We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
Ranked #4 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Adults will enjoy this attraction as well. Very educational and fun. There is also a sting ray touch tank.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,969 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,826
    840
    236
    47
    20
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the Magical Mote”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Excellent exhibits, Cavier for sale (made at the Mote) and an organization working hard to save our coral reefs and Ocean species. Highlyt reccommend a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A great education in marine conservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Mote is both a research facility and an aquarium. You can stroll through the aquarium at your leisure. A big plus is the guides and scientists who stand ready to answer your questions and help you understand how what you're seeing is important to the vitality of the oceans and bays. If you time your visit right you might get to see feedings of the sharks, turtles or manatees.

We have toured the aquarium a number of times and we always seem to see something new every time we go. We have also taken Mote's explorer boat ride which tours Sarasota Bay with a guide who explains the ecology of the Bay. They also drop a net and bring up whatever they can catch for close up views and explanations. Then they return the critters to the Bay. Great fun for kids and adults alike.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HowdoSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Much Mote than an Aquarium”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went with two children and they had a ball...worth a visit and extremely kid friendly. Not over priced and not as commercialized as SeaWorld. All you money goes to the reseach or keeping this place open.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fotoman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice rainy day experience in the Sarasota Area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Enjoyed our visit to Mote, we saw the dolphin experience they had with the rescued dolphin, also it was pretty enjoyable to see the giant sea turtles and the shark tank they have, it seems like a upcoming aquarium as well... but the only drawback is during the rain to see the dolphin training area and giant turtles it wasn't part of the main building, but beyond that it was a solid 4.5 out of 5 star experience..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing