We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Ranked #3 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Stayed at the ritz for 5 nights and I have to say overall the service was ok but not 5 star by any means . The valet parking is terrible if you are in a hurry good luck we waited for up 10 minutes for our vehicle and then wait 5 or 10 minutes more for all the vehicles blocking us to move.The staff are very friendly but the service in the outside terrace was terrible twice we sat down outside hoping to have a glass of wine and after sitting their for over 10 minutes with no service we got up and left The spa was fantastic probably the best part of the experience.Over priced for level of service provided

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kevin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    402
    184
    71
    54
See reviews for
617
838
51
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just stayed here for 2 nights initially the room wasn't up to scratch and was quickly rectified by the front desk staff to a much nicer room on the 9th floor. We found the drinks to be eyewateringly expensive but the food which was excellent not so much.Have to mention the staff who were without exception very pleasant and unfailingly polite and always smiling.Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Great place to meet up with family and friends. Staff attitude and service, as well as the amenities, justified the cost. A bit of a hike (3+ miles) to the beach club but shuttle service is available and worth the trip. Same great service as in the main hotel.

Room Tip: City view probably not as nice as the gulf view, but not bad either. Little unusual to see a Hyatt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pwalther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

As returning visitors to the RC in Sarasota we were delighted to be welcomed by name by the reception staff. I was allocated a room which was unfortunately next to a large air conditioning vent and therefore very noisy when on the balcony. I immediatly reported this problem to reception who responded by moving me to a new room without any hassle they also upgraded my room to a bayview suite. The Bayview Suite was an excellent improvement and I thank the reception staff for thier consideration. The amenities inside the room were of the highest quality, we could find no fault. We made good use of the RC Beach club where we were again welcomed by name and treated like old friends. The Beach Tikki bar again recognised me by name (radios are a wonderful invention) the food and bar service again of the highest class, both Summer and Pete are very professional in thier trade. Check out was easy and uneventful. Hotel was booked via Trivago £120 per night - Bargin for this quality of service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert14440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were greeted by a somewhat unfriendly Front Desk Agent who gave us a room overlooking the roof. It was my Birthday and I had mentioned this on the reservation so he could see that. You only have one every 365 days right? So I was disappointed initially. The room was smaller than at the Vinoy where we stayed the night before. However the bathroom was beautiful and the bed was very comfortable. The valet staff were actually the ones who sent up a bottle of champagne saying happy birthday because my husband mentioned it to them! And chocolate dipped strawberries. They are so friendly (and the Restaurant staff is too). That really turned things around when we got back. The shuttle driver from Hungary was so nice and and told us intersting stories about the outside areas as we were driving to shopping and the Beach Club. The server at Jack Dustys was excellent and so was the food and ambience. We had Maine Lobster (fairly priced and perfectly grilled) and Rib Eye (a bit salty my husband said but it was delicious with the smashed potatoes). We took a moonlight swim in the pool and that was wonderful also. All in all a very nice stay except the beginning portion.

Room Tip: Eat Outside on the Terrace at Jack Dustys at Sunset. Gorgeous! Order the Maine Lobster. Delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

As always, the Ritz-Carlton is an excellent choice for guests wanting that superlative service and smiles from the staff!
Our room on the club level was immaculate and the staff in the club superbly friendly! I'm not sure who runs or manages these wonderful; people but they're doing a fine job up there!

We actually made some friends with a few of the staff and I expect we'll see them again soon.

Do get down to Jack Dusty's for lunch or dinner and please ask for Jeff. It's clear from the beginning this is a gentleman who knows his stuff. He'll make you feel right at home from the first "hello".

With regret there were a few things that were DECIDEDLY un-Ritz-Carlton.

Please avoid the tiki bar at the beach club.
You're served beer in cans with a plastic cup slapped on top and we had to brush crumbs and the like off the chairs and the bar top before we sat. This is the Ritz?

We found that some of the staff at the regular lounges were texting on their phones, looking at us, then going back to their texting. I tried twice to get a young lady's attention but she was talking to the bartender and texting in between texts.

Now this is just a little thing and something i shouldn't even mention.
One night in Jack Dusty's, they needed to set up for a larger party. Instead of picking the chairs UP to move them, they just pulled them across the floor making quite a racket. Had the couple next to us not mentioned it, I might not have posted anything here but it just wasn't us.

Just pick your chairs up like you were taught.
I suspect this is just a lack of qualified management and said management not overseeing their charges.

Alas, i still love my Ritz-Carltons and truly speaking , this is the FIRST time we've ever had a "nick" or complaint.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheGrumpyChef_SWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I was at the Ritz Carlton recently on business. Brought my spouse for some relax time. The hotel was beautiful and staff delightful and eager to please. However, I don't know if i would rush to stay at this hotel again. The meeting spaces were beautiful and staff was very helpful, but the beds were miserably hard even after an extra level of down bedding was added by staff. They did try to help and gave us a free bottle of wine. It was very kind of staff to try to fix the problem, but it didn't make up for 2 nights of miserable sleep for both me and my husband. A 5 star hotel should have comfortable mattresses. We both woke up numerous times the first night and twice the second night, even with the extra padding, in pain from the mattress. I've had better sleep on a floor with a sleeping bag.

Other than that, the hotel was nice, spa facilities were very impressive, they clean the manicure/pedicure tools in a medical sterilizer. That's my kind of spa! Also room service was super fast and they were accommodating to my gluten free diet as much as could be expected from a major hotel chain. I had food to eat and all was fine.

Room Tip: Do not get the handicapped room on the 4th floor facing the marina- it's the one with the awful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scoobytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 48 in Sarasota
928 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.7 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
206 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Address: 1111 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2017 "Best Beach in America." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Prestigia, Marriott, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing