We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Allllllmost Heavan”

Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures
Ranked #4 of 87 Tours in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayaking eco tours and rentals
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Allllllmost Heavan”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Did the Lido Key trip. Had a great experience from booking to completion. Alan was our guide and he was outstanding! He really interacted well with the group well. Alan was very knowledgeable and really was able to add a lot of information about the history of the area as well as many of the landmarks we saw. We saw a lot of different birds,conch and sea urchins. We were lucky enough to have a dolphin spend a little time with us as well! We were not lucky enough to see a manatee, however was a little cool yet. Thanks for a great experience Alan!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rdretail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    28
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow! What an awesome kayak trip.”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We had a great Myakka River kayak trip with Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures in the Myakka River State Park. The scenery was outstanding, different varieties of birds were plentiful, and we viewed several alligators up close and personal. This was an outstanding tour, with an excellent guide---Alan, operated by a first rate company. If you want an opportunity to tour the Myakka River away from the crowds in the Park, I highly recommend Almost Heaven. Number of other individuals we encountered on this 4+ hour trip—None.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lido kayak with Almost Heaven”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Although we are longtime residents of Sarasota, it was our first kayak tour of Lido, the estuaries and little islands and mangrove tunnels. We liked our laid-back guide, Andy, who did a good job assessing individuals' abilities and then staying close or giving space accordingly. He had good local knowledge as a native Sarasotan. We saw cormorant, great blue heron, ibis, egret, ospreys in their nests, sea urchins, jellyfish, mullet jumping. It was a fun outing and we plan to go again and request Andy when visitors come.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Closer view of nature”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We did the South Lido Mangrove Tunnel tour. Did not see Manatees, but did see dolphins, osprey, cormorants and herons up close. It's a totally different view from the water. Our guide, Tommy, was knowledgeable and pleasant, and patient with beginners. We were able to see and hold live conch and sea urchins. Would definitely do it again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hold_the_meat_please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Up close and personal”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time on our kayak adventure with our guide Alan from Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures. Definitely consider doing this trip even if you are a beginner or never kayaked. We were able to get right next to a family of manatees that were hanging out in in one of the canals off the bay, great to see them up close! Alan was very good about letting everyone know not to touch or harass them in any way. He gave us information on all the birds and other wildlife we saw in the mangrove tunnels on on the bay. It was a very fun trip and a great way to see the natural world of FL...do it!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank curlync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing