We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Akron
1 review
“wonderful staff”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is very nice, but the stay was impressive due to the staff. The Doormen were great and always willing to help. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job. Our driver to the airport, Curtis, kept us cool on the way to Tampa, and was a joy to talk sports. Even the young men at the hotel pool provided excellent service. Amy at the Beach Club, made sure the lounge chairs were comfortable and ice cold bottles of water were always near. If you are looking for folks that make you feel welcome, this is your place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    387
    166
    68
    48
See reviews for
547
773
44
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed at the Ritz Carlton during the Sarasota Half Marathon Weekend. Since my husband and I were traveling with our two kids, we requested for two adjoining rooms that were guaranteed before we arrived. In addition to the Race Weekend, there were at least a couple of weddings that night so the hotel was very busy.

What we loved were the activities offered at the hotel including paddleboarding and the BMW resort tour experience was amazing. We also took advantage of the Beach Club on Lido Key. There was free shuttle although we decided to drive ourselves there.

There is a $28 resort fee per room and $24 valet service. We couldn't do self park.

We would definitely stay there again. Special kudos to Lori that checked us in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BestTravelUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed 4 nights for a convention and I am truly disappointed with the experience at this hotel. I booked 4 rooms for our stay, with a total of 6 people (2 married couples, two singles.) Upon check in, the two single people were given rooms with a king bed, and the two married couples were initially given rooms with the two full beds. We were assigned our rooms without being asked if we had a preference, and did not realize who was assigned what rooms until we arrived at the rooms. After seeing that my spouse and I received a room with two full sized beds, I called the desk and requested a room with a king sized bed. I was told that the only king rooms left were ocean view rooms and would be an additional $50 per night. I reluctantly agreed to move rooms in order to have a king sized bed. The new "ocean view" room I was given looked directly north at the Hyatt Regency hotel. This is not my idea of an "ocean view".

The staff were smug and not accommodating to guest's needs. I do realize that business conferences probably bring the type of clientele that the Ritz staff are not used to seeing, but they shouldn't be treated with any less respect or consideration. I will make a suggestion to the conference organizers that they should move the conference to a different location, perhaps the Hyatt Regency that I had a view of for 4 days.

Overall, I think staying at a Gaylord would cost less but provide the same amount of luxury that the Ritz provides.

Room Tip: Make sure to verify room type while when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank db719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien O, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear db719,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you are disappointed with the marina and bay front views our Hotel offers. While it is true Sarasota is on Florida’s beautiful Gulf Coast and our Beach Club is directly on the Gulf of Mexico on Lido Beach, our Hotel is adjacent to the magnificent Sarasota Bay and only offers Bayfront and Marina views as water view options. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Best wishes,
Damien O’Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The beach club is a few miles away and the hotel coach takes you there once every hour. Not convenient at all. I will not stay here again. The location and the service not worth the money you have to spend to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jh25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damien O, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear jh25,

Thank you for your recent reviews. I am sorry to hear from both of your reviews you were disappointed with your overall stay at our Resort. If you would like to discuss this further with me I can be reached at 941.309-2001.

Best wishes,
Damien O’Riordan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

we stayed at the Ritz (condo) January 2013. It was beautiful and the beach was fantastic to go for long walks. I have no constructive feedback as it was perfect. the staff were polite and very helpful. would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmirawashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,Pa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

4 days at the Ritz in Sarasota was amazing! We had a great room, fantastic food wonderful service excellent. I had a magnificent view of Ocean. very guiet in rooms. Service at pool side was excellent. Highly recommend this Hotel

Room Tip: Facial at spa was not quite up to the facials I get at home; but most all was super
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I have stayed at the Ritz in Sarasota several times and have enjoyed my stay every time.
We love the beach member services offered and the staff there is truly friendly and helpful. There is valet service or you can take the hotel shuttle to the beach area. Should you not be beach person, the pool is just as good. There are chairs and umbrellas available to you as well as food service by the pool.
If you want to relax, there is a spa. I had a massage my last stay and the spa is terrific. The prizes seemed reasonable to me and the team there was very friendly.
The rooms are very clean and there is turndown service - I love the chocolates on the pillows. You can have breakfast in the hotel but I thought it was pricey. So I suggest you go to St. Armand's for a reasonably priced breakfast. At night there was music - so I enjoyed cocktails at the bar in the evening.
The hotel is close to the marina and St. Armand's Circle - a must if you are in Sarasota.
The hotel is good for couples or families. We have been here with our son and just the two of us - and we love it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvshoes0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.7 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota
Address: 1111 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-5594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a resort where the casual Gulf Coast lifestyle meets the sophisticated, cosmopolitan excitement of the city. Featuring exceptional dining, a luxurious spa, championship golf,off-site Beach Club nearby, lavish accommodations and sweeping bay and city views, The Ritz-Carlton in Sarasota, Florida, provides guests with a relaxing escape from the everyday. While you're visiting, be sure to enjoy the sandy beaches recently named the 2011 "Best Beach in America." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Marriott, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Ritz Carlton
Ritz Sarasota
Ritz-Carlton Sarasota
The Ritz-Carlton, Sarasota Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing