We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious buffet with a wide range of options!”

Super Buffet VI Sushi Grill
Ranked #586 of 1,027 Restaurants in Sarasota
Cuisines: Chinese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious buffet with a wide range of options!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have been searching day and night for a good Chinese buffet, and I think I have a winner. Once I walked in I could tell that the buffet was huge, and the best part, IT WAS CLEAN! That is one of the big things I look for in a buffet, and it delivered. I also found that their food was absolutely amazing. There was so much to choose from, it was hard the put all you wanted on that first plate. The fried won tons, pepper steak, Cajun chicken, sugar biscuits, all their desserts, and much more was fantastic. Also, if you are a sushi person, you are in luck, they have one of the biggest setups of sushi I have ever seen. This is the perfect place for a family dinner or a big party. The service was also well managed. The only reason I gave this place a four out of five stars was that their food could have been a tad bit warmer, but that is just me nit-picking. I enjoyed this place a lot and will be going back soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JLP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    32
    12
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best value for a Chinese buffet in Sarasota”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

If value and variety is what you are looking for in a Chinese buffet here in Sarasota then you
will not beat the Super Buffet on Fruitville road by cattleman. From Friday to Sunday the choices amplify by close to a third of what is available from Monday to Thursday- and that is still quite a lot. On the weekends you will find crab legs, small pieces of roasted duck (very tasty) and baked ham that seems to be a hit with many besides other choices not present during the first part of the week. Roast beef, baked salmon, salt and pepper frogs legs (one of my favorites), Cajun chicken and dim sum are all on the menu throughout the week as well as an a la carte station towards the back of the restaurant where a chef will prepare a fresh entrée of your choosing; chicken breast, beef or pork with a host of Chinese vegetables. For $13 per person you simply can't beet the value. There is a long, extensive sushi bar that is quite attractive with its rainbow of colors and salads as well as cocktail shrimp, clams and large mussels on the half shell. The downside to this otherwise huge and varied sushi bar is that most of the sushi is, understandably,
vegetable (cucumber and avocado) filled and much of it contains cream cheese. There is snapper, salmon and tuna sushi but these cuts of fish are remarkably small compared to other sushi establishments. This, however, is to be expected. Remember, one is paying a mere 13 dollars for all you can eat and that is quite a bargain for those who can really pack it away!
The waitstaff is attentive, refilling drinks often and providing napkins and clearing plates rather quickly. The atmosphere is cafeteria style but clean and pleasant despite the number of people who can fill the large restaurant- especially on weekends.
I've gone three times already and will return.
Enjoy.
Don't forget to try the frogs legs.
Not as meaty as I've had in other places, namely the lake where I used to get them from in the poconos, but still very good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average Buffet”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This place has everything you expect from a Chinese buffet. It had many types of meats including chicken, pork, and seafood (sushi). The waiter we had was excellent. He was on top of things and kept asking us if we needed anything else. On the downside, the lighting inside the restaurant was a little poor, the floors were a little sticky throughout the restaurant including the restrooms. The door in the men's room did not close properly allowing clearview in. They have a separate room for families with small children which is a great idea. We had several kids with us. Overall this restaurant gave us a good experience and a great service. Try it and see for yourself.

Helpful?
1 Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great buffet”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Huge buffet, lots of variety, mainly your typical Chinese fair you'd find here in the States. What's different is the massive sushi/sashimi bar with lots of options and they have a Mongolian grill. When we visit, it's on a Sunday (the perfect time to go), and it's only about $10/person to eat (about $3 for a drink). I highly recommend it if you're craving Chinese.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RachaelB314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
177 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lots and Lots of Choices”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were quite hungry and came here for lunch. This inexpensive ($7.39 for lunch, $8.99 for brunch, $12.99 dinner) buffet almost lives up to the same priced Ichiban in Orlando with lots of choices. Some things were new that I wanted to taste and will not try again: The little string wrapped leaved triagular package was, after some time trying to open, just sticky rice with some gravey colored center...not worth all the effort to my taste. There are lots of sea food, chicken, pork and beef dishes and cakes and icecream for desert. Wish they had chocolate syrup too but the icecream was good~especially the tea flavored. Good place to eat when you are especially hungry!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1joanne-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Super Buffet VI Sushi Grill also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Super Buffet VI Sushi Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing