made you want to lounge around. The customer service was phenomenomal. From the booking, to months in between, check in to check out. The staff really knew how to be hospitable. We were leery at first because we have not had great experiences with Holiday Inn's, but I would definately stay here again. We had a group of 20 people and 10+ rooms. Everyone constantly commented on how great the customer service was. Chad at the front desk won everyone over, even people that came to visit us at the hotel. The gym was better than some small off site costly-gyms. The patio area is great for relaxing and not feeling as though you are in some stuffy hotel. The location was great and easliy accessible to the main roads. The breakfast buffett had a variety of good hot food selections, better than continential breakfast items. The restaurant food was a little pricey. This hotel was very clean. Overall I would stay here again and again. Thanks to the staff, my family really enjoyed our week end.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the elevator. You can here the elevator system going up and down all ni...
See more room tips
Green Features: The water pressure is low in the showers due to their enviromental practice.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakieas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you very much for your positive and pleasant comments. I will be sure to share them with the staff as I do all comments. chad has recently come on board and it is a pleasure to have him. We certainly enjoyed your group as well. We strive to be perfect everyday so it becomes habit. thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Dennis L. Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Northwest
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed on the trip back North to the land of snow. Got the grand kids and friends down to the pool and they were in 1-2 minutes, said it hurt…on checking, the water was super hot and the hot tub cool….advised the barmaid Carla and she said she told maintenance. Positive was Sporting News waitress MaryAnn was super even though she was working multiple shifts due to staffing issues.
It is a beautiful Holiday Inn. Front desk seemed to be staffed with only one person which caused back ups. Room keys failed multiple times. Next morning MaryAnn was back at work rolling to the punches of the breakfast buffet nasties barking that items were low…and moments later they were filled.
We will go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacationpatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We appreciate your comments very much. Upon checking, I did find the pool temerature a bit warm so we adjusted the temps as well as replaced the thermostat to avoid any future problems. I enjoy hearing positive feedback about our staff. Both Marianne and I had filled many shifts due to emergencies from a part of our staff. We insure that the customer is always happy. I am glad you were pleased with your stay.

Sincerely,

Dennis l. Patrick
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I gave a positive review of our stay in this hotel last year, which is why we returned this year. But, our second visit is our last visit and there is a multitude of reasons why; which you will read about below.
This year, we stayed for 3 weeks and experienced considerable problems. No microwave in the room, as was provided last year. We got a very negative response from staff concerning it.
Our "upgraded room" was too far from elevator for guest using a cane, so it was changed to the handicapped room without any compensation. There was no shower chair in handicapped bathroom. We had to request it and then had to wait for staff to hunt for it, before it was brought to our room.
The mini refrigerator's setting was too cold, which ended up freezing the salads and other perishables that we had purchased. There were no instructions on the unit to tell us how to adjust the temperature setting and no controls inside of the refrigerator itself. We had to wait for a maintenance man to come up to our room to figure it out himself. He pulled the entire refrigerator out of the cabinet and guessed where to set the lever, because he could not see the controls in the rear of the unit. No compensation on the loss of food was forthcoming. Communication between the staff who do the work and the management is extremely poor.
General lack of response from staff concerning signage for malfunctioning door handle near pool area by the rear parking lot; which is a heavily traffic area. It only operated in the up, not the traditional down, position. Finally, after our repeated complaints. a sign was posted, but, it only remained on the door for 2 days. Even after further notification, another one was not put up on the door. The door handle was never repaired during our entire stay.
Missing clock in pool area was due to kids playing with football in pool area. They broke it and one of the four lighted exit signs. We notified front staff of it immediately. It took over a week to replace the battery operated clock, even after several questions about it from us. We relied on the clock to do our pool exercises.
There were many problems with the contracted pool maintenance service company. He was spraying chemicals while a guest with respiratory problems was using the pool. Contracted worker did not know if the chemicals that he was using would cause a health problem. He dipped his rag into the pool during this service; contaminating the water with the unknown chemicals. This maintenance work greatly reduced the water level in the pool by nearly half, which took several hours to bring up to proper level and temperature. It was conducted during pool hours while people were swimming. No sign warning of pool cleaning. Foam chemicals hardened under the waterfall and remained there until we checked out, nearly 1 week later.
Thermometers in pool and hot tub were broken and not replaced. Soil that was blown into pool when doors were open was not vacuumed during the maintenance service. It remained in same location for our entire stay. Filters did not work to clear it out of pool. Many days there were no towels on the shelves or a basket in pool area.
One day, we went to restaurant at 11:02 am for breakfast. We were told that the grill had been changed to lunch at 11:00 am. Signage indicated that breakfast was until 11:00 and lunch at 11:00 a.m. We were the only people in the restaurant at the time. We left because there were no accommodations made for us. Chef could have used a pan to cook our omelets, not the grill. We never ate in the restaurant again, as we had done last year.
Our maid service was too early in the day, 9:00 am. every day. We are on vacation! We made up our own room and conserved water by reusing towels. The two tiny recycle trashcans are the only trashcans in the bedroom and bathroom. They are a joke! They are too small and overflowed on a daily basis. We used plastic grocery bags for our trash and disposed of them ourselves! There was no regular size trashcan in the entire facility. The large one outside was overflowing too. After one week, our toilet clogged up. We waited for staff, which took over 3 hours and 2 calls. We wanted to go out instead of waiting in the room. We called after 2 hours and were told that we would have "immediate service"; another hour passed. When the maintenance man finally came to our room, he came empty handed and didn't know what our problem was. Then, he came back with a toilet brush instead of a plunger. Which meant another time delay. Our day was wasted! We saw workmen, usually in pairs, wandering around the lobby all the time, but, no one was ever working!
We received a message on our telephone, but couldn't clear the flashing light. Staff said that they would clear it, but, it didn't work. After several days of complaining, someone suggested pulling the plug out of the wall and reattaching it; which did work. It is hard to sleep with a flashing red light all night long!
We spent several thousands of dollars for our room during our 3 week stay. We told staff of our complaints throughout our entire stay and when we checked out. There was no response from management to address our concerns; not only for ourselves, but, for other guests and their business' bottom line, until I wrote a feedback on their survey site. Then, there was a lot of apologies, but, no compensation offered. As a result of all of these problems, we are not planning to return next year!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle trashcans should be for those items only, not as the only trashcan in the bedroom and bathroom. Conservation of water by reusing towels is a good practice.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your response. As my last letter mentioned I apologize for any inconvenience you incurred while staying here. It appears nothing was going right for you. As opposed to addressing everything individually as in my previous email to you, all items addressed have been corrected. Unfortunately, areas of concern that were created by kids that were visting can be ongoing and trying at best if the supervisors do not keep everyone under control. We will try and monitor that as well in the future so as not to interfere with other guests visits. Areas of concern that were handled by a third party company such as the pool and hot tub area have been addressed with the company. The gentleman you were referring to is no longer with that company. Again, I thank you for your comments.


Dennis l. Patrick
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This holiday inn is one of the nicer ones that I have stayed at. The location isn't great but it is okay. It is very close to the airport and like 5 minutes away from university parkway. The rooms are clean and have updated furnishings. The gym is really really nice for a hotel. The wifi sucks. I couldn't stream netflix without having to wait for my show to buffer several times. Only suites have microwaves, which I did not like, but at least the rooms have mini fridges. No free breakfast as one can expect from a hotel with a restaurant.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karmiin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your nice comments. We apologize for the internet reception. We have recently installed all new routers on the upper floors, the lowers floors had already been in place. Your area is the send time I have received a note saying it was not satisfactory. We will contact our wifi company and have them check all floors again.

Again, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

Dennis l. patrick, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

All the hotels and bed & breakfast establishments in Sarasota, Florida were busy and expensive, but we finally decided to book a room at the Holiday Inn at the Sarasota Airport and stay one night. It turned out be be a very nice facility, and all the employees we encountered were very gracious and efficient. Although we generally avoid hotels at airports, this one was well soundproofed, and we didn't have any problem with noise from airplanes. The hotel also proved very convenient to the Ringling Museum - which we visited the following day - and the restaurant we went to the night we checked in. Not very many guests had arrived when we checked in around 5:00 pm, but the hotel seemed to be pretty full by the time we returned from dinner around 8:00 o'clock.

Room Tip: We were on the side of the hotel nearest the airport, and we didn't have any problem with noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. I agree that we are off the beaten path so to speak. for quite a few of our guests, they are pleased that we are. There are a few restaurants within the shuttle capabilities of distance on University. If you would return, we would be more than happy to map some out for you.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments.

Sennis l. Patrick, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Newer property, well kept, friendly helpful service. Clean. Full restaurant and bar. Atrium lobby.
Recommend having a car, as its located at the end of the runway a mile from the nearest real road, that still has no facilities. They offer a shuttle that will take you anywhere withing 3 miles. But, the only thing within 3 miles is the airport, maybe the Ringling estate or Powell estate.
Could say that location is excellent, if you're looking for proximity to airport. If you're looking for proximity to sites or restaurants, not so good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphSpoilsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dennisyellowstone, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We take pride in our staff and the property itself. It is a pleasure to serve our guests and keep them happy. You are correct about being a little off the main highways. If you come this way again, we would be happy to map out a fes of the restaurants that are close by. We look forward to your return visit if you come this way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Sarasota / Bradenton Airport
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Sarasota - Bradenton Airport
6.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,025 reviews
9.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
10.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 49 in Sarasota
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
Address: 8009 15th St E, Sarasota, FL 34243-2713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport is a 135 room premier boutique hotel in the heart of Sarasota and Bradenton. Chic, contemporary decor, and an unsurpassed range of amenities, it is ideal for sophisticated business and leisure travelers.The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport Restaurant and Lounge features dining al fresco under the blue skies and exquisite cuisine, deliciously created. The rooms and suites are spacious, state-of-the-art amenities such as 36" flat-panel TV and free Wi-Fi. The Holiday Inn Sarasota Bradenton Airport offers exceptional event facilities for groups of 10 to 200, enjoy convenient access to venues of Sarasota and Bradenton. Relax in our indoor pool or work-out in our fitness facility. Explore the best from golf, shopping at St Armands Circle, restaurants and the beautiful white sandy beaches of Siesta Key, Lido Beach, Longboat Key and Anna Maria Island. Hotel is adjacent to the Sarasota Bradenton International Convention Center and attractions such as: Ringling Museum of Art, Asolo Theatre, VanWezel Performing Arts, & Mote Marine. Located within a few miles of University of South Florida, New College, and Ringling College of Art. Neighboring corporate offices are: Sun Hydraulics, Honeywell, Chris Craft, Pierce Manufacturing, Rectrix Air, Volo Air, Dolphin Aviation, Siemens, and Lockheed Martin. We guarantee you will have an memorable experience, that will meet and exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing