We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day at Egmont Key”

Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans are luxurious passenger sailing catamarans, providing "The Perfect Getaway", including Romantic Sunset Sails, Dolphin Watches, Egmont Key Adventures, Combination Kayaking / Nature Sails, Private & Corporate Charters, Ash Scattering Memorials and Special Event / Wedding Sails. Sailing from 4 locations: downtown Sarasota / Siesta Key, Longboat Key & Anna Maria Island, Florida (year round) and Sandy Hook, New Jersey (June-September).
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We sailed with Captain Kasey on Friday, May 23rd. What a wonderful day. Large catamaran but small groups makes for excellent experience. Very relaxing day. A must do on Anna Maria Island.

Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathleenD3, Owner at Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Egmont Key Excursion from Anna Maria Island. Our sister ship Kathleen M runs an equivalent trip from downtown Sarasota- named, "Big Pass Adventure". Both Egmont and Big Pass feature sailing, swimming, snorkeling, shelling, beach and kayaking activities and include a picnic lunch!
At $89 per person for adults and $79 for kids we think these 1/2 day trips are a great value and have become our favorite daytime sails! What a way to experience the "real Florida"! New for this year we carry Kayaks onboard AND we can now take up to 11 guests per boat for Private trips as well as our usual 6 person maximum for mixed groups.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 80 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had an awesome time on the dolphin sail with Captain Kit. He was so nice, had a great personality, and was full of information on what we were seeing. When we saw dolphins, he would turn the boat around and we would go back and see them again. It was so peaceful and just a wonderful experience for the family. Love, love, love sailing anyway!

Thank tarabellacab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathleenD3, Owner at Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for the nice review. I will pass along your feedback to Capt. Kit. We usually have good luck finding dolphins from both our Sarasota and Anna Maria Island locations. After you spend enough time out on the bay you even get to where you recognize the different dolphins! We have some pet names for them in fact. We hope to see you again on board one of our sailing cats either in Florida or at the Jersey Shore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

If you want a fabulous evening cruise join Captain Casey for the sunset cruise. They are out of Anna Maria Island, Holmes Beach. We have had a marvelous time in Florida but this was the highlight of our week! We saw dolphins, a gorgeous sunset, and a full moon. Casey gave me quite a few tips about sailing - what fun. Met his wife Melissa, she is charming. When we were driving back to our condo, all we could talk about was what a terrific time we had. I plan to return in a few months with my husband and take the five hour cruise.

Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathleenD3, Owner at Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

We are always pleased to hear from our customers. Thanks to our choice of boats, locations and most importantly- our staff- we feel we offer the best excursion chartering to be found along the Sun Coast of Florida and the Jersey Shore! When it is all said and done- people make the difference, not weather, machines and locations. So your kind words will be passed along to Capt. Casey and Melissa and we will continue to offer the best chartering services at reasonable prices to enhance our customers holiday travels and on the water recreation! Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

A beautiful way to see the sunset in Sarasota Bay. We took the Kathleen D catamaran cruise with captain Kit and had a fabulous time! Pretty calm for the first half of the cruise, but the wind picked up around sunset and the trip back in the dark was really fun and romantic. The boat is very clean and well maintained and. Kit is the perfect host. The only annoyance was finding the boat as they are no longer docked at the location described on the website- had to run all over Marina Jack until we found them

1  Thank Rob50rph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathleenD3, Owner at Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our sailing charter services from our Marina Jack location onboard the Kathleen M. I noted your reference to unclear information on our website and I will review that information for accuracy and correct / modify it for clarity.
We often hear that the sunsets on the Gulf are terrific but that the trip back into downtown Sarasota is even better. Sarasota is a beautiful city- especially from the water and especially at twilight! Thanks again for sharing your experiences with Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We asked if we could could take a sailing lesson with emphasis on sailing a catamaran vs a monohull. This company organized a 5 hours sail which more than met our expectations. Our captain George was an excellent teacher and coach. He gave us many tips when sailing a catamaran which will be very useful for our future sails.

We highly recommend Kathleen sailing catamarans for anyone who loves being on the water!

Thank wquist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KathleenD3, Owner at Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thanks for your nice words. It is in fact our alter ego- being sailing instructors through our sailing school component- Tracey School. We are an ASA affiliated sailing school- the world leader in organized sailing instruction! We always enjoy seeing our customers master the sport. Welcome aboard and leave the driving to us- or not!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Kathleen D Sailing Catamarans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing