We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun n' fun is all the fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sun N Fun Resort and Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The resort is so verry nice it has it's own little sections with every one with buetiful scenery but I'd you need to go to one end of the park to the other it is a verry long stride every one is verry nice and the welcome center and every thing is free if you buy a room (excluding: bouncy ball slide and water course) over all the faculty like the public restrooms are great and verry clean the wellness center is one of the best gyms and pool I have ever seen ! The restraunt is verry nice thier are ponds the larges man made lake at sun n' fun is Ebis lake thier are turtles and other wiled life and every site is clean and our room (413) is a gold version and it looks fresh built it is so clean and the beds are verry comfy and the deak is verry larg and has a table and enugh roon for all your shoes and two cots

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelllama879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

Four of us adults stayed in a mobile unit advertised as two bedrooms with one and a half baths. The master bedroom was fine with lots of room and storage and the bathroom off the hall had a shower and was adequate for a couple. The other bathroom was very large and had a tub but unfortunately, the second couple was squashed into a much smaller bedroom because the bathroom was so large. The bed wasn't really a double size so consequently, the husband spent his nights on the pull out sofa in the living room to accommodate his height. Bunk beds would have been better! A mobile unit is really only for one couple and perhaps some small children.

As for the resort itself, it has lovely amenities, especially the new wellness center (indoor swimming pool, great fitness room). The outdoor pool is always busy and full of folks bopping around in the water so thankfully, a serious swimmer could do laps indoors. There are lots of activities to keep you as busy as you'd like but then you are paying for this privilege!! We found the cost very high but since we needed a weekly rent, this was the only option available to us.

The internet access in the computer room is fine but if you have an I Pad, it won't work in your unit because the service provider doesn't recognize Apple products until you're near the computer room.

Cleaning of the unit was supposed to be every 7 or 8 days but by the 8th day, we had to go to the office to see when the cleaning staff was coming by. Seems our unit was not on the list. This happened again the second week...when would we get clean sheets etc? Not impressed that we were missed twice.

If you don't mind spending your dollars, this is the place for you but personally, we'll look for something cheaper and less busy than this park (traffic can get busy with RVs, cars, golf carts, and bikes).

Room Tip: Try to get a unit with a lanai. Adds so much more room to the 500 sq, ft, mobile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zekibey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We travel with our 4 children so hotels are difficult. At Sun n Fun we are all always so entertained that we don't even need to leave the resort! Mini Golf, Bouncy Pillow, Frisbee golf, Pickleball... and the Pools! Huge, Clean, & So Warm! Baby pool, kids & 2 adult hot tubs, and an indoor pool as well! I miss it already!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverLakeGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My retired mother and husband have been at Sun N Fun for over 20 years. I've visited at all times of the year (except summer). They live in a "Park Model" - not trailer - for 6-9 months of the year. Sun N Fun is unique being a year round RV park with many park models dispersed throughout the property. It's great to have RVer's coming and going with the Snow Bird population there for the winter. We have seen many improvements over the years and also change of management. Prices made a jump this fall/winter....
I've rented a park model from private individuals (there's a great underground rental system) and also through the park (usually twice the price). It's amazing to stay in a unit that has just about everything you can imagine you will need to live for a week/month or so. Golf carts can now be rented through the park (cheaper - long term from off site vendors) and are a must for getting full use of the property. It's hard to get from one end of the property to the other in a timely manner. There is a "Bike Man" who will rent you bikes for the week and also help with minor repairs to yours!
From shuffleboard to pickle ball there is always something to do.
One of the best kept secrets is free coffee at Woodland Hall every morning at 8:00 where the daily announcements of what is going on in the park are made. Tables of Snow Birds from every state in the nation gather and really build a great community.
There is church every Sunday; a woodshop, Stain Glass Studio, classes and groups galore to explore. Everything from Yogo to Water Aerobics are lead by Snow Bird volunteers! Yes , I agree with others a little more costly than other places but well worth it!
It's been a great place for my mom to enjoy her golden years.We should be so lucky!

Room Tip: Get on line and check out what the units look like before you book. Call and ask questions. Look a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Really nice place very clean a bit crowed but it was Labor Day weekend friendly staff take. the bus downtown very scenic the bus stop is just outside park you may want to visit the street fair every Saturday. Not very many activities from the campground.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 256Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We travelled here with our 1 year old and 4 year old from Ottawa, Canada, it was so accommodating for children, water slide, sundae making nights, movies at the pool. We will be going again this year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

If your looking for a great place that has everthing you can think of to do or if you want to do absolutely nothing, this is the place for you! A great camping experience awaits you with extremely helpful & friendly staff. Can't say enough about this awesome park.Great pool, music, spa, food & entertainment, friendly and totally secure.
Check it out!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota I-75
5.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#2 of 50 in Sarasota
706 reviews
9.2 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
225 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,141 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota/Lakewood Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun N Fun Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun N Fun Resort and Campground

Address: 7125 Fruitville Rd, Sarasota, FL 34240-8957
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range: £131 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sun N Fun Resort and Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an RV/Vacation Home Resort for all ages and all seasons, providing an active winter lifestyle and summer family fun. A key to Sun N Fun's success has been to provide an activity based lifestyle, encouraging a sense of community among our guests and providing quality recreational amenities. Summers at Sun N Fun are all about family friendly fun with summer days that makes lasting memories, while Winter at Sun N Fun is an everyday experience to find a fresh adventure in our Lifestyle Menu. Our commitment to Guest satisfaction remains our number one priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sun N Fun Resort and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun N Fun Resort And Campground Sarasota, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing