We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would do it again!!”

Bay & Gulf Adventures
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bay and Gulf adventures is a Sarasota kayaking tour and rental company, offering ecological education and exploration in a fun and entertaining environment for all ages. Explore the hidden treasures of Sarasota’s Lido Key, Mangrove Tunnels, Longboat Key, Siesta Key, Myakka State Park, and The Jim Neville Preserve only accessible through one our unique kayaking tours. Click on a tour for more information.
Saint Joseph
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“I would do it again!!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Groups are small. Allows for great interaction, discussion and learning. Scott has an extensive knowledge base of the area and the aquatic life. He showed us all manner of things from manatees to invasive jelly fish. Learned a lot while with him in a manner I will definitely retain. His desire to protect the marine animals was awesome. Beautiful waters, awesome mangrove tunnels. I'd do it again in a heart beat!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cara N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, IL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect day...”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

While our daughter and her teen ages boys were visiting, we decided to do a kayak tour with Scott Whitehead, owner of Bay & Gulf Adventures. What a great experience for all of us! He is most knowledgable of the wildlife, flora and fauna of the area, and provided a wonderful learning experience. It's obvious that he loves what he's doing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AAFlyerRet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nome, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful tour”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Spent several lovely hours on the water with Scott. He's a naturalist, as well as the owner operator of his kayak business. He's got a lot of first hand knowledge of the area, and shares information about the wildlife and the history of the area. Great small tour and respect for the wildlife. Do it, you won't be disappointed!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ladefilippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lido Key - December 28th 2013”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was the best part of our week in Florida. Scott is an excellent tour guide, he is immensely knowledgeable of the surrounding ecosystem, it's history and inhabitants. Our small group size provided a phenomenal kayaking experience as we were able to learn and interact. We will be sure to check out the Myakka River tour the next time we visit. We would highly recommend this to anyone interesting in kayaking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Kayaking”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our family had the pleasure of touring South Lido in kayaks with Scott. Scott has lived in the area 23 years and worked at Mote Aquarium for several years. He had an incredible amount of knowledge about nature and historical information about the area. Scott will share as much with you as you want to learn. He allowed our children to experience nature in a very hands-on way. This was definitely a highlight of our time in Sarasota! The mangrove tunnels are unique and well-worth navigating. Give Scott a call and experience nature up close!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bay & Gulf Adventures also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bay & Gulf Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing