We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience, tasty food”
Review of Sofrito Mama's

Sofrito Mama's
Ranked #5 of 1,066 Restaurants in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Description: At Sofrito Mama's you will find mouth watering, home-style Puerto Rican cuisine. Our menu is filled with a wide array of reasonably priced, traditional meals for the entire family from fried appetizers, rice & beans, roast pork & stews, salads, to signature specialty dishes & delicious homemade desserts. Whether it's lunch or dinner, Sofrito Mama's Latin Comfort Food is just what you need to tickle your hunger fancy.
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We had a variety of things--ordered way too much food--and some of it was fantastic: empanadas, fried pork, sweet plantain. Kids enjoyed the fried plantain with dipping sauce. Awesome customer service as many have stated! Perfect evening to eat outside. All in all, if I would have ordered the chicken empanadas and white rice and beans I would have been thrilled and our bill would have been much less!

Thank Bloomfieldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 570 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went there after we saw Safrito Mamas as the top rated restaurant in Sarasota. We were not disappointed. It was not easy to find -buried in corner of older strip mall- but our GPS got us there. When we got there found out it is carry out only (except a couple tables out in front). The pulled pork along with black beans and rice was superb. The sweet plantain casserole was also a good choice. Currently only open Tuesdays to Saturdays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Laurelandbetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We went to this restaurant after reading all the amazing reviews on TA. We love ethnic food and were excited to try a Puerto Rican restaurant. First of all let me mention that this place does not open until 12. We ended up sitting outside waiting because we did not know this. Then the man at the front counter unlocked the door but instead of waiting on us and the other who had gathered outside he started yelling and calling to some workers that were working down the plaza. After spending several minutes talking to them he finally came back in to take our order. We ordered three different meals to get a taste of everything. We ordered the pork, the beef stew and the plantain casserole which was the daily special. We also ordered Empanadas and various sides. We waited thirty minutes for our food, yes thirty minutes for a order. We took it back and found the food to be less than expected. The meat in the beef stew was dry, so dry that we threw that one away. The pork was not dry but had no seasoning or taste too and it and was bland to say the least. The Plantain casserole was okay, nothing special but the most edible of the three. The empanadas were okay, certainly not the best we have ever had. This restaurant was a complete let down. We will not be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
12  Thank Dr_and_MrsPLUStwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brickhousechick, Owner at Sofrito Mama's, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

We are very sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations. And please accept our apologies for not taking your order before we were actually open for business. We are a very small, 2 person run "mom&pop" restaurant with hours of behind the scenes preparation taking place before opening. Our business hours are listed on our website, our voicemail, our storefront, as well as on several restaurants related sites like Tripadvisor. Unfortunately, we cannot take responsibility for your failure to do research before arriving. Because we are a carry out only restaurant, this leaves you no other place to wait but outside, where comfortable seating is provided as a courtesy. I give 2 thumbs up to those who are able to enter a business and receive immediate service before opening hours.

The gentleman you feel gave you terrible service is the owner and his friendly interaction with our fellow neighboring businesses while getting the front end in order "before business hours", we believe, should not be a deciding factor in the service you received. Did he take his time explaining the different dishes to you, was he helpful in taking your order, did he present your orders to you in a professional manner, etc...? Unfortunately, because you had to wait until opening business hours to have your order taken, this may have been enough to leave a bad taste in your mouth. We do not try to pass ourselves off as a fast food restaurant, therefore at times, there may be a wait depending on the volume of customers placing orders simultaneously; again, we are only 2 people working a very small restaurant. Considering you were here waiting when we opened for business, it is unlikely and we are very doubtful you waited 30 mins, after your order was placed, to receive your meals.

However, we feel that no one should ever have to pay for a meal that they are not even slightly satisfied with. If you were able to come back in with your complaints, we would have offered our sincerest apologies and gladly given a full refund for your troubles and dissatisfaction for, as one can see from the reviews before and after yours, it is a less than rare occasion that we have an unsatisfied guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Omg the food at this joint was just simply amazing. Asked for extra meat and they hooked it up...I would definitely go back to this joint...

Thank trucking_stopher_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofritoMamas, Owner at Sofrito Mama's, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

So glad we were able to satisfy even the hungriest of appetites and still sent you home with a little leftovers. Safe trucking!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I don't get what all the hype is about. Yes, the owner is very friendly ... but I went for the food. I ordered the pork platter, which the owner says is their best seller. I don't know why. Pork was tasty enough, but nothing special. Sauce was hot (spicy) but not tasty. Not impressed with plantains (but that's more a matter of personal preference). Only thing I really enjoyed was the avocado/tomato salad, but the dressing for that - mayo-based - was just boring. Won't be back and won't recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofritoMamas, Owner at Sofrito Mama's, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We are so sorry to hear that you were not impressed with your meal here. I do recall your visit vividly. Your order was Pernil (roast pork), you opted out of rice and substituted it for tostones (fried crispy plantains), and you accompanied that with the tomato-avocado salad. Our tomato-avocado salad is dressed by us with a light dusting of salt & pepper and extra virgin olive oil. You were told that the sauce you received on the side (mayo based) was DIP SAUCE for your tostones. It was not dressing for your, already dressed, salad. Unfortunately this was an error on your behalf and we are so sorry that we cannot take responsibility for your misuse of it. Fortunately our menu does not consist only of what you ordered during your very 1st visit; we offer a wide and very tasty selection of dishes. It would be a pleasure to serve you again should you find yourself longing to broaden your horizon with our menu. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sofrito Mama's also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Sofrito Mama's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing