We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic surprise”
Review of Canta Rana - CLOSED

Canta Rana
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: N. Osprey Avenue
Sarasota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic surprise”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We must have driven up Fruitville Rd. 50 times in the last two years and never saw this place. What a pleasant surprise. We happened to go there with a couple who were from Puerto Rico; they said the food was as good as what their mothers/grandmothers made (the food is both Peruvian and Puerto Rican). We loved it. The meals took a LONG time to come, but were well worth the wait. The chef and owner came out later and told us that one of the reasons that it took so long was that everything is made to order, from scratch. Too bad the waiter doesn't warn the customer of that beforehand to ward off any frustration, which we felt, but as said before, was quickly forgotten once the first bite was taken. The menu is extensive and there is something for everyone. Prices were very reasonable. Just a gem. We will be going back often! They should consider a name change; when we were telling people about it later on, none of us could remember the name of the restaurant. Just isn't catchy. Would 't want anyone to pass up the experience!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    3
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Perfect night out. Excellent food.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

My husband and I wanted to go somewhere different in Sarasota as we dine out almost every evening. We were so pleasantly surprised and please with our mean at Canta Rana. We started out with the ap sampler and I still cannot stop thinking about how delicious the mussels were. We had no idea what we were doing so we just randomly selected 2 dished... the LOMO SALTADO (steak) and AJI DE GALLINA (shredded chicken). Both were absolutely amazing. We also had some excellent wines with our dinner. It was a small selection, but we weren't disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marci T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Went for an interview and stayed for the atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Sometimes you receive a surprise when least expected. I went for an interview and left, but the atmosphere was so inviting that we had to go back. The server was very attentive from beginning to end. Owners are awesome and it helps that he is from my home town of Humacao, PR. My Adobo (pork stew kind of dish) was outstanding and my friend had a Ceviche Mixto that was very good as well. Very well executed fusion between Peruvian and Puerto Rican ambiance. Will definitely repeat the visit. Next time I will try a Mofongo (which is a Puerto Rican plantain dish) or Chuletas Can Can (extra large pork chops). Loved it Loved it. Can't wait for winter to be able to sit outside. :-D

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ric_roc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best local food in Sarasota”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Yes, local food from Peru and Puerto Rico in Sarasota. We travel from Tallahassee, Florida and we never miss the opportunity to eat here. Service is great, food is authentic. This is a mom and pop modern venu that is worthy of a lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BSBFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Orange
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

First time ordering Peruvian food. All ordered the lamb shanks which were the special of the day. They were exquisite, to die for. Sauce was amazing.
Staff were wonderful. Owner and wife (chef) were exceptionally cordial and made us feel very welcome. We loved the whole experience of Peruvian food. Highly recommend this restaurant. Well done Canta Rana.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathyPortOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canta Rana also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing