We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”

Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures
Ranked #4 of 82 Tours in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kayaking eco tours and rentals
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Tommy was our wonderful guide on Thurs the 10th! We saw dolphins, a baby dolphin, a manatee, crabs, urchins, cranks, cranes, everything! He educated us about the mangrove tunnels, the birds, the Eco system! We loved it! Thanks so much!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank O4tto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    24
    7
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific guide- great trip”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Alan was an excellent guide,pointed out many things along the way. He was knowledgeable and very pleasant. We saw manate and bottle nose dolphins as well as many fish and birds. The route took us to several different spots to see different scenery and wildlife. I highly recomend this outfit and Alan in particular.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitefield, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“THE HIGH POINT OF OUR TRIP!!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It's been YEARS since I was in a kayak and I wanted to share this experience with my granddaughter. We both had previous kayaking experience. We started with the afternoon Lido Key Mangrove Tunnel Manatee trip. One manatee off in the distance and that was it! The Mangrove tunnels were fascinating and relatively easy to navigate! There were about 10 of us and our guide was very informative.
The next day we did the morning Myakka River Alligator tour. No one else showed up so my granddaughter and I had our own private tour! Despite the cool temps and the BRISK wind it was the perfect kayaking day! NO BUGS! Our guide (Deputy DAWG?!) was a wealth of information and was constantly aware of our capabilities and status into the wind...a spectacular guide! The cold temps kept most of the alligators submerged though we spotted about a dozen!! The fauna was beautiful and the diversity of birds was truly AMAZING!! This trip was both exciting and peaceful at the same time!! I would highly recommend this trip and can't wait to do it again and again! It truly was the high point of our trip!! (I have many spectacular photos of this trip but can't seem to add them!)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Allllllmost Heavan”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Did the Lido Key trip. Had a great experience from booking to completion. Alan was our guide and he was outstanding! He really interacted well with the group well. Alan was very knowledgeable and really was able to add a lot of information about the history of the area as well as many of the landmarks we saw. We saw a lot of different birds,conch and sea urchins. We were lucky enough to have a dolphin spend a little time with us as well! We were not lucky enough to see a manatee, however was a little cool yet. Thanks for a great experience Alan!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rdretail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow! What an awesome kayak trip.”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We had a great Myakka River kayak trip with Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures in the Myakka River State Park. The scenery was outstanding, different varieties of birds were plentiful, and we viewed several alligators up close and personal. This was an outstanding tour, with an excellent guide---Alan, operated by a first rate company. If you want an opportunity to tour the Myakka River away from the crowds in the Park, I highly recommend Almost Heaven. Number of other individuals we encountered on this 4+ hour trip—None.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Almost Heaven Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing