We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Favorite Florida Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My Favorite Florida Place”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is my sixth time here. Rooms are comfortable, with kitchens. SEperate owners so each is different. 50 ft to the Gulf. The place is well maintaained. The staff is excellent, everyone is there to help and make your stay nicer!!!

Room Tip: 300 rooms are close to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Gulf Beach. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and continue to return to vacation with us. We strive to make each guest's time with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We look forward seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    96
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
75
88
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dimondale
1 review
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The best I can say is the beach and pool are very nice, and the housekeeping staff were pleasant when exchanging towels.

We had reserved unit 318 after checking the internet pictures and felt it best suited our needs. On our way driving down to Sarasota we received a call from the motel that our reserved unit had a water issue and we needed to change units. Being that we would be coming in near to the closing time we wouldn't be able to check out the other units so we told the person calling to give us the nicest unit among the ones available. We were assigned unit 315. The unit itself was decorated nicely but the most important items were neglected. The shower door was so badly aligned that you couldn't shut it properly, and a bathroom towel bar was nearly bent in half. The floor needed to be mopped and the mop boards were chipped and in need of paint. The can opener was so rusted that the health department would have had a stroke. One of the chairs at the table was lopsided and uncomfortable to use. The table leaf was unable to use because the hold was broken. Some of the frying pans were so bad they should have been tossed. No luggage holders so had to put suitcases on floor. It seems that no one inventories items that need fixing or to be replaced.

Being that we were tired after a 2 day drive and had hauled up to the second floor all our gear and groceries we decided to make the best of it Early Monday morning we heard banging, power tools, tearing down walls and constant workmen walking past our unit looking in the windows on their way to unit 314 next door. They were plumbers and we assumed that they were taking care of the water issue of 318 and for some reason needed to do it in 314. There wasn't any work being done in 318, only next to us in 314. We figured it would be done in a day. How wrong we were, they never informed us that the unknown water or sewer issue would take all week. Thank God we were leaving Saturday morning because on Friday it became the last straw so to speak. When my son went to the office to get a cup of coffee he was told that the water was going to be turned off in 15 minutes. We had to leave as a medical condition necessitates the use of a restroom.

When we returned later in the afternoon the water was on but cleanup was still going on in the unit next door by motel staff. A worker tried to enter our room without knocking. He apologized and said he thought we were gone. He needed to check a circuit breaker behind our refrigerator but none was there. Said he must have the wrong room. No one should enter a unit without permission. We kept a Do Not Disturb sign out all week, and only exchanged towels with housekeeping in person.

Upon checking out we told the person of the issues with the unit and that they should never have moved people to a unit next to an all week work repair. We never saw a manger the entire week and the person checking us out only said they could have replaced the can opener and will tell the owner the rest. It seems staff unable to do anything but take your money.

Lastly, there is a safety sight issue with foliage obstructing view when pulling out of drive unto busy street.

Room Tip: not 315 untill they fix all issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosaline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
I would like to apologize for the fact that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, plumbing issues that are beyond our control do come up and we do our best to have repairs done in a timely manner with the least amount of inconvenience and disruption to our guests. Had we known that you were unhappy with your accommodation we would have been more than happy to offer you some alternatives, however, we were not made aware of your concerns until you checked out at the end of your six day stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed New Years weekend, after checking out of another resort. Weather was great, the beach was very nice & clean, sunsets are just breath taking there were plenty chairs to use. (the other resort we were staying at the chairs could not be moved to beach area) I love the downstairs rooms, screened in patio just steps from the beach. Rooms were nice, but the unit we stayed in could have used some updating. The other units had very cute, homey decor. We would return again but would request another unit.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We strive to make every guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I would have to agree with you that our sunsets are absolutely breathtaking. It is quite a tradition here for guests to gather on the beach every evening to enjoy them. I look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Västerås
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The perfect place to go when you wish to be close to the beach but also close to dining and shopping. Every unit is privatly owned and thereby each room has an individual style which makes is easier for everyone to find "your" room. We had a room on the second floor, the room was very nice and cosy with a full kitchen so we could cook our own meals.... when we wanted to. You are right on the beach with plenty of sunchairs and with a wonderful view of the sunset every evening .... there is really no need to go to Key West for the sunset view.

The staff at Gulf Beach resort are really great, very helpful and quick to assist if you have any problems. The atmosphere is really great and you feel like you are home. We will definetly be returning here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write some comments about your stay at Gulf Beach. Our goal is to make guests feel as comfortable as if they were at home. The restaurants and shops at St. Armand's Circle are unique and welcoming as well and within walking distance of Gulf Beach. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having return to vacation with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Stayed 1 night while traveling through. Wanted something on the beach to watch sunset, which is totally worth it. Room was okay. All rooms are different as they are actually owned by individuals and rented through the property. When we arrived, we were able to take a look at several rooms that were available before we decided on one. Our room had small kitchen with everything you would need if you were staying for a week. Bathroom was small. Bed was decent.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenrose80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort. I am so glad you found us during your travels. Because our units are individually owned we like to offer guests options as to which room best suits their needs. Most of our units do have fully equipped kitchens which our guests have found to be convenient for everything from quick and casual meals to family dinners. I look forward to having you return to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This is a little gem tuck away...Best Kept secret. A friend introduced me to this place and I have been going back every year since 2005. Rates are great- small and quaint... A place where everyone knows your name..clean rooms, friendly service and close to Armand's Circle and shops.

Room Tip: Choose 102 and 103 for the fenced rear yard- for your private reunions. I love Bldge 100 and 200...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgarcia769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 31 December 2011
I am so glad to hear that you decided to follow your friend's recommendation and vacation with us. We strive to make everyone's experience at Gulf Beach a friendly and welcoming one. Since our property is right on the Gulf of Mexico every unit is just steps away from our beautiful white sand beach. A lot of our guests tend to have their favorite units and I can certainly understand why you like the ones you do. We're looking forward to having you return to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
394 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

We loved the resort with it's old-style feeling. We prefer those low-rise buildings to an anonynmous condo unit. It's located right on a beautiful beach with it's own beach chairs and a tiky-hut if you prefer shadow. It's near to everything on Lido Beach. The resort is very clean and well kept and the staff was very friendly and helpfull. You have internet (sometimes shaky however) on the whole property.
The units are individually owned and decorated, so you can get lucky or not in what you get. We choose unit 305 from the photos on the website. It however looks much nicer on the photos. The description says "beautifully decorated studio appartment", but the decoration was mainly kitsch and the place was literally filled up with it - no space left for putting down your personal stuff. Even the closet was full of old not used furniture. The coach in the small alcove between the closet and the bathroom had an extremly unpleasant smell to it which got worse once the AC was turned off and it became more humid in the unit, so bad that you could not sit on it or place clothes or anything there without fearing that it may smell the same afterwards. The maximum occupancy says 4 persons, but there is really just enough space for two. We have been cooking in and the only table for having dinner is on the front porch (with two of the three chairs broken) - which was ok for us once we had stored away the kitsch to make room for the dishes - but one evening is was so cold that we had to move the table inside and it was really tight then. The kitchen is working well, even if it is not extremly practical without a ventilation and with the cooking rings just below a kitchen cabinet, so that the condensate from cooking drops down into your pan. To complete the kitsch, even the glasses and dishware are extremly fancy and with colorful decoratation - no way you can serve a nice dish this way.
That said, we would recommend the resort by itself and certainly will return, but as certainly we will choose another unit next time.

Room Tip: Groundfloor units have a screened porch, some with nice porch furniture (some less so - pictures are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Gulf Beach. I apologize for any inconveniences you may have had during your stay with us. I have made the individual owner aware of your comments and she and I have made some changes to the unit. The couch has been replaced and the furniture in the closet has been removed. We have also removed some of the excess decorations and made room in some of the kitchen cabinets. We appreciate your input as we strive to make each guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Property: Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Beach Resort Motel Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing