We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly entertaining!”

Florida Studio Theatre
Ranked #27 of 143 things to do in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Florida Studio Theatre (FST) is one of the major cultural resources in the Gulf Coast region, bringing the best in Contemporary plays, musicals, and comedy to the Sarasota community since 1973. An professional regional theatre, the FST campus is a village of five theatres - the historic Keating and Gompertz Theatres,the Parisian style Goldstein Cabaret and John C. Court Cabaret, and Bowne's Lab Theatre. Near the Sarasota bayfront, FST brings an energy and vitality to the downtown area. Each theatre is small in size and large in impact - providing an intimate and engaging setting for high-quality, professional performances. Hip and historical, entertaining and challenging,where everyone is welcome to come and engage in the art of theatre. FST has modeled itself on the strength of creating the best in contemporary theatre at an affordable price. Overall, FST serves over 200,000 attendees per year through its six major programs: the Mainstage Series, the Cabaret Series, the Stage III series, WRITE A PLAY, Education, and New Play Development.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thoroughly entertaining!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We loved the cabaret show of "Poems, Prayers, and Promises" this evening. Each cast member was uniquely talented, and the mix of voices and instrumentation was excellent. Their rendition of "Bridge over Troubled Waters" was especially moving. There is no bad seat in this intimate venue. We can't wait to purchase season tickets for next season.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Emb815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudraL_FST, Public Relations Manager at Florida Studio Theatre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We at FST are so thrilled to hear that you've had a wonderful time at the show and that you can not wait to get season tickets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    64
    17
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Other cities PLEASE take note”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

When we retired to the Tampa Bay area we wanted to find out about live theatre in the area. We were told check out the FST first. Do yourself a favor and get season tickets from the get go. Go online and check out the prices for tickets, dinners, and beverages. You will be amazed. Note: During "season" buy your tickets ASAP or you will be disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wehrleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudraL_FST, Public Relations Manager at Florida Studio Theatre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
We are very pleased that you have had an excellent time at FST!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small venue with great performances.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I would recommend having the meal before the theater/musical performance in order to get best seating. Usually the acts are quite entertaining. Small theater so get tickets well in advance.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bdtraveler181943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AudraL_FST, Public Relations Manager at Florida Studio Theatre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Glad to hear that you also ate at our restaurants before you saw a show. We are happy to hear that you had a great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Live Theatre in Sarasota”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We liked the first shows we saw at FST so much that we have been subscribers for both the Main Stage and Cabaret series since. We have never been disappointed. Excellent talent - interesting and very well done shows - AND - at subscriber's prices - an unbelievable bargain!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MRemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent theatre at a great price!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The performances are a very high caliber! The acting is second to none with excellent choices for the shows themselves.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florida Studio Theatre also viewed

Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Florida Studio Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing