We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good deal for the price”

Bobby Jones Golf Complex
Ranked #46 of 112 Outdoor Activities in Sarasota
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Large sport facility offering 35 holes of championship golf: American Course, British Course and Gillespie Executive Course.
Dorval, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good deal for the price”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I went golfing with my 14 year old son today (July 22nd). We showed up without a tee time and we were quickly accommodated with a start. We rented clubs. The clubs were above average quality a good enough for the day. We played the 18 holes pretty much alone. The course is in good shape and I a great deal for the price. I would go back any time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Corbeau140767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BobbyJonesGC, Manager at Bobby Jones Golf Complex, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your positive remarks and we are glad you enjoyed your day at Bobby Jones G.C. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    15
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Customer Service in the World”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Me and my buddies went golfing at Bobby Jones and had the absolute worst golfing experience ever. After they told us we could golf in our group the bobby jones staff members decided while we in the middle of our golf game that our group was too big. We would have happily separated our group into two groups to accommodate their rules had they told us before we started. Instead they came over to us and started yelling at us. The most notable of these staff members was a man who's last name was [---]. [---] needs to be fired as soon as possible because of his lack of respect for the customers. He literally told a very nice respectable young man whom is my friend to "Shut-up!". We payed for 18 holes and they tried to get us to skip 3 holes. Not to mention their tee boxes were basically dirt and half of their greens are used for multiple holes. They are disrespectful and overpriced. Whatever you do never golf at Bobby Jones Golf Complex in Sarasota Florida. If I could give them 0 stars I would. BEYOND TERRIBLE.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't beat the price!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Played the British course and was very please with the condition for the price. Tees were in good shape, fairways were great to hit off of, and the greens were rolling true. Few greens had some spots that showed some wear and tear, but the course has a lot of play. The "some like it hot" special they offer during the hottest part of the day is only $18 bucks! Can't play anywhere else in Sarasota for a dollar a hole! Pace was good, played in under 4 hours and we were a foursome. I was surprised to see their Golf Shop has a lot to offer and actually has better prices than the retail stores. Who knew?? If you are looking to play golf on a budget, I would recommend Bobby Jones.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfManiac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sadly. Gone are the days at Bobby Jones GC.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

After not having played this course for a couple of years, we were disapponted to see what has become of what used to be an enjoyable experience. After the management shakeup several years ago, there was an upsurge in the overall quality, but this seems to have been the result of the "new broom sweeping clean." The once comfortable general feeling of the place seems gone. Phone contact with the pro shop is now over the switchboard of the city with the inevitable "call may be monitored bla bla bla..." What? My call to the pro shop? Come on! Staff in the pro shop friendly and helpful, but the starter self-righteously made us wait until exactly our tee time, even though there were no other players and the first fairway was unoccupied. Many greens in deplorable condition. 90 degree rule not being enforced and much damage to fairways. The whole place looks run down, eg. peeling paint on the graphics, so that one could thinks that it is deliberate and the course is near the end of its life. WAKE UP, CITY OF SARASOTA! This course and also the restaurant should be on a par with the many other amenities in the city. Maintenance is not a frill, but a neccessity.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Düsseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We had a tee time for 4 and there was a chance of rain. We were able to play approx. 7 holes and it started to sprinkle. As we played it rained much harder and we rushed to finish 9 and it also began to thunder and lightning. We asked for a rain check for 9 holes and were refused. They were giving them to others but would not for us because we booked through tee off.com, what's the difference? The course,service and additude of personal are not worth it to return, we will pass it on. The facility needs a lot of TLC.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lsplrmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bobby Jones Golf Complex also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Bobby Jones Golf Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing