We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience of my life.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Sarasota
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I slept there because I was travelling from Orlando to South and I needed a cheap place. The reviews looked ok so I took it.
First of all, they sold me a room (King bed) that they actually didn't have available, so I was given a two Queen bed room. When I complained about this, the lady at the desk didn't apologize at all, saying instead "don't worry, no surcharge". No surcharge?!? Crazy! Anyway, I didn't say anything because I just wanted to sleep.
There was no bottled water in the vending machine but the lady said I will have founded it in the room's fridge. False. At four o'clock am I was thirsty like hell and I went to the desk asking for a bottle. The man, presumably the owner/manager, was more than rude, replying that he didn't have a bottle of water in the whole inn. He got almost angry at the end, repeating "If I told ya I don't have, I don't have!". I had to go to a gas station to get a stupid bottle of water. Incredible.
The room was quite clean but the A/C was noisy and in the middle of the night my poor girlfriend was bitten repeatedly by a bedbug (see pic). Enough?
The breakfast was poor, but decent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SebastienDiValmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knightsinnsarasota, Webmaster at Knights Inn Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Knights Inn, Sarasota during your recent visit to our area.

We have noted your review and appreciate you for bringing your experience to our notice.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you howsoever.

We have investigated the incidence and have taken corrective steps in improving the guest care and hospitality. The entire hotel staff have been underwent a fresh training in this regard.

We are glad that you liked the cleanliness of the rooms.

Please note that we take our guest reviews with due seriousness. Consider visiting us again and have a new experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

I recently spent two nights at this motel while checking out some local downtown real estate and was pleasantly surprised. No, it's not a Ritz Carlton, and let's face it, it's not even a Holiday Inn, but it was spotless, the king bed was quite comfortable, and the a/c worked great. If you're just looking for a clean comfortable place to lay your head at night you won't find a better value around. Check the rates of nearby lodging and you will see what I mean about value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TravelCat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We recently spent two nights at this motel and were very pleased with the stay. Those looking for elaborate accommodations may not be satisfied but those such as we who are just looking for a clean and comfortable room with good beds and a good television should be pleased. The owner and other staff were available and helpful when needed with the owner being very helpful in trying to correct a problem in claiming Wyndham Rewards Points. The location seemed to be very safe and convenient to both Sarasota and Bradenton. Under the unique circumstances of our visit, we did not partake of the breakfast but it appeared at a glance to be adequate and tasty. We would highly recommend the motel for anyone looking for clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced lodging.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We just need a clean and convenient place for the night when visiting Sarasota Boat Works and this property is perfect It is a Knights Inn, but it's clean! Really! The owner was not very appreciative of the business and this may have been secondary to booking with Wyndham Rewards points. The breakfast is tiny but sufficient.

Room Tip: Expect no extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoughWaterMarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. We chose it because of the price and good reviews it had received and were not disappointed. Our room was a bit run down, but very clean and comfortable. The Keurig coffee maker and bottled water provided were a big plus. Breakfast was fresh. The owners who are always on the premises are friendly and helpful and responsive to requests. The biggest drawback was having to make an illegal U-turn to enter the drive from the other side of Route 41.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paloma94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Stayed one quick night in this motel when going to the Warm Mineral Springs (did not want to stay out in the sticks as wanted to have some night life nearby, but were not willing to pay more than the possible minimum). So this one popped up with good reviews and very nice price.The service in this place was friendly, the location was good (right by the airport and withing 5 min drive from Downtown Sarasota), the room was of a nice size and METICULOUSLY cleaned, the walls in the room and bathroom are recently repaired/painted/refurbished, the bed was very comfortable, the furniture was not new but in a good condition and arrangement of the room in colors and styles was not irritating, everything useful was there in the room: a fridge, a microwave, an iron, a hair dryer, etc (in other words; everything, that you would regularly expect to find in a nice hotel, including complimentary bottled water). The location is not bad at all. The price for all this including a complimentary continental type breakfast was exceptionally good. BUT DO NOT expect to find for this price - a hilton! It is a motel, so the privacy is limited (the door is opening right outside, very thin walls) etc. The only concern was the smoke in the non-smoking rooms. We were offered 2 different rooms to try, and the difference was very small. But this is more the problem with the customers, than with the management. I remember one time we faced the same problem staying in Downtown Hilton in Boston, regardless my husband's H Honers membership, and the booked supposedly non-smoking room, as the hotel was sold out and there was nothing else to offer to us at 10pm when we arrived there. Here, at Knight Inn we turned on air condition and had to open the door for an hour or so and after that it was bearable to sleep at night.
...Somebody mentioned cockroaches. Welcome to Florida! Cockroaches live here outside: they are called "palm bugs". I am sure they won't be able to make it to the ninth floor of a Hilton, but if if the doors of the rooms open outside, there is no surprise at all, you can find one, quickly crawled up through the door. We have terminex service at home every month, sometimes 2-3 times in a month, and occasionally I find one or two "dead bodies" inside the house/garage/patio after the treatment. In many cases in Florida living spaces this is not because of a mess, this is mother nature right at your feet!
There is a swimming pool in this hotel, and I saw kids swimming there. I guess it is fine too, as it looked clean.
As a budget inn it may be called almost exemplary, IF NOT FOR THE SMOKE SMELL.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms might offer more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We would stay in this hotel again when in Sarasota! This small hotel was very comfortable, clean and so convenient to beaches, downtown, island hopping and general sightseeing. The staff was helpful, the beds and pillows were comfy, some remodeling has been done, and the rooms even had Keurig coffee makers, which was a really nice touch! We also appreciated the soft towels on the first night. They offer a continental breakfast if you wish to grab something on the go. If you are looking for a great room at an affordable price, you will not be disappointed with Knights Inn Sarasota.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.6 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#25 of 51 in Sarasota
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Sleep Inn Sarasota
#39 of 51 in Sarasota
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota
#32 of 51 in Sarasota
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lantern Inn & Suites
Lantern Inn & Suites
#31 of 51 in Sarasota
131 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Sarasota
Ramada Sarasota
#36 of 51 in Sarasota
1,122 reviews
9.9 mi away
Quality Inn Sarasota/Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Sarasota

Address: 5340 N Tamiami Trail - US 41, Us 41, Sarasota, FL 34234-2746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £54 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Sarasota 1.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make the most of your trip to the Sunshine State at Knights Inn Sarasota hotel. Conveniently located on Route 41 the Tamiami Trail, our hotel near Sarasota-Bradenton International Airport offers easy access to downtown and beachfront living on Siesta Key. Each morning, get going with free continental breakfast in our lobby, then plan your day from the comfort of your hotel room, complete with free high-speed Internet access, a microwave and refrigerator. Keurig in room coffee machine and in room safe available. Catch some rays in your spare time with a swim in our outdoor pool. Non-smoking accommodations are available, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel in Sarasota, Florida. Tour the campuses at New College of Florida and University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee, just one mile from our Sarasota hotel. Explore the collections at The John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art, take a walk through the exhibits at the Circus Museum or see the display of antique autos at the Sarasota Classic Car Museum, less than five minutes away. Head out on the town and watch a performance at Asolo Repertory Theatre, less than five minutes from our door. If golf is your game, play 18 holes in the Florida sunshine on the tree-lined course at Rolling Green Golf Club, less than 10 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Knights Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Knights Inn
Knights Inn Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing