We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gulf Beach Resort & Motel,Sarasota,Fla.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sarasota
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
toms river
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gulf Beach Resort & Motel,Sarasota,Fla.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Love the area completely! Clean quiet so much too see.gulf has clean rooms clean beaches great location will be goin next yr.again can walk almost to downtown from here or the desk will call you a ride.thanks to Greg for finding us a room for one more nite when we screwed up our reservation on Memorial Day weekend.thanks Sharon&Brian M.
So much to do in walking distance always a breeze from beach especially @ night...gorgeous sunsets...

Room Tip: Restaurants less than ample All rooms were good from what we saw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon_baylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm so happy that we were able to accommodate you for the extra night. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach as well as the other activities that are close by. St. Armand's Circle is a short walking distance from our property and offers a large variety of shopping and dining experiences. The downtown Sarasota area is just minutes away from Lido Key and is easily a short cab ride. It also offers a large selection of unique restaurants and shops. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you return to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    95
    13
    7
    7
See reviews for
74
87
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We checked in on May 30, 2013 in room 113... It was without a doubt the most horrible experience of our life.. Rust, mildew, broken blinds, electrical cords strung out in bedroom and living room.. Tile floor, our feet were filthy after walking on the floor. The patio was rusty, and the lock was broken on our door... Luckily for us, we checked out and I told the person checking us out about how horrible it was, and she said "well our quaint little motel" isnt for everyone" really???? If we could have found somewhere else to stay for that night we would have and it was not for lack of trying. I was also told that lots of people request that particular room.... Ok they can have it. Bed sheets had holes in them....My husband even complained, and he never complains about anything!!! I told her that even with the Fl discount, the room was not worth it!!! She said "so I suppose you want me to take some money off of your room..... " Uh yeah!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BOBBI1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Had we known how displeased you were with the room the night before we would have been more than happy to move you to another room that may have been more to your liking. I went in and inspected the unit after you left and was unable to verify some of your complaints, however, we will continue to strive to keep our rooms in excellent condition. I believe it was mentioned that we are a "unique" property and not to everyone's liking. I also believe that several other hotels in the area were recommended to you that might have been better suited to your needs. I certainly hope that you were able to find other accommodations on our beautiful island that met your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed two nights here on our recent holiday. The location could not be bettered and you are virtually on the beach. The staff we encountered were all friendly and willing to help. The decor in the rooms was a little bit dated but our room was very clean and other than sleeping we didn't spend a lot of time in it. Bit disappointed that there was no tea or coffee in the room. Most of the rooms have outside seating areas behind mesh screens. Presume this is to keep bugs out but it did make the rooms look a bit like cages. The hotel website is great, it has a plan showing all the rooms so you can actually view your room and see where it is prior to booking. Thought this was a nice touch. The gulf beach resort is surrounded by plusher hotels but it all depends what you want to pay. If you are looking for something a bit more basic but in exactly the same location as the, so called plusher resorts, then this place will take some beating and represents excellent value for money.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonnyGrimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I appreciate your positive input about our web site. We have tried to make it informative and easy to navigate. Most people like the privacy our screened porches provide while still having the feeling of being outside. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beach and also take advantage of everything our area has to offer. We are kind of nestled in between the high rise condominiums and hotels, but I think that is what makes us unique. We appreciate your kind comments and look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed five nights at the Gulf Beach Resort and absolutely loved it! As others mentioned, it is so clean! Our condo was decorated very cute and "beachie." The kitchen was well equipped; everything you need!
The beach is steps away and is very nice and clean.
Also, the staff, housekeeping especially, were so gracious and accomodating.
And the price can't be beat.
We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYBoiseID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff take great pride in making everyone's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. A special thank you to you for mentioning our housekeeping staff. Most of our staff has been with us for many years and a guest's comfort is very important to them. Thank you also for mentioning that we do have affordable rates. We strive to make a beach getaway affordable for most everyone. Again, thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We stayed here for our son's wedding...it was great neat and clean! Beach was right outside our room. I love this place go and stay....you will not want to leave we didn't lol. Thanks the Bodtmann family.

Room Tip: Room 103 is were we stayed..it has everything private patio,grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbodt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel and share your experience. We appreciate your kind comments and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.It was a pleasure having your family members and friends stay with us and enjoy your son's wedding. Since our property is right on the water every room is literally just steps away from our private beach. We have many families that have turned their vacations at Gulf Beach into reunions and we certainly hope that you and your family and friends will return to spend time with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurndale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I thought what we paid nightly for a room was great compared to the other hotels we inquired about right around the Gulf Resort. Yes, it is an older-style hotel, but my husband and I, who were staying the weekend in town for a beach wedding, appreciated how clean it was, and our room had all the modern amenities. Full kitchen with dishware, appliances, flat screen, screened in patio. Even had a shelf of books for us to peruse. No parking fees or anything like that. And we were just steps from the beach. The water was beautiful, you could see clear to the bottom through the crystal water, so we didn't even bother getting in the pool. Although the pool looked clean and well maintained, too. Overall, it IS an older motel, but the staff was very friendly, and the place was very clean and well-kept. So I say, no complaints. I thought they couldve gotten away with charging a little more, due to the close proximity to the beach, but I'm so glad they didn't. We will keep coming here when we visit Lido Beach.

Room Tip: We went directly to their website and they had a floor plan laid out that told you the exact price o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danarenaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your visit to Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We also appreciate your comments about the cleanliness and comforts of our rooms. Every member of our staff is committed to making each guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our beautiful beach and some of our other amenities. I hope you enjoyed the wedding and we look forward to having you return to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

First I have to commend the staff of The Gulf Beach Motel. They are all around nice and very helpful from reservation to check out. We found this Motel on Trip Advisor when we were looking for accommodations for our daughters destination wedding on Lido Beach April 2012. Even though the location and price were perfect; we had some concerns about the condition of the rooms as pictures don't get the details. We had people staying in about 14 of the rooms. Each one is different in regards to design and updates. The beds I have been told are replaced every 3 years and all have protective plastic covers. Ours did. the kitchens are very small but do the trick. Some bathrooms only have showers so are smaller than those with tubs (they have that wonderful retro tile work). Water pressure was not a problem. Towels were small and thin but they did dry. Beds were comfortable. Our room was 309 and needed some sprucing up but it served its purpose. The pool was nice. We used the tiki hut for an impromptu pot luck one afternoon. Awesome sunsets, stingrays, screened porches and Rosie, our house keeper. This is a very old structure that has historical designation. There is no one perfect room, they all have a little something that needs attending to. If I had wanted expensive, modern, & bland, I would have made my reservations elsewhere. The Gulf Beach Resort Motel was enjoyed by all of our guests. If you are a picky person ask the staff which room would be best for you. No matter what room you get, you have the nicest beach just outside your door.

Room Tip: they have few connecting rooms that make for a 2 bedroom unit with 2 bathrooms for $156. which is mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It was such a pleasure to have so many of your family members and friends stay with us while attending your daughter's wedding. I appreciate your special recognition of our staff. Each and every member strives to make our guest's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Thank you for mentioning Rosie. She is one of our long time staffers and makes it a personal mission to take care of "her guests". It also sounds as though you were able to enjoy the amenities we have to offer. The Tiki Hut is a perfect place for families to gather and enjoy a meal, or cocktails, especially at sunset. Thank you again for choosing Gulf Beach Resort Motel to be a part of your special occasion and we certainly hope you will return to visit with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Property: Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf Beach Resort Motel Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing