We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice to see a manatee”

Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.00*
and up
Wild Myakka Bike Ecotour
More Info
US$49.00*
and up
Mysteries of Native Florida Hike
More Info
US$120.00*
and up
Full-Day Wild Myakka River Kayak plus Bike Ecotour
Ranked #5 of 143 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located at the Mote Marine Laboratory, this is home to a 135,000 gallon outdoor shark tank and many other marine species.
Orangeville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“nice to see a manatee”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nice to see two manatees and a dolphin as well as mangy different fish. The restaurant there was very reasonable in price and the food was very surprising very tasty and fresh. The parking is very limited so it is better to go early on a week day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nihonjin777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,970
    895
    249
    47
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth it for the cuttlefish”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I have a deep love of cuttlefish, so I was thrilled that this little aquarium had so many. We got to watch them for a long time, because there weren't a lot of people at the aquarium. It was nice too, because we found out upon arrival that there is a military discount.
Great little aquarium. I thought it was charming, and the employees were extremely knowledgeable and friendly. As far as staff goes, the staff at this aquarium were by far the most knowledgeable about the fish and sea mammals out of the half dozen aquariums I have been to.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Didi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small but worth it”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The mote is small but they are primarily a research and rehab facility, so your money is put to good use. They have a good selection of sea creatures and the manatees are adorable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank helluvabock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a couple of hours”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We took our children (11 & 9) for the morning. The aquarium is spilt over two sites, one with the aquarium and touch pool, the other with the dolphin, turtles and manatees. The place has a homely feel about it. The volunteer staff were excellent, all very knowledgable and willing to answer questions. The children had a lovely time just looking and learning. A break from roller coasters and continual noise. There is an old fashioned diner area but we didn't stay for lunch. The aquarium is in lovely part of town. Would recommend this a a pleasant way to pass a couple of hours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank LeicesterTiger_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Entertaining as well as educational”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The Mote Marine is a marine educational and research facility. A great place to spend the day for both young and old who are interested in our marine environment. Boat tours of Sarasota Bay's aquacultural environment are available.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mote Marine Laboratory and Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing