We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

O'Leary's Tiki Bar & Grill
Ranked #112 of 1,038 Restaurants in Sarasota
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Gainesville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I may go back for a drink but not to eat. The location is outstanding but the food was just so so and not cheap even if the portions are fairly large. Someone has to pay to have such a beautiful view of the bay. The staff was friendly. This is a sit down restaurant but you have to order the food at the counter and they call you when it's ready. If you happen to order an appetizer, it will come with the rest of the food and not first like it's supposed to be. Dogs are welcome if you sit outside and they had very good live music when we were there. Overall I would tell people to go there because the atmosphere is amazing but don't expect to eat high quality food. FYI We order nachos for appetizer, I had the grilled jumbo shrimp, my husband had the philly cheese steak, my son had the chili dog and my daughter had a cheeseburger.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    194
    61
    22
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siesta Key, Florida, United States
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location and view for mediocre food”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Located on Sarasota Bay, there isn't a better location to have a nice cocktail. The food is basically an expensive snack bar.

We only eat here if we have to. Eg. returning from a long boat trip and passed the meal window. Or let the kids play at the park a little longer, need emergency child friendly food. We never say "let's go to O'Leary's for food".

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SK_living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatton, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great environment!”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Our last night on Lido Key and we chose to try O'Leary's ... We have been coming to Lido Key for ten years now and never stopped here! A nice drive and the atmosphere was very nice....sitting at Marina Jack enjoying the sunset! My daughter and her friend had the fish and chips and said it was the best they had on this trip! I ordered a sandwich which was good ... A little disappointed in the salad, but oh well ... Great prices, music, and view ... Don't leave your food unattended because the birds are sure to snatch it up!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great spot for drinks”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Right on the water with good outdoor seating. Live music on Friday nights. The food didn't look that great but the drinks were cold and the band was great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank honestreviews1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great happy hour spot”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Loved the atmosphere-friendly ppl- playground for kids!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cindy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Leary's Tiki Bar & Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to O'Leary's Tiki Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing