We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great organization enthusiastic people”
Review of Save Our Seabirds

Save Our Seabirds
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.00*
and up
Sarasota Bayfront Kayaking with Optional Selby Garden Tour
Ranked #25 of 143 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bird rescue, rehabilitation, and release. Birds that are not releasable are given permanent homes in our Wild Bird Learning Center, where you can see up to 250 birds of 30 different species up close and personal every day. Family Friendly Pricing of $6 for adults, $4 for children age 4 to 12. Educational tours available upon prior request. (Former site of Pelican Man Bird Sanctuary)
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great organization enthusiastic people”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We were looking for something different on our stay and this was it. They have a large variety of rescued birds and the trip is really an education about the birds, why they're there and how they're taken care of. I can't say enough about it. The staff we encountered were more then happy to explain anything to you and were very enthusiastic about their "mission". There are several enclosures and is really a lot larger then it looks on the outside. The cost is $6 adults and $4 for kids..it's worth a look.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NORman0762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    60
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Little place, lots to see!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you go to Mote Marine Lab, be sure to save time to visit Save Our Seabirds, a separate rescue organization right off the sidewalk between Mote's main visitor buildings. It looks small from the outside, but the nice paths meander on for a good ways. Here you'll see not only sea birds, but also owls, hawks, vultures, tropical birds, and more. Most are being treated for injuries and will be released. They do great work there. Interesting for all ages.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Thank You SOS”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Walking along the paths, you can see some amazing birds that one doesn't usually get to see close up. The area is a beautiful haven for both birds that have been rescued, treated, then released back to nature - to the birds who will call SOS their "forever home". It is well maintained and the work that is done here deserves a great deal of praise.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank brokendreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful place.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Right near downtown and worth a visit to see all the good work that's being done, including prosthesis for long-legged birds. A good place for children to learn about the complex relationship between humans and birdlife.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Billie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
289 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Small Place, Nice to see the birds cared for”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We went on a rainy day as the aquarium was packed. It is a small sanctuary but it is nice the birds so close up and there are interesting varieties. The staff and volunteers seem to love what they do and are happy to talk about the birds and the work of the sanctuary. Glad that we stopped in.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tripfoodie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Save Our Seabirds also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Save Our Seabirds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing