We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I have to say the staff really make this hotel!
We had a wonderful room overlooking the water, typical Ritz Carlton standard, clean and nicely decorated although I do have to agree with one guest who commented on the mattress and bedding, I found the bed hard and had a bad back the following day.
From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't be more helpful from the receptionist ( who gave us a jar of salt ) to Gillian , our server in Jack Dusty where we ate & had cocktails, they were all friendly , professional & really make you feel welcome.
We took the shuttle bus to the beach hotel which runs on the hour & had cocktails at the beach bar watching the waves..... Peace, quiet, perfect !
I'm looking forward to returning.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank foundwanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    373
    161
    65
    48
See reviews for
500
724
40
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

I spend 3 days with my two daughters at the RC in Sarasota. It was in all aspects an experience that live up to all our expectations from the very friendly and professional reception at the hotel to the room which was in good shape, clean and quite and teh beds...... out of this world most likely the best beds I have tried in any hotel and that is a lot!!
Best of all was however the beach club which you get transported to by bus on a regular schedule - the shuttle will also drop you where you want on the route. the Club has all the amenities you can wish for and if that gets to boring you can enjoy the semi private beach area so even with two teenage daughters you can have a great time enjoying yourself - thanks to Ritz Carlton!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lacourtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had six girls staying here for my "big" birthday weekend. We decided to stay on the Club Floor which was well worth it. We checked in, on the club floor and were shown the club room which has wonderful selection of wine, champagne, a nice spread in the morning for breakfast, and great happy hour appetizers. You can sit out on the balcony which has a beautifu view of the water, pure luxury.
Aside from the beautiful hotel, and gorgeous, location, the staff were wonderful. They go the extra mile to make you feel special. They sent flowers to the restaurant where we had a reservation, for my birthday, and that made it even more special. The shuttle is easy to take to their beach club, which is also really beautiful.
I would recommend this hotel in a minute.

Room Tip: The club level is great, but the rooms on the water side are great. Even the rooms on the other side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wptravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz in Sarasota for a quick little weekend get-a-way, and it was fantastic! We stayed at this property a year or so ago, and loved the location to downtown Sarasota and the affiliation with the Beach Club. We decided to return this year, and the property did not disappoint!

From the minute we arrived, the staff was great and really what makes a Ritz property stand out. So friendly, attentive and just all around amazing! From the valet, to the pool attendants, to the bartenders--everyone went out of their way to make our stay truly relaxing. The champagne at check-in was a nice touch, too.

We took the hotel shuttle service to the Beach property. It was great. It left right on time and the driver was extremely helpful. And, the property was beautiful! We enjoyed the beach--which wasn't as crowded than the pool area. The beach itself is nice. It's narrow (especially at high tide) and full of lots of shells leading to the water. But, it's quiet...and it's the beach, so you really can't go wrong!

One of the highlights of our trip was the Ritz's new restaurant, Jack Dusty. AMAZING! We ate here for a few different meals, and the drinks were good, the food was yummy and the service was great! It made this property a completely new place, with more modern decor and a more lively scene. We really enjoyed this change from our previous stay!

Highly recommend this property! We hope to be back!

Room Tip: Our city view room had views of Sarasota and the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHafs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have stayed here about 9 times in the past four years as it was our first vacation together. The beach club, the pool service and perfect weather have overshadowed most mishaps. This is our favorite Florida getaway (plus we visit family nearby.) We celebrated our third wedding anniversary Sept. 29 and received top service, which was appreciated because they literally botched my husband's surprise the past two years (wedding pics, a replica of my bouquet and details arranged well in advance.) After the second annual mishap we wrote a letter and management gave us a free night, easing the angst. The property is gorgeous and the addition of Jack Dusty's is fantastic. We ate there two nights and received outstanding service but the bill for two is $100+. When you check out of the hotel make sure you scrutinize your bill. We signed up for a package with breakfast and valet included and there were charges for four days of breakfast and one valet. The front desk quickly rectified this but it is worth noting. Overall the staff this year was very kind about mentioning our special celebration. We even received a handwritten note from our shuttle bus driver. The pool staff always go above and beyond to make you happy and relaxed. Bottom line - We love this place.

Room Tip: The bay view on a high floor is lovely to enjoy a morning coffee or sunset on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulStef J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights, had a great time including a trip to the golf club.

Check out the Burger restaurant by the pool for a lite lunch, great spa to relax. Personal massage is essential in the Spa, I went for the sport massage.

A 5/10 min walk to Main Street Sarasota, shops and restraints.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank City H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stay at the Ritz when we visit my mom who lives in Lakewood Ranch. The hotel is one of the better Ritz's (although the Naples, FL Ritz is better) and the beach club is absolutely gorgeous. We wish the resort was actually attached to the beach club, however--taking the shuttle is a pain, especially now that we have a baby. We drive instead, which is a little easier, but it would be nice if we would be able to go back to the room in the middle of the beach day. Sarasota is a little weird like that--I don't know very many good hotels on the actual beach. We got the Ritz Visa to get points for this hotel, which I wouldn't really recommend. The benefits seem to be very good from credit card, but the hotel doesn't really honor the benefits.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Address: 1111 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing