We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & value for being on the beach.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location & value for being on the beach.”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The bathroom is very small and the shower has very poor water pressure, had WiFi connection issues throughout our stay - that being said, staff was very friendly and it was a good value for being right on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phildeslindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We feel that our staff goes above and beyond to make everyone's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    97
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
80
93
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We celebrated my nieces birthday at this location in May 2012. This is one of the oldest motels built on Lido Beach after the war ended in the late 1940's and is now remodeled small condos. It is dated but very clean, right on the Gulf of Mexico and a short drive to St. Armands Circle. They offer a nice swimming pool, barbeque grills and huge tiki hut that can be rented for private parties. Most of the rooms are one bedroom efficiencies but there are a few two bedrooms with full kitchens available. Every room has a nice screened in front porch and lots of picnic tables outside. We rented two rooms that were adjoining which gave us plenty of room and a full kitchen. A nice affordable get-a-way place which we will gladly return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laherr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to return. We quite often have families gather here to celebrate various occasions, birthdays, weddings, family reunions, etc. With most of our units being ground level it makes for easy access to the beach, pool, and barbeque grills. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We love this property. Basic but charming with an incredible location on Lido Key. Extremely friendly and courteous staff. The rooms are basic and privately owned. We've stayed almost annually for the past 8 years. We will continue to travel to this property. We've also stayed at the Ritz Carlton Sarasota (their beach club is a few doors down) - - and prefer this property because of its location. We sacrifice the luxury for the laid-back vibe of this property. Our preference when traveling to Lido Key/Sarasota.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the main level so you have a screened porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denizati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind comments about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We love to see guests return year after year to experience the casual and comfortable ambiance of our special place on Lido Beach. We strive to make each guest's stay as pleasant as possible which is evidenced by the number of people that return to stay with us year after year. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My husband and I were married in May, 2008 on the beach at Gulf Beach Resort. Our wedding party and wedding guests all stayed there for the weekend. All of the rooms rented were clean, cozy and had beach/coastal themes which is just so relaxing. The staff goes all out to do everything possible to make your stay memorable. Since then we go back every year to celebrate our anniversary in May and usually another weekend during the year just to have a mini vacation. Can't wait to go back for a long weekend in August.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
It is always so nice to hear from guests that have shared their special day at Gulf Beach Resort, especially when their families were able to share it with them. We're so glad that you've been able to return every year and celebrate your anniversary at our special place on Lido Beach. Thank you for your kind comments about your experiences at Gulf Beach Resort and we look forward to seeing you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were fortunate enough to find this motel on the gorgeous Lido Key- right on the beach. We loved the rooms ( we stayed in two while we were there because we extended our stay) We loved the pool and the beach and just everything about the place. Our maid was lovely and kept our room clean and tidy and fresh. We loved our little visiter each day (you can see him on the pictures of room 209A)
We would have loved to stay longer, but had to return to dreary old England. Thanks Gulf Beach Resort for a wonderful stay.
Hope we can come back and stay longer next time .....indefinitely please. x

Room Tip: all the rooms looked nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 683DDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
We are so happy you found us and decided to spend your vacation at our special spot on Lido Key. Each of our staff members make every effort to ensure that our guests enjoy their stay and are comfortable during their time with us. We do have a couple of "visitors" that spend time with us almost every day and it was nice that you had the chance to visit with them. We look forward to having you return to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Bed bugs! I'm from Sarasota, and have stayed at this place for a number of years. Very nice rooms, great beach, but the quality of people staying there (ugly, loud, rude walrus, etc.) and the fact that we were bitten every night by flaming red bed bug bites, put a serious 'bite' on our vacation.
Also management could care le$$$
Thanks, but watch it!
NYC

Room Tip: 300 rooms on top are best for view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to emphasize that we do NOT have bed bugs. All of our beds have protective coverings on them as well as regular inspections as preventive measures. Also, we had several families staying here at the same time that you were here and perhaps their level of activity was disruptive to you. A staff member did come out to the property between 10:00 and 11:00 p.m. during your stay and reported that there was barely any outside activity during those times. Every member of our staff goes out of their way to make each guest's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. We also encourage guests, upon check-in, to let us know if there is anything they need during their stay and we make every effort to accommodate their requests. Unfortunately, if someone does have an issue during their stay and does not report it to us until the time of departure, that does not give us the opportunity to rectify the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Old style Motel on Lido Beach, with easy access to St Armand's Circle. Although the place and the rooms are dated, it's still a great value for a family vacation. It felt clean enough, the staff was nice, the pool is clean and well maintained, and the beach access is right there. Definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank usernamenottaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 30 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. Our goal is to make sure that each guest's time with us is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We consider our property to be unique and try to provide a different experience to staying in a chain or high-rise hotel. I hope you will return to vacation with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,425 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
0.1 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Sarasota
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Property: Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Beach Resort Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gulf Beach Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Beach Resort Motel Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing