We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude is an understatement”

LeBarge Tropical Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come join us aboard LeBarge, a Sarasota landmark for 30 plus years. Our casual laid-back atmosphere is enhanced by our tropical decor and yes, the palm trees are real. Let the mermaids lead the way through the tranquil waters of Sarasota Bay. We offer you a full menu of cruises, each totally different: the morning Dolphin & Manatee Watch Cruise, afternoon Sightseeing & Nature Cruise, and the world-renowned Tropical Sunset Cruise with live entertainment. All cruises feature a full bar and light food menu. In addition to our regular cruises, LeBarge offers Private Charters, the perfect venue for weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, office parties, reunions and even the occasional burial at sea. No vacation in paradise is complete without time spent on Sarasota Bay aboard LeBarge, Sarasota's tropical cruise experience.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude is an understatement”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Booked by phone 2 days in advance for my birthday with 4 other people for a morning cruise. Turned up 15 minutes early to be greeted by a very rude women (pit bull chewing a wasp is the best way to describe) to be told WAIT until 10:30 to board. Sat in the morning sun for 15 minutes to then approach this vile lady again to be told to wait longer ! Asked a senior lady what was going on to be told they are waiting to see if others turn up to fill the cruise before the let anyone on ! On this we told them we no longer wanted to go as the service was so bad. Vile lady shrugged her shoulders and senior lady looked shocked. Get used to it LaBarge, you are rude money grabbing unprofessional people and it seems most reviews back this up. STAY WELL AWAY, IVE WARNED YOU ! Ps the vile lady will struggle to find employment when this ship sails no more.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bert1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    99
    30
    15
    17
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sunset Cruise!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

A Great Experience on this boat with Palm Trees, Live Band and two Bars providing Cocktails to Enjoy as you Cruise around the Gulf of Mexico!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Technical Knowledge from Mote Aquarium Excellent”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We called for reservations & information for the Dolphin Watch Cruise on a weekday, earlier that same day. That didn't matter because we still had to stand in a long line in the hot sun to pay. We had a $2 discount coupon, which was completely ignored by the cashier. She even stapled it to the receipt! When she handed it to the next employee with our credit card, she ignored it and we were charged $50 for 2 people; instead of $48. When I brought it to her attention, she told me that we had a $2 credit for food aboard the ship, instead of cash back.
The technical knowledge that I learned from the Mote Aquarium naturalist/marine biologist was excellent information about dolphins and manatees. We couldn't see her demonstration materials because the person that I was has a mobility impairement and couldn't climb the steep steps to the upper deck. No accommodation was made for us on the main floor.
I was greatly disappointed that we only saw the top portion of one dolphin and manatee from the main deck. People ran from one side of the deck to the other, blocking our view from our table. If it wasn't on our side, we didn't get to see it. If you don't see at least one, they guarantee a free second chance. Which is nice, but impractical when you are on vacation and a tight schedule.
I would not recommend this company based on our experiences. They seem to like having a long line, probably to generate more foot traffic interest, instead of letting us aboard when we arrived. When we were inside the barge, the staff had not used our waiting time effectively. The toilet paper needed to be replaced immediately in the tiny bathroom aboard. There were a lot of staff, but, the barge was not fully prepared for visitors, especially ones with any disabilities. They prepared hot food, but, with limited equipment, it took a long time to be served.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Easy way to get out and enjoy the water”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We took two houseguests (in their 70's) out for the 2:00 trip. We all loved it! The "cruise" was well-narrated with information about Sarasota history and natural surroundings but wasn't intrusive to the enjoyment of the views and sounds of the bay. Looking at the homes and tropical foliage was enjoyable. After all, Sarasota is as much about the beauty of the waterfront real estate as it is about the weather and the beaches. This was a perfect Sarasota outing for folks who would not otherwise be able to access the water in other ways. I've read that the drinks were expensive - we got a draft beer and a bloody mary for $8. ((and yes, there was alcohol in the BM). It is possible that they may hike the prices up for the sunset cruise.....
Only caveat - the stairways up to the top deck are very steep and take some manuvering if you are not used to this type of activity. We will definately take guests on this cruise again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
358 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“cant bat the value”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Went on the sightseeing cruise with my wife and son, had a blast. For only 25 dollars a person ,you get and informative tour of Sarasota Bay and the surrounding islands. The trip around Bird Key is simply amazing. The properties are incredible. As a bonus this trip we even spotted a manatee and a few dolphins. The tour guide is fantastic. If you choose to indulge in a libation they are reasonably priced. Outstanding value, many repeat custumers,including myself.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed LeBarge Tropical Cruises also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to LeBarge Tropical Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing