We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent spring training park of the Baltimore Orioles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ed Smith Stadium

Ed Smith Stadium
Ranked #9 of 138 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent spring training park of the Baltimore Orioles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Plan on a great day at this relatively new park. They started off by giving out folding mini lounge chairs with the Orioles logo to hold your cell phone. Cute! Customer service was phenomenal. Very friendly. Great seats from all locations. Be sure to find the outdoor grill behind left field. BEST hamburgers we've had at ANY ballpark! That's where the kids go to get balls from the players before the game. Many different types of beers. Easy to get to and to park. I've been spoiled! Can't wait to come back for another game!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianeT418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    110
    16
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spring Training at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just go. It is intimate and well tended, the beer is cold, the Sarasota weather is almost perfect and there is nothing like spring baseball.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Staff & Management "Snotty" & Uncaring”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

The people the Baltimore Orioles have hired to run their Sarasota operation need lessons in how to treat customers. From the top down the organization is snobbish and really full of themselves.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Taj Mahal of Ball Parks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is our second year in Florida for Spring Training. We are Pittsburgh Pirates fans, but, now have a new policy this year to only attend games at the Ed Smith Stadium, due to our bad experience last year at the Bradenton Ball Park, McKechnie Field, which is the home of the Pirates and only miles from each other!
We think that the policies of the Ed Smith Stadium are far superior than McKechnie Field. At Ed Smith Stadium, persons with mobility problems are able to be let out of their cars at the gate; either left, middle or right,of the stadium, that is closest to their seats. There are elevators in each section. We had to enter at the main gate of McKechnie and walk 3/4 way around to our seats that were in the sun without any shade and up steps.
The seats that we get at Ed Smith are the last row that are shaded by an overhang and a nice breeze.
The food options at Ed Smith are incredibly varied from the traditional artery clogging fried foods to our choice of more healthy food such as seafood and salads.
There is an entire section, in front of Ed Smith Stadium that is designated for Handicapped Parking. That doesn't exist at McKechnie Field.
At Ed Smith, all of the staff are friendly and informative. We are treated like kings and queens; as is fitting for the Taj Mahal of ball parks!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stadium is in pristine condition with great views from all spots. Good ballpark food from friendly staff, genuinely interested in baseball and the fan experience. Beer selection was diverse. Parking and drive to stadium was really easy. Great experience and look forward to our next trip to see the O's.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ed Smith Stadium also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Ed Smith Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing