We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't know why they stat open”
Review of Cafe Amalfi East - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe Amalfi East
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating
florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Don't know why they stat open”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Second visit to this restaurant. Seating for over 90, there were 18 customers at lunch during the hour and a half we were there and 10 of those were in our group. Appeared to be only two employees. One waitress, and she had to be tracked down to place a drink refill order. Service was unbelievably slow. Waited over a half-hour for delivery of 10 basic sandwich orders. Food average and special lunch prices were a bargain, but not worth the wait and lack of concern. There is just too much competition for any restaurant, especially a local mini-chain like this to continue to exist.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcb1Florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    3
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wait Staff Totally Ignored Us”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

After being seated immediately, we waited approximately 15 minutes and no one so much as glanced at us. Three parties were seated after us and received immediate service. Went to complain to the manager and he refused to look up or make eye contact. It was like we stepped out of time and they couldn't see us.

Decor was dated and shabby. Never had a chance to try the food because we left.

Near a Hampton Inn off I-75. Could not be more dissatisfied.

Helpful?
Thank StephenRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's okay..better than Olive Garden”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

It's not the best Italian food. This is more of what American's call Italian.
If you want real Italian, go to Andrea's. The pizza here is good.
The portions are good and the price's are reasonable.
They tend to put way too much sauce on everything.
They have a gluten free menu but the kitchen doesn't quite understand that
this also means seperate water, seperate tools, seperate pans from gluten items.
My daughter got sick eating here (and we told them she was allergic to wheat).
They brought her soup with pasta in it, after asking if it was gluten free.
Then they took the soup back to the kitchen and drained the pasta out of it and brought the
broth back. Ah, the gluten is already in the broth from the previous pasta! So if you are gluten free, I wouldn't recommend this place since they don't understand cross contamination.
It's close to where we live so we go here if we want pizza, or a Stromboli. The lasagna, chicken parmigiana, pasta...they are okay. Not awful but not great either.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiE396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pizza To Go”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I was viviting my mother in the hospital last evening and remembered Cafe Amalfi had opened a close by location recently. Accross the street and a block down we found this inviting restaurant. Went in and ordered a pizza to go. Sat at the bar while we waited and orederd a cocktail. They had live entertainment (excellant) so our wait was enjoyable. It only took ten minutes for the pizza and we ordered a desert to take along. Got back to the hospital room and enjoyed the best pizza i've had in years. Never again will I order chain pizza. Bye bye Papa! I've found better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bnobil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Pizza to share”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had a large pizza to share , excellent crisp crust to the last slice . Cold cold draught beer served by staff who know how to serve

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Amalfi East also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing