We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really like this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gulf Beach Resort Motel
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I love the location and the low key nature of the motel. It is great to be able to walk out the door right to your car or the beach without having to go through a lobby and pass a lot of people. However, I would NEVER stay in Rm. 109 again. The mattress was terrible. My husband got back aches and I had trouble sleeping. We moved to Rm. 111 and it was SO much nicer for only $10 more. I loved sitting in the sunny screened-in porch in the morning, walking the beach, going to the tiki bar a few hotels over, kayaking in the bayou, walking in the nature parks, and visiting shops and restaurants; Louie's Modern in Sarasota was great and we love Tommy Bahamas at the Circle. We saw two dolphins on the morning we were leaving.

Room Tip: The rooms are all different. Look at pictures on website. Just don't select Rm 109. The mattress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It sounds like you were able to enjoy a lot of the activities that our area offers. There are so many areas for kayaking that people seem to love exploring. Our proximity to St. Armands Circle makes it a popular shopping and dining spot without having to go very far. I am sorry that you had a bad experience with the bed in your unit. We will definitely investigate the condition of the mattress and make every effort to correct the situation. I certainly hope that you will return to visit with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

As advertised, this motel is a throwback to the 60's. Room was small, but super clean. Everything worked. Guests were quiet and friendly. What's great about this place is it's location on the beach. Not across the street, or over a long boardwalk, or behind the dunes. It is right on the beach. Awesome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gribbleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. We love the fact that our guests are so friendly and happy to be here. We've seen a lot of friendships formed among guests that have lasted for many, many years. So much so that they plan their vacations to all be here at the same time. It's also fun for the staff to see people return year after year. One of our best features is that our property is right on the beach. Guests can walk out their door and feel the sand beneath their feet not far from their unit. I appreciate that you chose Gulf Beach Resort as your vacation destination and we look forward to having you return to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here for the second year in a row in the same room. Greg, at the front office, was friendly, efficient and welcoming. The beach was so close and the pool was exquisite. Very clean rooms and maids were so nice. Had dinner at the beach at sunset, truly a memorable experience. Our mattresses were a little lumpy compared to last year so we may try another room next year. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PittsburghLynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our beach and heated pool. We've had some ups and downs in our weather this winter but for the most part we've had plenty of sunshine! I appreciate and thank you for your comments about our staff. Every staff member takes pride in their work and wants to ensure that each guest has an enjoyable and comfortable stay. I have taken note of your comment about the lumpy mattresses and have contacted the owner to have them replaced. We are so glad that you chose to return to stay with us a second time and look forward to many return visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed here three nights in early February. We love hotels that feel like you're stepping back in time and this is a good one! We stayed in apartment/room 310 and while we felt it could use some updating for sure, it was clean! Friendly check in, safe location, convenient parking right outside the rooms, and of course the beautiful beach is mere steps away. We were on the go each day exploring all the the area had to offer, but we did enjoy the beach each morning and for sunsets. We ate at the mexican restaurant in the circle area about a mile away-best fajitas of my life! We also drove to Holmes Beach one night and ate at the Beach Bistro for a celebration dinner. It was amazing too! We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice and were were told it was heated. I can't think of anything negative to say about the property or staff. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again! On second thought, one minor negative thing...If we were there during warmer weather we would have gone in the water or if we had used the pool we would have needed to dry off and no beach towels are provided. You're not permitted to bring your bath towel out of your room. For those who arrive by plane and are packing lightly it is extremely challenging to find room in the suitcase for beach towels. It seems like a minor expense for a beach property to provide towels and could be deemed as a huge inconvenience for some people/families. Otherwise, an awesome stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveturquoisewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It sounds like you were able to enjoy all the activities that our area has to offer. The beach is a great gathering place at sunset and many guests return year after year to connect with people they have met during their stay with us. I appreciate your suggestion about providing beach towels for our guests. We have always tried to keep our rates as affordable as possible and as a result we have chosen not to incur the cost of supplying the beach towels. It is definitely something we re-consider from time to time and we will re-evaluate this particular request again. I would also like to thank you for acknowledging our staff. Every one that works here puts forth their best effort to make each guest's stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we definitely look forward to having you return to visit with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I decided to take our daughters to sun and sand after the several feet of winter snow in Philadelphia had us on the brink of a break down! We booked it by fluke after I was unable to find a place anywhere nearby. I called the Gulf Beach Resort, spoke to Greg and waited while he searched and searched for a room that would accommodate us. Perhaps he took pity on us, but he did a great job! When our flight was cancelled DUE TO SNOW, we called him before we even knew if we would be able to get down to Florida. He left everything set up for us so that, even if we came in after the office was closed, we would be able to get into our room. Planes, trains and automobiles later, we arrived well after midnight but Greg had everything set up for us.
This place is fantastic - unbelievable location, stunning views of the beach and sunset, super clean, super friendly staff, everyone bends over backwards to help and accommodate, herons and osprey walking around like they own the place thank-you-very-much! Condos and timeshares, but rooms available also. Tiki picnic areas, playground, heated pool, beach literally 10 paces from our room, relatively short walk and shorter drive to Lido's center of town. The shops are beautiful, restaurants great. It is like straight out of a movie depicting a 50's-60's era family place. Quiet, relaxing, lovely!
So...below is a break-down of pros and cons:
PROS
- location (stunning)
- Greg and staff SUPER-friendly, knowledgeable and helpful
- affordable and family friendly
- clean, well-maintained
- spacious
- most rooms have kitchenettes for preparing meals
- kayaking, playground, shuffle board, picnic area with grills, heated pool
- Lido close by, great shops and restaurants

CONS
- they do NOT provide beach towels, so bring your own
- Lido's center of town is great but PARKING is a NIGHTMARE (walk or bike if you can)
- restaurants booked months in advance, so make reservations if you want to avoid a wait.
[We ate at the Blue Dolphin Cafe for breakfast several times. Great food, even better staff, loooooong wait. And they fudge it. If they say it is a 20 minute wait, count on 1 1/2 hours, no kidding. Not exaggerating. Or....go early, like 7 am. La Colonne is a nice Italian restaurant: food good, service ok. Crab & Fin: beautiful, GREAT food, pricey but delicious. Service ok.]
- traffic out of Lido is CRAZY! Start out early if leaving the key.

We loved it here! We can't wait to go back. You just don't find charming places like this around anymore. I looked at it and cringed at the thought of a developer coming by and putting in yet another....well, you get the idea.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilaMomma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about Gulf Beach Resort Motel. It sounds like you were good and ready to get out of the horrible weather you had been experiencing in Philadelphia and feel some sunshine and warmth. Even though we have also had some cooler than normal temperatures this winter it normally only stays that way for a few days and then warms right back up again. I appreciate all your kind comments about our staff. Each and every member of our staff puts forth their best effort to make each guest's stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We also try to keep our rates as low as possible in order to allow everyone to enjoy a beach vacation or getaway. The herons and ospreys that you mention have been long time "guests" of Gulf Beach. They like to return from time to time to check in on our returning guests and also to greet and welcome new ones. We work very hard to maintain our historical Florida charm and ambiance and will continue to fight off the attempts by developers to "re-purpose" our property. I am so happy that you found our little place in paradise and look forward to having you return to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We came to Gulf Beach after a long and tiring drive. We immediately relaxed under the care of the desk clerks who are efficient, friendly and laid back. You park your car in front of your room and then get into it by pressing numbers on a lock so there is no key to try to keep track of during your stay.
Our room was cheerfully decorated, very clean, roomy and the kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, toaster, micro wave, glasses, etc. The dishes were so nice, I loved using them each morning for breakfast on the screened-in porch where I could hear and see the surf. Very comfortable bed and a nearby couch that had extra blankets to snuggle into on a cold day (we had several) while reading.
The location is fabulous. You can walk about a mile along the beach in one direction and get to Armand's Circle for shopping and restaurants and incredible sunsets on the walk back. Wow!
If you walk along the beach in the opposite direction, you'll come across a Tikki Bar and then the County Park where there is great bird watching. A guide will take you on a kayak to paddle around looking at wildlife in the little pond area that has so many trees you can't believe there are hotels on the other side of them.
All of this without ever getting back into the car. If you like driving, Sarasota itself is a few easy minutes away.
This is the only place I want to stay when I come back to Florida.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor towards the beach. A friendly egret and Blue Heron stopped at the door each d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marshflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of the kitchen supplies in your room and enjoy them so much. Many of our guests appreciate being able to relax and enjoy their morning coffee and breakfast on the porch. We've also had several guests that have prepared complete family meals in their units! Our keypad entry locks have removed the stress of keeping track of room keys as well. It sounds like you did some exploring while staying with us and were able to enjoy some of our natural habitat as well as the wide variety of shopping and dining options at St. Armand's Circle. Lido Key is a relatively quiet island and is appreciated by those wanting a relaxing and stress-free environment to enjoy a family vacation or a weekend getaway. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you return to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My Husband & visited this lovely place by complete sheer luck a little over 3 yrs. ago & returned there this past Dec. 29th, 2013. We were staying for about 5 days. The hotel manager was so sweet. We had to leave a day earlier because of family difficulties & she refunded a day back( NEVER EVER HAD THIS BEFORE). ALWAYS EXTRA TOWELS , when we asked. This place is just plain, but so clean & friendly & everyone who works there are such good folks. GOD BLESS this lovely place & may God protect it from all storms & evils. CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK! The Mayhew's

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stearn60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GulfBeachMotel, Manager at Gulf Beach Resort Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay and experience at Gulf Beach Resort Motel. I really appreciate all your kind comments about our property and our staff. We make every effort to ensure that each guest has an enjoyable and comfortable stay. I'm thankful that you were lucky to find us a few years ago and am grateful that you returned to stay with us again. Thank you for your blessings and we look forward to you returning to visit with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.6 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 51 in Sarasota
711 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Beach Resort Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Beach Resort Motel

Address: 930 Benjamin Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: £103 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Beach Resort Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. Private beach and heated pool. Most units have fully equipped kitchens and private screened in porches. Each unit is uniquely decorated and we offer a variety of choices to suit your needs. We are within walking distance of renowned St. Armand's Circle shopping and restaurant district. We are the perfect place for family and class reunions, weddings, family vacations or just to get away for some special time with each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Gulf Beach Resort Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Beach Resort Motel Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing