We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oysters and Mussels!”

Monk's Oyster Steamer Raw Bar
Ranked #152 of 1,031 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Florida, United States
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Oysters and Mussels!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Would had driven right past this place if we weren't looking for it.

It is tucked away but shouldn't keep you from visiting! It is very a laid back atmosphere with an extremely friendly staff. Everyone who works there (that we have met anyways) are personable, work quickly, and can shuck Oysters like nobody's business. Orders are taken and served quickly. Plenty of indoor, outdoor, and bar seating with a bunch of TV's (great place for the hockey games) as well as being smoke free indoors.

For 2lbs on Mussles steamed for perfection at $8.99, you can't go wrong. Don't forget the bread as well for dipping in the "sauce", delicious!! It's great being able to sit at the bar and see them easily shuck oysters right there. Have yet to try the Oyster Munkafella's but hear they are the best steamed Oysters. (only thing holding me back is the fact I usually eat raw oysters) I can't even count how many orders of those are placed when we go there, they seem to be very popular.

Out of the numerous Oyster bars I have been to (Finer Dining Atmosphere and Casual), this one has been my favorite! Will continue to dine as well as recommend :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    28
    4
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great steamed seafood”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Another great meal at Monks. Can't beat the steamed 2 lb jumbo shrimp. A great local bar with good seafood. Just bring a loaf of French bread and enjoy! Now a no smoking facility! Smoking allowed outside only.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Michael, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a find- freshest seafood in town indeed!”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our first experience watching them shuck oysters right in front of you. They are very particular about the oysters they serve you and we watched them throw out any oyster they thought would not be 5 star. Had the steamed mussels with a little bread to mop up the juice. Everyone was extremely friendly and the staff worked really well together to keep everything running smoothly. I will be going back. I see one of the reviews was put off by the smoke but now the business has gone smoke-free inside and there was no residual smell. I love vacation, you get to meet so many happy people! Luckily the 'locals" were kind enough to share this little gem.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Even if you are on the fence about oysters....”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

....this is the place to have them. Oyster shooters (basically a bloody mary with a big fat oyster in it-ask for it to be a little spicy) and oyster monkafellas will convince you to come back time and time again. Snow crab was a little soft (left out a little too long?) THANK you for switching to smoke-free with new seating for smokers on the patio. Staff is great - attentive - hard working crew. Great pricing and convenient location. Just ok place to watch sports. Hidden gem. No one under 21 allowed - a shame since my teenage kids love seafood.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swede52497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranleigh, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Where everybody knows your name”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Such a friendly place. Walking in a bit unsure but wow! Everyone says hi and asks your name and where from. Make friends in minutes.
Now the food. Simple menu. Don't come here for an extensive menu.
Fresh fresh oysters and mussels. Both perfect.
We ended up having shrimps and snow crab as well. Also excellent.

Others have highlighted that it allows smoking BUT they told me that is changing shortly with smoking only outside. I hate smoking but I would make an exception for the oysters.

Just go!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Valderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monk's Oyster Steamer Raw Bar also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Monk's Oyster Steamer Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing