We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly bar” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. Beery's

Mr. Beery's
Ranked #398 of 1,026 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: 941-343-2854
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Unfriendly bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We must have caught this place on a bad day because our experience was not positive. We went out of our way to stop here after hearing from a friend that it was listed somewhere as one of the best bars in Florida. We don't live in Sarasota but visit often. When we walked in the place was nearly empty, just a couple of folks at the bar. Even so, it took almost a full ten minutes for the bartender to acknowledge us. We sat and sat waiting to catch his eye! The beer selection was ok, but not great. There was no chit chat (we tried) or even an exchange of names (like another bar in town--where the bartenders not only introduce themselves but REMEMBER your name all night!). We left after one beer and have no plans to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great microbrew beer selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This place has great bartenders, large selection of microbrew beers (motto- no crap on tap) and a pile of menus from local restaurants that deliver to the bar. They are generous to give a sample of a brew you are considering. The infusinator is fun because you can taste a great beer drawn through a fruit or coconut or whatever they have decided to infuse into that beer. There is always one beer on cask. 2 pool tables, BIG screen TV and a lounge rea with couches to just chill. Certain nights the prices are adjusted for ladies or guys or just to help you have a good time for a reasonable price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beer beer and more Beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Heard about this place on Reddit and had to give it a try. Had three beers that were delicious and high alcohol, my favorite. Everyone at the bar seemed to have a good time chatting with each other. If I had someone driving me home, I would of stayed longer!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scorro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Beer Selection and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is always a stop for me when I am in the Sarasota area. The staff is friendly as are all the other patrons. The selection of beer is awesome! "No Crap On Tap" is their motto and they "ain't fooling" ...LOL.
They are located at 2645 Mall Drive Sarasota FL 34231
If you like a quality beer selection try it out. You will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank luckyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Beer + Great Staff = Happy Customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Sorry for the long read, but I have a lot to say. Here's the summed up version:
Great Staff & Owner, Great Atmosphere, Great Location, Great Events, Great Prices and Specials, and Most Importantly GREAT Craft Beer.

More Detailed Version:
If you are looking for warm flat beer, an unhappy staff, an unpleasant atmosphere, or Natural Light, Mr.Beery's is NOT the place for you.

Here is why I think Mr.Beery's is amazing...
Staff: Not one complaint. Every single person on staff is knowledgeable, friendly, personable, and alert. You won't have to wait 20minutes for a refill.

Beer: Always have a wide variety of wonderful cold craft beer on tap and in bottles, as well as an Infusinator with uniquely & delicious thought out combinations. I love the seasonal beer selections they have as well. Indecisive? So am I, which is why I like the fact they will let you taste the beer before you decide.

Great laid back atmosphere and friendly people. They also have 2 pool tables, ski ball, pacman, numerous TV's and giant Jenga. Go there thirsty and leave there drunk Monday nights with their $15 Unlimited Draft special til Midnight.

No, Mr.Beery's does not serve food but that's A-Okay considering their Gulf Gate location. Ask for their menu book that has a wide variety of options, including places that will deliver right to the bar. Or, just visit HH DD next store.

If you appreciate the taste of a nice cold beer, then a visit to Mr.Beery's is a must :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. Beery's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Mr. Beery's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing